1996 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 2 of 12

1996 Dodge Caravan Sport V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Looks good, but made from cheap parts

Faults:

Clear coat failed on candy-apple red; $1000 extra charge for this paint job, but it all peeled on the roof and hood. Dodge will not respond despite visits to dealers in 1968-68-70, etc. It began to peel in 1968 and now looks awful.

Replaced all door locks, steering wheel, front mirror fell off, oxygen sensors, side mirror broke, cd player jams, battery shorted, new clock spring. one horn dead again, etc.

The caravan is all plastic; good looking, but CHEAP parts and bad paint on the 96 Sport.

General Comments:

Good looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

19th Sep 2005, 22:21

1996 Dodge Caravan Sport... Cheap Parts? Only in design by Dodge. Headlight housings are plastic that become opaque over time and poor lighting of the highway. Another problem is the plastic brackets that hold the housing in place break, and the entire assembly will fall out. This same headlight assembly is poorly made with the adjustment screws for the headlight alignment. They routinely break and fail to operate at all when the headlights need to be adjusted. Replacement of the plastic housing to hold the headlights range from $92 to $184 for this piece of poor quality plastic. I see this as a common problem of many I have work on or helped to restore. In most cases they are a waste of money when purchased new, and foolish to invest into as a restoration project.

1996 Dodge Caravan from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I would buy this vehicle again

Faults:

The timing belt went out at 80,000 on a road trip, but it was non-interference so it was okay. The radiator needed replacing at 99,000. The water pump went out at 115,000. The automatic door lock motor is iffy and has been that way since it hit 95,000 miles. The clock spring went out at 100,000 but this was replaced due to recall from Dodge. Make sure you get your clock spring replaced for free if you have any of the following symptoms: airbag light stays on and/or cruise control goes out.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a reliable vehicle. Many road trips were had in her and she performed well. Full size spare is a plus and the removable seats were helpful. I added an after market roof rack that really helped with cargo space. If you change the oil regularly and have it checked out every once in a while, this car is a good one. Great for families or light cargo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

13th Dec 2010, 14:06

I am the owner of this post, I sold the vehicle in 2007 with 159,000 miles on it. This was a solid car for me and my family. I upgraded to a Chrysler Town and Country. You would be better off paying more and getting the Honda Odyssey or Toyota Sienna. Maybe even a Nissan Quest, rather than a Chrysler. However, the Caravan I had was a winner.

30th May 2012, 17:43

Non-interference, you say? Could you please tell me what engine this was? I have a 1996 Caravan, and although I just replaced the timing belt a couple days ago, I keep getting mixed messages; some sites say it is non-interference, and some say it is interference. I'd really like to know if you have the same engine as me. Thank you!

1996 Dodge Caravan Grand 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

To expensive to repair

Faults:

Suddenly the Crank Position Sensor went out $200.

After replacing the above the Cam Position sensor was bad with in one day $900+

Transmission began leaking suddenly.

Dash panel for A/C had to be replaced twice $300 each.

Windshield wiper motor began making loud noise. Cannot get to it without almost tearing the entire area apart.

Screws keep falling out of the seats and inside trim.

General Comments:

Nice feeling to drive when it worked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

30th May 2012, 18:15

Mechanics will rob you blind.

If it it were me, I could spend 36 bucks and twenty minutes replacing the sensor... Invest 27 bucks, buy a Haynes manual and do the work yourself.

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews