1998 Dodge Caravan from North America


A lemon... never again!


I have had to repair the air conditioning three times.

I have had to replace the serpentine belt three times when it came off the pulley.

I have had the horn repaired twice, and it is still faulty, but I won't fight anymore, it's not worth the hassle.

I just had the head gasket replaced, and also discovered that the head itself was warped - $700.00 (biggest expense yet, other than the headaches).

The driver side rear view mirror fell off, by just leaning on it.

General Comments:

This car has had problem after problem.

I would never purchase another Dodge Caravan.

I would never recommend anyone to purchase this vehicle.

I would guess that I have spent more than $2,000 in repairs for this vehicle.

The dealers are "ignorant" to your concerns.

I started having problems with Chrysler the day after I bought the vehicle, since the finance department tried to (and succeeded) in increasing the payments.

I purchased a 1990 Geo Prism in 1993, and have had less problems than with this lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

1998 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 from North America


Great Minivan


I bought it used. It is still running great. It is very roomy and it does give a comfortable ride.

I use this minivan to carry my bikes around, I am still impressed with its cabin space.

General Comments:

Spatial, responsive acceleration, no mechanical problem in the long run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

7th Apr 2010, 05:19

I've been driving a 1989 Toyota Camry for about seven years now, and it had never left me stranded despite it clocking over 340000km. Recently I had an offer of a 1998 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3L for five hundred thousand Nigerian Naira (about $3,125); a rather cheap price as against the more expensive Toyota Sienna rival, that costs about $6300 in the local used car market.

These two minivans look very similar, and I wonder why one should be sold for half the price of the other. The answer is not far fetched. Looking through comments posted on various sites, I've come to discover that the Dodge minivan may not be reliable enough to justify its price in the first place?!

The offer is juicy, but I've developed cold feet over this issue. Considering further that there are no ready spare parts for this product in the local market, nor a no good second hand market. I'll opt to stay put with my reliable machine, until I can afford the Sienna.


Kwara State, Nigeria.

1998 Dodge Caravan SE 2.4L from North America


Don't buy me


Within 20,000 miles, emergency brake ratchet failed. Replaced under warranty.

Windows slip down allowing wind noise to enter the cabin. Dealer said it's a design flaw that could not be fixed.

Within 10,000 additional miles, the replacement emergency brake ratchet failed. After a discussion with the service manager, he admitted that it was a common problem with the Caravan.

At 40,000 miles, the engine began to leak oil. The dealership replaced the valve cover gasket. The problem persisted and the dealership replaced the cam gasket. The problem persisted and the head gasket was replaced. This finally solved the problem.

At 49,000 miles, the front struts required replacement.

At 56,000 miles the transmission failed. Rebuilt for $1300.

General Comments:

A blown head gasket and destroyed transmission in under 60,000 miles are totally unacceptable.

Dealer claimed that I just got a "bad unit" and the Caravan is normally very reliable. Look at the other reviews. Was this an accurate statement? And forget about Chrysler help for a "bad unit". If it's out of warranty, it's your problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

1998 Dodge Caravan Base 3.0 from North America


Good value mini-van


Tie rod end replaced under warranty at 15,000 kilometres.

Front brakes required new rotors and pads at 25,000 kilometres.

General Comments:

A very comfortable vehicle that can be driven all day without any discomfort.

Excellent all round visibility through the large windows, with very few blind spots. This is aided by the high driving position and larger than normal external mirrors.

The vehicle is let down a little by the internal finish. Dashboard plastic is not very well cut or fitted, and too many rattles from the side doors, especially during the very cold winters we have in Canada.

The bench seats in the rear are easy to move because they are on wheels, but are difficult to remove due their weight and bulkiness.

Decent handling and fuel economy if not pushed too hard.

Good dealer servicing in my area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

1998 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 from North America


I'm looking at a $1500-$2500 bill to fix the transmission at this time. Never again


My transmission went at 29,000 miles and had to be rebuilt. Thank god it was under warranty.

At 84,000 miles I'm starting to have transmission problems again. $1500-$2500 to fix.

General Comments:

After looking on the web I now see the widespread transmission defect problem that Chrysler has been having with their vans (for quite a while).

The Caravan has been good except that it obviously has a transmission seal leak defect and transmission problem. After reading all the other complaints about these vans I feel fortunate not to have had many of the other problems experienced by others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

31st Jan 2002, 01:14

1998 Dodge Caravan, 3.3 L engine, front wheel drive, 28,000 miles, transmission seal leak, estimate $1800, not under warranty.

9th Aug 2002, 03:59

I have a 1999 Dodge Caravan. At 62,000 km, something let loose inside the transmission and went all through it. Dodge wouldn't do anything as warranty was to 60,000. I bought another transmission from a salvage yard and had it installed at a Dodge dealership. The yard indicated there was 6000 km on the one I bought. The van now has 115,000, and the transmission just went again. It appears the transmissions only last for 60,000 km.

1998 Dodge Caravan Base 4 cylinder from North America


Unreliable and costly van


4 tires replaced due to slow leaks at 15,000 miles.

Frozen calipers at 20,000 miles.

Rear main seal replaced at 30,000 miles.

Blown head gasket at 30,000.

General Comments:

I think the blown head gasket at 30,000 miles says it all. This van was a repair nightmare. We were afraid to own it past the warranty. Oh, and resale value is the pits! We now have a Honda Odyssey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2001