1998 Dodge Caravan 2.4 litre from North America


I like my Caravan


Transmission locked up at 46,000 miles.

General Comments:

Good running van and reliable.

Took it to Florida and back with no problems.

Bad part is that the middle row seat does not fold down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2004

1998 Dodge Caravan Base 4 cylinder. from North America


Avoid like the plague


My head gasket blew at 50,000 miles

The transmission blew at 40,000 miles

The new transmission still had problems when we picked the van up from dealer

Manifold gasket blew at 90,000 miles

Miscellaneous electrical problems throughout ownership

Stereo speakers on left side stopped working at 36,000 miles

Water pump blew at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Chrysler Corp makes the most unreliable vehicles in history. It has to be by design. No company could be this incompetent, law of averages dictates that they would have built at least 1 well-made and effectively engineered vehicle in the last 2 decades. Sadly, this is not the case. Just ask anyone who has ever owned one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

14th Feb 2005, 15:17

Yes I agree-Chrysler does make the worst vehicles!!

This time last year I bought a 1993 Chrysler Concorde.

Nice car, reasonably priced. I had it just a week and the trouble started with overheating.

Left me stranded many times. I just got rid of that thing.

I was recently tempted by a real nice reasonably priced 1994 Dodge Shadow. But I remembered the problems that Chrysler gave me and I passed it up!!

28th Apr 2005, 21:39

If Chrysler consistently or even inconsistently manufactured vehicles in the manner in which you perceive them to, they would now be owned by GM. Occasionally lemons do happen, and yes sometimes the same manufacturer even has as many as TWO!! But this is not to say that every vehicle they manufacture is just like the lemons you were suckered into buying. Get real!

26th Mar 2007, 13:21

If you buy a car that is a 1993 you have to expect problems, that is an older vehicle and you know that things go wrong.

1998 Dodge Caravan Grand LS 3.0 V6 from North America


The all-wheel drive model is safe vehicle that gets me through rough weather


The head gasket had to be replaced at about 55,000 miles. This was covered under an extended warranty.

General Comments:

In defense of my Grand Caravan All-Wheel Drive, I have only had one major repair which was, thankfully, covered under warranty.

I enjoy my Caravan especially in a New England snow storm.

My all-wheel drive has gotten me through blizzard conditions with sure footed ease. No fish-tailing here as with my previous rear-wheel drive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

9th Mar 2004, 06:07

I was not aware that the Caravan had 4WD.

9th Mar 2004, 20:11

Yes, the Dodge Caravan did come with AWD, as did my '94 Grand Voyager, which saved my a** many times (my driving style is pretty extreme). And I must say, 125,000 miles and only one major problem with mine too (Axles).

1998 Dodge Caravan Sport 3.8 V6 from North America


Front brakes replaced under 36K warranty twice.

Front and rear brakes replaced out of warranty at 75000mi once. Total cost=$700.

Wire fell off starter at 28000 miles under warranty.

Tie Rods replaced at 80000mi at 300$.

Front wheel bearing failed at 60000 miles, wheel almost fell off. 400$ repair.

Serpentine belt & tensioner failed at 50000 miles for 300$.

Front drivers side window fell into door and had to be repaired at $250.00.

Under Body Bushings needed repairs at 50000 miles for $300 repair.

Transmission differential pin broke and blew a hole the size of a football through transmission case.

Replacement of case and transmission =


General Comments:

This van is the short bed which was not supposed to have the transmission problems of the Grand Caravan according to Consumer Reports. Apparently caused because " it could not handle the wheels slipping on the icy N.E. roads." There were 3 other caravans in the transmission repair shop for the same problem. I guess we were lucky compared to other caravan owners that it happened at 82000 miles.

The 3.8 engine (except for poor gas mileage) is a great performer and very reliable (so far) with no problems. Very comfortable and nice riding van. However overall reliability has been poor and repair expense much too high. This is my second and last Chrysler product-luckily we traded our last van, a Voyager, in at 64000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004