2001 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2001 Dodge Caravan sport from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Faults:

67,000 air conditioning compressor bearings. Need new compressor motor, air dryer, serpentine belt. $1,100-$1,300.

Heater hose lines to rear heater unit $450.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

28th Feb 2013, 23:06

Hardly any problems (or at least, I'm guessing with such a vague review), and you're giving it a thumbs down?

2001 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Great and cheap for large families!

Faults:

The rear windshield wiper may give some trouble.

The brakes may make funny noises or lock up after long periods without use.

General Comments:

+ Extremely reliable engine.

+ Although it's a V6 this van can tow large amounts quite nicely.

+ Carries 6 and also has 6 cupholders.

+ Pretty good speaker system (with CD player)

- Pretty much only 1 ugly colour for SE, which is silver.

- Boring looks.

- Fake leather interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

2001 Dodge Caravan sport 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Good value, but brake problems

Faults:

This 2001 Caravan has been good up till now. The brakes faded away with the pedal going to the floor. I replaced the master cylinder and 3 day later the brakes went again. I replaced the front rotors pads and the left caliper, just because the inside pad was unevenly worn. When I bleed the system there is air coming from the front left caliper, but the pedal is hard. After 3 days more air from the left from only and the pedal is hard again. (I have bled the system 6 times now) My question is where is the air coming from?? Has anyone experienced this problem? The dealers mechanics do not seem to have an answer. The ABS light does not come on when the pedal fails.

I also have had to replace the bushings and the links for the sway bar, this seems to be a weakness with this van type.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2006

29th Jan 2008, 15:35

Have you found a resolution to this problem? I have had my 2001 Caravan Sport in the shop about 5 times with this problem. The garage is struggling to find out what is wrong with the car, but I am having the exact same issue. The master cylinder was replaced 3 times, the left caliper (where air builds up) was replaced twice, and the entire system was checked over 6 times; still getting air. They even tried disconnecting the ABS, but it wasn't that either. If you found out the issue, please post it here. Thanks.

6th Jan 2010, 15:24

I have been having the same problem since July 2009. The brake pedal goes to the floor, but the mechanic cannot find a leak. The master cylinder has been replaced once. The mechanic looked on the Internet, and said he found some reference to a problem with the ABS module and a secret recall, but I can't find it anywhere.

2001 Dodge Caravan 3.0L 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Cheap, big space, good drive, bad seats, bad transmission

Faults:

Transmission shredded at 66000KM (6K over warranty) $4500 for replacement! Very common fault on these vehicles. Make sure the ONLY trans fluid used is Chrysler 7176 (pink in colour) change this every 25000KM MINIMUM to prevent, no generic substitutes!

Engine speed sensor. When this fails it causes "limp mode" - stuck in 2nd gear. To clear the limp mode so you can go to repair shop, disconnect and reconnect battery.

Back door struts, sticking (~50000KM)

Rust on door slide tracks for back doors. Caused by door wheels grinding road grit & dirt into the paint. Make sure you flush the slide recess with hose and grease the tracks well to prevent.

Front indicator bulbs - These are almost impossible to change through the stupid hatch in the wheel well. We have 3 lost bulbs which are rattling around in the light lenses from trying to change these stupid things. Squirrel sized hands help here!

General Comments:

Seats make my rear and back sweat - itch like mad on a long trip. I have a towel on the seat of our vehicle to stop this. Higher than base model seat material may be better here.

A/C belt squeal. This belt is horribly difficult to change & adjust correctly. Canadian Tire changed this belt and put one on which was 1/2" too big on because it is such a swine to change (cramped engine compartment). By the time I had finally figured out why I could not adjust this belt properly I had "consumed" three belts. Chrysler dealer told us there was no problem they could find!

Arm rests make my elbow ache because they are too close to the seat occupant.

Seat removal and re-installation to allow cargo is a real muscle job! Once removed the cargo space is impressive.

Cramped engine compartment. Changing spark plugs is a real feel around challenge.

Front valence very low. Car park stone stops will tear this unit apart causing it to progressively collapse over the next year or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews