2001 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2001 Dodge Caravan 2.4 liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Previous carOldsmobile Silhouette

Faults:

This van was purchased used with 110K miles. The accessory drive belt broke one summer day and I replaced it with a "gator-back" belt. The new belt caused a harmonic oscillation at idle that got worse when the air conditioning was turned on. I replaced the gator-back with a standard design which stopped most of the vibrations, but the belt slips badly at idle when the air conditioning is on. I am wondering if a new tensioner will fix the problem, or if the compressor is requiring too much torque. Has anyone else had a similar problem, if so, how did you remedy?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

2001 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

Rear shoulder straps don't catch in crash

Faults:

Rear shoulder straps WILL NOT catch in crash. We were involved in a wreck 35mph hit SUV that stopped in front of us on a On ramp. Front belts caught perfectly rear shoulder strap did not catch my daughter she was badly injured her lap belt held, her face slammed back of drivers seat, You can jerk front straps and see how well they catch then jerk ALL rear shoulder straps and see for yourself.

THEY DON'T!

General Comments:

Rear shoulder straps have a different catching mechanism than the front, daughter was badly injured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

2001 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 kilometres
Most recent distance110500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

So far so good

Faults:

Power window on the drivers side sometimes will not work when used a lot. When its left for 5 min its fine. I think its when the window motor heats up. I wish I could just change the motor, but looks like I have to replace the whole window slider with it.

General Comments:

I bought this van in Ontario and drove it back to Manitoba. 25 hours of driving with only stopping for gas. Boy was I tired! The van was very comfortable for the over 2000 KM trip. I had no problems with it on the trip. I was getting an average of 31 miles to the imperial gallon. There were some very high hills on the trip. Set the cruise control at 110 KM and made it up the hills with little effort. I hope the mileage will be good in city driving also. I have not found any thing I don't like about it yet... except that it's a minivan ;-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2004

2001 Dodge Caravan Sport from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Buy something other than Dodge

Faults:

6 recalls.

2 sets of brakes.

Rotors.

Battery.

Power window motor replaced.

Tires won't hold air.

High pitched noise when driving long distance.

Automatic locks replaced.

Slider door mechanism replaced.

Now in shop to replace the electrical system as the wires around the batteries sparked & shorted.

General Comments:

Don't buy a Dodge unless you want to spend a lot of time at the service shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

11th Feb 2005, 18:33

You are so right. I found out today it will cost $800.00 to have the rear brakes fixed due to a poor design.

28th Oct 2005, 06:43

We purchased out vehicle last October, soon after we got it we started having problems with the battery and with the passenger window going back up, since then we have noticed many electrical problems in the vehicle. I Love the van when its running right, but lately all we have is problems with it. I wouldn't think that a vehicle with only 51,000 miles on it would have so many problems.

28th Feb 2013, 23:10

Battery? Tire won't hold air? Wow... Impressive list! Because Chrysler makes tires and batteries.

What's next? Complain to Chrysler that you don't like the radio music that plays out of the stereo??

Come on people, use some common sense. Some things are legitimate, but some things aren't. Cars are made from parts... and... get ready for it... sometimes those parts break. Mind bomb, isn't it?

2001 Dodge Caravan Grand Sport 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance55578 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Worst in quality and customer service

Faults:

This vehicle has had the rear planetary gear fail. The rear wheel cylinder failed all of this at 55,00 miles. In addition the sun visor has been replaced once only do break again. The rear hatch won't open unless you use the key. According to the mechanic the rear planetary gear is designed to fail. It is made in two separate pieces then welded together. The stress of driving the vehicles breaks those welds, leaving the consumer with a 3,500 bill.

General Comments:

Customer service from the corporation is poor. They hang up on their customers, advising that supervisor won't speak with them. It doesn't matter that why it failed just that it is out of warranty. It doesn't matter that there new warranty is longer better than the one that covered your vehicle. They advised me that I should have purchased the vehicle with the 7/70 not the 3/36. What ever you do don't get one that was made in Cananda because they won't honor that in the U.S.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

12th Oct 2004, 22:52

Change the pulley too, that is what is wearing your belts

Your mechanic should have known that. Get a new mechanic.

8th Dec 2004, 06:30

Pulley or belt tension is the real problem. This is not a problem inherent to this engine. Your mechanic is either clueless or deceptive. Get a new mechanic.

20th Mar 2006, 10:07

We could be driving the same vehicle. (Purchased van when it was one-year old.) One rear wheel cylinder was partially seized when I purchased it, but the dealer assured me that this 'was common with Caravans', and that it only occured in damp weather. (Not so.) They kept sending road-side assistance to un-seize it. They told me that sometimes you could 'rock' the van in forward and reverse to un-lock the wheel. I tried that, and it cost me a new tire. When I contacted Dodge, they replied that the dealership provided service; and Dodge ignored the fact that the dealer knew about this problem when they sold it to me. (Very disappointed with that response.) That was probably the cheapest of repairs I had to pay for - power windows quit, coolant system pipe leaked, wheel cylinders went, etc. I ended up paying for all of this, as warranty didn't seem to cover anything that went wrong, and the dealership dragged its feet if it did apply, until warranty was up. It's a comfortable, powerful vehicle, but would I ever buy Dodge again - sadly, no. I can't afford the maintenance.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews