1987 Dodge Charger Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Dodge Charger 2.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Practical, quick, reliable, sporty car with great cargo capacity

Faults:

I replaced the carburetor at approx 140,000 miles

Clutch was replaced at 100,000 miles

Interior and body have held up beautifully

Power train and all peripheral components held up unbelievable well-most trouble free car I have ever owned, and I still have it.

General Comments:

Incredibly long lasting car. If they made another hatch like this I would buy it-I am currently looking at the Dodge Magnum since it has similar great cargo capacity.

Excellent fuel economy

Even at almost 200,000 miles, practically all of the car is original, including exhaust, starter, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

27th Sep 2005, 09:08

Replaced the carburetor? I thought Dodge shifted over to fuel injection with everyone else in 1985...

1987 Dodge Charger 3dr hatchback 2.2 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Karmann Ghia

Summary:

A quick car at a low price

Faults:

Leaks oil onto the manifold and smokes.

Rear struts blew.

Front end out of alignment.

Front seats are worn badly.

Valve taps.

Speedometer gear needs replaced.

Glove box door broken off.

Door locks fall off.

Carburetor needs replaced.

A/C is broken.

Radiator hoses had leaks.

Rear hatch shocks need replaced.

General Comments:

This car is the quickest 4-cylinder I've ever driven.

However, it has had its share of problems.

Though it took me back and forth to college for a semester without incident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

13th Jun 2008, 16:53

I had the hatch hydraulic issues too. I replaced those 6 times and finally used a 2 by 4 to hold the door up, it's just too heavy!

1987 Dodge Charger 2.2 Liter L-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter L-4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance146500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Very reliable, good car overall

Faults:

Oil Pressure Sending Unit leaked.

Spark Plugs fouled out.

Front brake pads needed replaced badly.

Front driver's side rotor needed replaced.

Speedometer gear needs replaced.

Clutch may need replaced soon.

Tires have high miles on them.

Hard to shift into first sometimes. Sometimes Second is hard to grab too.

General Comments:

This car is a good little car. It starts up every time, runs great, is absolutely great on the snow and is very easy on gas. 30MPG on the highway. I average 26MPG. It has needed a few things since I have had it, but at 140,000 miles, it's to be expected. I use this car everyday to go back and forth to college in. It is winter now, and even at 25 below zero, it still started up. I bought this car for $150.00 from a friend and it is (out of three others) one of the best deals I've ever gotten on a car. This car looks pretty good and is pretty sporty. It handles well; though I had a Datsun 280ZX that this car doesn't come close to comparing to as far as handling, but the car does alright; a little body-roll, but not enough to keep it from being fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1987 Dodge Charger Hatchback 2.2 Liter 5 Speed from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter 5 Speed Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Keep your AAA membership current!

Faults:

Carburetor trouble never stopped.

Radio shorted and failed.

Transmission oil seal failed.

Clutch failed.

Steering rack failed.

Head gasket failed.

Rusted out even though rust proofed when new.

Distributor pickup module failed - constantly.

General Comments:

This car was so poorly built it actually made a Fiat or MG seem reliable. The carburetor ate $750 over the life of the car - constantly loaded with dirt due to faulty air box design.

All the problems listed above were the major ones I remember. All by 50,000 miles except the head gasket which failed at 90,000 miles.

The car had a made in Russia fit and finish when it was delivered. The hood was warped and giggled over rough roads. Both doors fit poorly and the window glass never touched the weatherstripping. The hatchback rattled so badly it actually hit both rear panels and knocked the paint off. Both door bottoms rotted off and I got the boot from the dealer and Rusty Jones.

Left us beside the road 4 times.

I could go on all night, but it's not worth it. Stay away from this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

7th Jun 2005, 19:27

Did you even take care of the car? It doesn't sound like it to me...

2nd Feb 2011, 19:58

The 1987 Shelby Charger was fuel injected. The only one with the carb was the '84.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews