2007 Dodge Charger Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Dodge Charger SE 3.5L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Lots of fun, but..

Faults:

I have owned this car for 3 years, have replaced 3 tie-rod ends, front brakes at 35000k, rear at 40000. I do know it is a heavy car, however this does not seem normal to me.

From a cold start, the traction control comes on and the car loses all power and needs to be restarted. If there is snow on the intake vents, even after cleaning them off, the heater fan will only run at half speed for about the first five minutes of driving.

The major issue is that 30-40 seconds after starting, the car it sounds like there are ball bearings rattling around under the hood (valves), it is more noticeable upon deceleration, even after the car is warm it has a noticeable tick. None of these issues have been resolved by the dealer. I was told the ball bearing sound was an harmless quirk of the 3.5l engines.

General Comments:

Love the car, hate the issues. I am more disappointed with the dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2010

20th Oct 2010, 13:19

"I have owned this car for 3 years, have replaced 3 tie-rod ends, front brakes at 35000k, rear at 40000. I do know it is a heavy car, however this does not seem normal to me."

It is normal on these cars. My dad has a 2006 RT, and he has replaced the tie rod ends at around 40K miles. My cousin has the same car, and his failed too. Seems to be an ongoing thing for these cars unfortunately. My dad not only babies his car, but he maintains every last thing on it, and it looks brand new inside and out. He is disappointed, as this is supposedly Mercedes technology, and he was expecting much better quality. You can't take the Chrysler out of it though, even when Mercedes is involved!

20th Feb 2012, 12:40

I have the same problem with heater only running half speed because of snow (or after a car wash)!!! I thought I was the only one!!! Tie rods failed too... wow... noticing a thread here!!!

2007 Dodge Charger SE 2.7 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19900 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

I tried an american made car and now regret the purchase

Faults:

The A/C unit is blowing hot air. The freon levels have been checked and are fine. Does not have any leaks in the cooling system.

The car has a "tug" to it right now. This started around the time the car had 38k miles on the engine. When the car is idle you feel the tugging as well.

General Comments:

Runs great on the freeway and inside city limits.

No more cold A/C.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

27th Aug 2008, 13:39

Having had experience with 2 5-series Beemers, I can assure you, you're better off with the DODGE!!

7th Nov 2009, 15:43

Wow, just wow, get an American car and regret it?!

It's Dodge, they suck, they haven't made good cars since late 70's early 80's, and even those wasn't as reliable as a Chevy.

If you want a good reliable car, try a Chevy. Even some of the new Fords are better.

But if you want import, get Subaru!

2007 Dodge Charger 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance8296 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

I have fallen in love

Faults:

I got the base model which have the plastic hubcap covering and all four have cracked... not a big deal.

General Comments:

This car is a tank and I love it! I'm 6'2 about 250 lbs and this car actually is roomy enough for me. I have ample leg and head room as well as passenger space. I have the base model but it is still nice and loaded.

The stereo booms, I was planning on buying some after market speakers but no need.

The AC is relatively weak for such a huge car it takes time to cool off.

Handling is very nice and extremely responsive. For such a big car it can easily make fairly tight U-turns.

Sleek stylish look, there are some blind spots but that comes with a big car...any big car. I so far have backed into a gate and a stop sign with no visual damage at all, has a great paint job. =)

All in all, I have completely fallen for the Dodge Charger and will continue to purchase Dodges. Not to mention, the lifetime warranty on the engine-transmission is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2008

13th Jun 2009, 20:35

You sure your only 6'2 250 pounds cause that's not big... So you should be able to fit cause that car is one big interior.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews