1993 Dodge Colt Reviews

1993 Dodge Colt 2 door Coupe 1.5 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Great. Bring them back!

Faults:

I had to rebuild the transmission four or five times.

General maintenance.

Wheel bearings.

Clutch pressure plate.

I put seats in from a LeBaron convertible that matched up with the inside. They look like they belong, and you can drive for hours in these seats compared to the originals.

General Comments:

It's great on gas mileage, is quick for a small car with a 1.5, and rides quite well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2012

1993 Dodge Colt L 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Truly, the most reliable car I've ever owned

Faults:

Outstanding vehicle.

Minimal wear and tear, even less parts replacement.

Only routine repair/updates.

Tires, brakes, one small piece of exhaust pipe from the manifold to the catalytic converter.

Coolant systems and transmission flushed.

General Comments:

I bought this car in July, 1993, with 44,000 Km on it.

In the nine years I've owned it it has given me exceptionally reliable service.

The Colt is now 12 years old and were it not for the fact that the body has begun to rust I wouldn't be looking for something new.

This car has been extremely economical to own and I can quite honestly say that it "owes me nothing".

The total cost of repairs/upkeep over the nine year spread is just over $4,100.00, Canadian funds.

That amount includes regular tune-ups, provincial vehicle safety inspections, minor repairs, and 4 complete (4) sets of tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

1993 Dodge Colt from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Cute car with great gas mileage and very reliable

Faults:

Needed New brake pads every year

Vinyl seats ripping from heat

Needed new engine at 110,000; not worth it.

General Comments:

This car is VERY basic, but VERY reliable.

I had a stick and was pretty easy to drive.

Quite small car, but great for students and driving around town.

Trunk actually larger than it looks.

Had car for 4 years and only needed to get new brake pads every year. No other expenses really (besides oil changes and the usual stuff like that)

Great gas mileage!

Cute, sporty look for its age.

Vinyl seats are not very durable... they started to crack from heat during the first year I had car and just got worse and worse.

Needed new engine after 4 years (11 years old at the time) and would have cost at least $1800 to fix... just not worth it to me and I got another car.

If thinking about purchasing a colt make sure it has LOW miles on it... will most likely need a new engine around 100,000 to 150,000 miles.

I overall recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

11th Jan 2006, 01:39

My Colt has 200,000 miles on it and still runs like a top. Makes me wonder how badly you treated it.

24th May 2010, 14:47

That's right! Just use the cheapest oil and oil filters you can buy, and run it hard for 20,000 klms without changing it, and the engine will be toast.

Mitsubishi manufactures great engines.. go figure.

1993 Dodge Colt GL 1.5 EFI 12 valves (base) from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 EFI 12 valves (base) Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired216000 kilometres
Most recent distance224000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

A great choice as a student car

Faults:

The engine as been changed at 210 000km, before I bought the car

My gas tank started to leak at 220000km.

I do have some electrical problem (dome light, radio) since I own the car.

There's a lot of wear on the driver seat.

General Comments:

Even is that car has no power steering, no intermittent whipper, no reclining backseat, no engine power, I think it could be a great student car.

The gearshift are very harsh with the 3speed automatic transmission and that makes the run a little beat uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

28th Jan 2010, 22:26

I have the same problem with mine -- a short in the dome light and radio wiring (they run off the same fuse). Maybe it's a common fault. Did you find the short? If so, please describe where as it will help me fix mine!

1993 Dodge Colt 1.5L Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Gas Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres

Summary:

A bargain car for anyone on a low budget

Faults:

Windshield wiper broke during an ice storm.

Seats have torn.

A few small rust spots.

General Comments:

This is an inexpensive car in general.

It is not a phenomenally handling car, nor a tire-burning monster, but it gets you there, and looks good.

Inside, however, is not recommended for anybody with back or muscle problems. It's fine for driving around town, but really uncomfortable on long trips. It looks OK, but could certainly use some comfort tips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

1993 Dodge Colt from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Reliable and economical

Faults:

An automatic seatbelt broke once a year. Each time, Dodge paid for the repairs although they had to keep the car for at least a few days after the seatbelt was taken apart and the parts were ordered.

General Comments:

It's good on gas and reliable. I've driven it across country several times and knew that it would make it although it's not very comfortable to drive long distances.

Doesn't have much acceleration, but it is a great car for a young person.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

18th Feb 2001, 22:13

That's good to know. I just turned 16 and my mom gave me her 93 Plymouth Colt. In 70,000 miles, we have replaced very little (shoulder belts also being one of those few things). I hope to keep the car through college and if from reading your review which is of the exact same car as mine, I will be able to do that. Just one thing... You don't think that yours has much power? When I first got behind the wheel of mine, I was pretty amazed, however I just started driving and don't know much else! :-)

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews