1991 Dodge Dakota 3.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

Outstanding... check previous owners before buying..

Faults:

Just purchased last year, southern truck, runs great... no problems, purchased it from an older guy...

General Comments:

Great truck...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2010

1991 Dodge Dakota SE 5.2 from North America

Summary:

I definitely would buy another newer model

Faults:

I've not had this vehicle long enough to have a problem.

The previous owner on the other hand, only had the driving lights control box go on him.

General Comments:

This truck handles like a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

1991 Dodge Dakota 3.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

Very simple truck, nothing fancy

Faults:

The wiring harness lit on fire and needed to be completely replaced which cost around $300.

General Comments:

I have not owned this vehicle for very long, but as far as I can tell it seems like a very reliable truck. It is nothing special, the gas mileage isn't good and it isn't very powerful for a 3.9.

One thing about this truck that I would like to change about my is that my automatic transmission is very lazy, if I ever got another it would have to be a 5-speed because my auto takes for ever to shift and never shifts when I want it to, sometimes it'll just start going from overdrive to low gear down the highway for no reason.

Under the hood there is a lot of room to work around the motor, it is very open.

Over all it's a good solid truck that is very simple and reliable, there sure ain't nothing fancy about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

28th Mar 2006, 18:16

Actually the 2006 Dodge Dakota has a 3.7L V6.

10th Jul 2006, 16:38

I was absolutely wild about my 2001 Dakota Sport and would have kept it another 5 years if another driver hadn't hit it and totalled it this year. I never had a second's trouble with my Dakota. I had the fuel efficient 4 (averaged 22mpg) and it had plenty of power to haul my camping gear and merge onto freeways easily. My Dakota handled great, mostly due to the lighter weight of the 4 and the regular cab configuration. I owned a V-8 Mustang at this time also, and I actually enjoyed driving the Dakota more. I was really sick that Dodge dropped fuel efficient 4 and the regular cab. I love Dodge, but I went back to the Ford Ranger for my new truck.

10th Jul 2006, 22:52

Your auto tranny is downshifting because you're stepping on the gas and its trying to accelerate. It's kinda normal.

And the other dude, how do you find a Dakota more enjoyable than a Mustang??!??!

11th Jul 2006, 00:16

If your Dakota is going from overdrive to low on the highway, then I'm amazed it is still running at all.

1991 Dodge Dakota LE 318 from North America

Summary:

Poor economy high maintenance

Faults:

Fuel sending unit failed.

Left power mirror up/down function failed.

Right power mirror left/right function failed.

Coolant sensor failed.

Blows smoke upon start.

Excessive oil consumption.

Sagging headliner.

Paint peeling.

Sometimes stalls upon start.

Sometimes rough idle.

Transmission shift pattern delayed when cold.

General Comments:

I traded a mint 1980 Cordoba for this pile from my wife's Dad.

He got the better end of the deal.

Horrible fuel economy for a small truck, even with a V8, I get less than 13mpg in the city, never more than 15 on the highway.

Terrible comfort on long trips.

Unless small size is valued above all else, it's better to get a bigger truck.

Ford F-150 gets better mileage and offers much more room and work capabilities.

The TBI fuel injection system is some kind of a joke.

This is my second Dakota, my first was a 1996 with a 3.9L Magnum which I bought new. It was so weak, I could barely pull a 3500lb trailer through the mountains without downshifting two gears.

My 99 Grand Voyager did a much better job pulling the same trailer on the same roads.

On the plus side, it manages to start every time and run fairly well.

The 8 foot bed is a real asset.

If you need a practical small truck that will fit into your garage until you need to move something, you can't go wrong.

Not recommended for every day driving, too much of a gas guzzler.

I would not buy another Dodge Dakota if you put a gun to my head. After two, I've had enough.

I understand some have good luck with them and swear by them.

The problem is the spotty quality.

One can be a real gem and another can be a lemon.

I'm going to sell this pile first chance I get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

31st Dec 2009, 04:32

I have a 91 Dakota, and I will admit I've had almost the exact problems you have had, but they are all minor things. I love my Dakota; best truck I've ever had. I only get about 10 mpg with mine, but it has 256000 miles on it. It's tired.