1994 Dodge Dakota SLT 4x4 3.9L V6 from North America


It's been a great truck for me up to this point, and the truck still is great, just Chrysler isn't


First thing to go was the catalytic converter which was not cheap to fix.

The vehicle "Eats" tires like crazy. The most I have ever gotten on a set was 26,000 miles, and they were rated for 85,000 miles, I rotate my tires every 3,000 miles.

Transmission cooling lines started leaking at about 30,000 miles.

Starter went bad this past winter, 2001, but that was cheap and common.

Latest thing to go, the Transmission. This trans. was serviced once a year because I have heard of problems with them. It never gave me any trouble until the spring/summer of 2002. The idle of the truck went down to 200 rpm, every time you put it in reverse, it stalled out. One day, the trans. started acting up on my way to work, the next day, it just froze up completely.

Chrysler's service with getting a new "reman" transmission is horrible. The first one came in in about a week and a half. However, it was the wrong transmission. 2 weeks later, the 2nd transmission came in, it was the right trans., but wrong torque converter. The new converter was order as overnight, it came in, the trans. went in, I drove it approx. 115 miles, and realized there was a big problem, I didn't have 1st gear. This was because the new "reman" transmission was bad, the governor in it was bad. This was a Chrysler factory rebuilt trans., gone bad after 115 miles. It has now been a month and a half since the order for the 3rd trans. was placed, it still hasn't come in. I have contacted Chrysler 4 times, they keep giving me the run around. They are horrible to deal with. It is 2 months now since I have not had my truck to drive because of the problems we are running into trying to get a good trans. from Chrysler. Thank God my father works for a Chevy dealer that is supplying me with a vehicle to use to get to work and classes, because Chrysler would not give me any rental assistance.

General Comments:

The truck is a very sharp looking truck. It handles well, except due the the fact it is an extended cab 4X4 the turning radius isn't very tight, but I can live with that.

The suspension has held up great so far. I pull small trailers for my lawn tractor and haul mulch in the back, and I can't complain about the suspension at all.

If it wasn't for the problems I am running into with Chrysler, I would by another Dakota, but now it looks like a Silverado.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

7th May 2003, 10:17

What do you want for it? I love my Dakota. I'm on my second 1993. Would still have the first, but I totaled it and the insurance would not let me have it.

22nd Jul 2007, 19:52

I understand exactly where you are coming from. I have a 1994 Dakota myself and just rebuilt the tranny for the second time back in Jan 2007. My rebuild was very expensive because I had to get the overdrive rebuilt as well. I would have sold it, if it weren't for the sentimental value. Most all of the issues that you have discussed I have had with my dodge.

6th Jan 2008, 13:55

Certain dealer supplied parts are ridiculously priced. In 1992ish I had a Mazda 626 and the dealer wanted $1100 for a new cat. I think I paid approx $120 through a auto parts store. Even my '94 Dakota needed a new cat, so I didn't even call the dealer, went straight to Lordco and got it for about $140.

1994 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9 V6 from North America


A small truck with a lot of power


The water pump went out, which caused the radiator to blow.

The starter stopped working.

The motor mounts are broken.

General Comments:

The truck has a lot of power, even though it only has a V6 engine.

It's not as fast as I'd like it to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

6th Jul 2004, 13:17

I have a 1994 2WD/w Magnum V6. This thing has been as good as it gets except for the transmission. The automatic trans totally crapped out at 90K miles, lost third gear altogether. The water pump went out about the same time. This truck was well worth another transmission. I have not been too good to this truck, but it has been very good to me. I've driven it hard, doing nothing, but changing the oil every 4000 miles, no problems. I wish it got better gas mileage (20 highway, 10 city). I don't know why the city mileage is so bad. I am suprised at the reliability I've experienced. I bought this thing with 60k miles, now have 105k. The guy I bought it from never had a problem at all. If it wasn't for the transmission, it would be the perfect truck. The seats are super comfortable, long trips are very comfortable, interior is roomy, especially with the Xtra cab. The turn radius is terrible, but I can live with that. I'm looking for another 94 Dakota just like it, but with a standard transmission.

31st Jan 2005, 11:10

For the Dakota v6 owners, definitely go with the Manual trans. It is the ax-15 same used in jeeps for years. A proven performer off road. A few notes about the mileage. When I 1st got the truck it did get about 16 in town. Since, I have replaced clutch fan with electric 15". IAT relocation into the air intake tube. Cold air intake. Removal of the flap in the grille by the air intake, K&N filter, and a free flow exhaust. Now the power has improved, and I get about 20 MPG City/24 HWY with a truck that has 173,000 miles. Oh, and the oil I use is synthetic blend, which reduces engine friction. Not bad for a truck that produces 225 Lbs of torque @ 2500 RPM, and weighs 3,600 lbs. Best truck out of Ford ranger, s-10. I have owned all 3. the 4.3 in the chevys have a little more power due to the lighter truck, but the safety ratings on the dakota are better which for me is worth it. Still pulls my bass boat with no problems.