2005 Dodge Dakota Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Junk, junk, junk! I will never buy another Dodge. Next time I'll go back to Fords or try a Nissan

Faults:

In the 18 months I have owned this truck, I've had to replace the tie rods, sway bar bushing, all the ball joints, had one of the sway bar brackets in the front break, power steering pump seize up, catalytic converter problems, some other engine sensor go out that I can't remember, CD player won't always eject CDs, AC decides to stop working occasionally, probably something else I've forgotten.

Not to mention that it sat in the shop for three weeks waiting on a power steering pump from Dodge to show up. Took me three months to get ball joints for it.

General Comments:

It seems to be way underpowered for a V8. I have to floor it sometimes to climb hills. My old F150, with a V6, had more acceleration than the Dakota does. And the F150 got about 7 miles more per gallon.

Only good thing about it is its size. It's a good compromise between the Ranger/S10 size and the full size trucks. I wish Ford made a mid-sized truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

24th Jul 2009, 18:55

Yes, another mediocre Chrysler product.

13th Oct 2009, 21:08

I bought a 2005 Dodge Dakota in June and I love it!!! There is one thing that I can agree with is the CD player sucks. It doesn't like to eject CDs very easily, but who cares about that, most people replace the stereo anyway. It's all about performance and this truck gives a great performance, has plenty of power and not too bad gas mileage.

I'm sorry, Ford trucks don't have much power unless it's the Ford Lighting. I will never own a Ford ever again, talk about unreliable, that is what Ford is. However, the Ford trucks seem to last longer than the cars do.

26th Aug 2010, 19:20

2005 Dodge Dakota. Major issues. Trans is slipping... only 115k miles... all highway pretty much.

Tie rods, bearings, and it doesn't get good gas mileage!

Bad buy!!!

2005 Dodge Dakota SLT Quad Cab V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Nice, but very unreliable

Faults:

Would not stay in park, 2x, 5k and 14k.

Airbag sensors 2x, 9k and 12k.

Cruise Control went out 8k.

Stereo ate CDs 10k.

Back window fell into bed of truck, 14k.

All bearings went bad 18k finally fixed.

ABS system faulty, on all the time 18k.

Seat belt tensioner 20k.

Brake line sensor 22k.

Transmission not staying in Park, again, right now, 23k.

General Comments:

I love the vehicle, looks good, a little boring, but not a better truck for highway driving. Very very comfortable and spacious. Vehicle is just not reliable, has been in the shop more than 40 days in two years. I am trading in for a different vehicle as I still do not fall under the lemon laws and Chrysler will not buy back. Would not advise buying this vehicle, especially since Chrysler no longer offers loaner cars for warranty work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2007

25th May 2007, 19:27

I can agree that my 2005 dodge dakota loved the shop... it seems to have something go wrong every 6000 kms or so... unless I was quick with the oil changes... one of the first things that I notice was extreme rock wear between the cab and box... looking at it you could see that the box was crooked... all 2005 on the lot were this way... turned out to be the cab not the box... but after that I have had electrical, fuel, and starting problems... over all I thought it was a great truck other than the need to visit the repair shop so much... I would not keep it long term once the warranty is gone it is worth trading in.

26th Jan 2008, 15:58

I have a 2005 Dodge Dakota it has 46,524 miles on it and I've had no problems with it. It has the 3.7 liter v6. I think it is a good engine. To be honest I have been pretty ruff on that truck and no problems. I work on it myself because I think if you take it to the dealer they will tell you something is going wrong, or they it will help something go wrong every time I go in.

26th Jan 2008, 23:04

I put over 50,000 miles on my 2001 Dakota before it was totalled in early 2006. It never had one single problem in the entire time I owned it.

4th Mar 2008, 13:31

My '05 is OK- never loved it like previous trucks. Always a rough ride @ 70MPH or so.

Issue with misfiring cylinders was fixed by dealer @ 30,000? Miles. 56 K, and it is happening again. Any one out there heard of this before? They replaced the top end of the motor, no questions asked.

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews