12th Jun 2003, 15:34

I have purchased a used 2000 Dakota Sport CC 4x4. It is black with 4.7 magnum engine. When I drove the used truck off the lot after purchase, I was in short order bringing it back to check on a noise. Turns out that both universal joints on main drive shaft were in need of replacing. This only after I brought it back a second time because of same noise.

I suggested that with two worn/damaged universal joints, it stands to reason that damage to the rear differential and the transfer case was possible. They did not believe that this was the case. I was assured that the vehicle was sound after they replaced the universal joints. So despite my view they signed off on the work and away I went.

Within a few weeks I was in again with a howling in the rear differential. Side bearings were bad and they replaced them. Within three weeks, the axle seals were leaking and had contaminated the rear brakes. I took the truck to a different dealership from that point. The new dealer fixes the brakes and cleans things up. No warranty work was done so I had to foot the bill.

Now a year later and as mentioned, I have changed dealerships due to lack of trust. The new dealership looks at the truck today after I bring it in because of howling in rear end again. Could be $1400 for new bearings in the rear end differential. I asked if this should happen on such a frequent basis. I made full disclosure to new dealership regarding previous work being done on the rear end. I am informed that it is hard to say why this happened again. It could be contaminated oil (synthetic) left over from initial bearing work. I am reading on the web, where the side bearings are becoming problematic on these limited slip differentials. I called Chrysler and filed a complaint. I contacted the service manager at original dealership and discussed the scenario with him. He took down my complaint number issued by Chrysler and promised to contact the new dealership's service manager to discover what they find. He promised to contact me this afternoon. I am hopeful of a satisfactory settlement to this dispute. Time will tell.

10th Feb 2004, 20:44

I have 30000 mile on my 2001 Dakota SLT 5 Speed and have not had many of the problems the most others have. I guess every car company makes factory defects on occasion. I have a problem with two things.

My truck always idles poorly no matter the temperature or weather. I have not found a solution other than just bumping the idle up a bit. It has seemed to help.

The other problem is not with Dodge/Chrysler, its that I can't find a Chilton or Haynes manual on my truck to save my life. If anyone know of another good manual let me know.

Jason W. Alexander


Company FSNCO.

21st Feb 2004, 18:27

The dakota Quad cab brake pulsation can be fixed by installing a after market performance rotor such as a crossed drilled or slotted. I found the cross drilled and a set of ceramic brake pads fixed the problem p.s. tork your wheels.

26th Jul 2004, 22:46

2004 July 26.

I have a 2001 Dakota Quad 4x4 V6 3.9 Five speed manual. On cold or damp mornings here in the Toronto, ON, CA area, the engine revs high with the trans not engaging. My non-Dodge mechanic stated a "clutch fan" problem and stated I should check with Dodge for warranty. 3 months ago I had the clutch fan replaced. Two weeks ago I took the truck back to the Dodge dealer for 48K maintenance and commented the clutch fan still a problem. Nothing found; clutch fan okay. Scheduled a transmission check for today. Nothing found. I will leave the truck overnight later this week. Argh! (At the 48K, the dealer told me brakes needed work including rotor replacement. Rotors at 48K??? Pads understood. My old Mazda B2600 would get 80-100K between turns on the rotors. I'm going to get a second opinion on the brakes.) After reading some reviews I wonder now. I like the styling and power on the truck, but I'm becoming concerned.


Mississauga, Ontario.

8th Sep 2004, 07:37

I have a 2000 Dodge Dakota and just replaced pads and rotors for the 2nd time at 46,000 miles. The first time was at 20,000. The first time I figured it must be me or "bad luck". This time I looked into it and I'm not alone.

I also experience the issue with the hesitation. I had all the wires and plugs replaced as I thought I must have had a bad one. It helped at first, but soon returned with regularity. At least that's only annoying, the rotors are expensive!

21st Sep 2004, 09:51

I own a 2001 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab and have had numerous problems with this vehicle. I replaced the brake pads at 15,000 miles then once I hit 36,000 miles, I had to replace the air conditioning belt and the whole rack and pinion steering. The vehicle makes a thumping noise when I put it in reverse and the dealership has been unable to duplicate the problem. I purchased the extended warranty. So I haven't had to come out of my pocket for any of this except the brakes. I would not buy another Dodge vehicle.

26th Oct 2004, 07:48

I own a 2001 Dodge Dakota Sport and I have not had one single problem with it in a year. It idles great in cold weather, the brake rotors are fine and I am very pleased with the excellent service that Dodge and Chrysler offers to me. This pickup has been very reliable to me and has never let me down. My truck was bought used and has about 80,000 miles on it and I haven't had one problem with it. I also have really good gas mileage and I have a cat back dual exhaust system.

12th Jan 2005, 14:09

I own a dodge dakota sport 2001. At 74,000 miles my bearings broke which caused the wheel to turn in-wards while we were driving it. Dodge says this is not of their concern and is bad luck for me. It cost me $1400 to get it fixed because this brake damaged many other things. Their lack of concern has turned me off. I am not a satisfied customer. It also has trouble idling, poor gas mileage and the steering wheel is noisy. I thought dodge had a good reputation, but I am not satisfied with mine. I will never buy another dodge.

19th Jan 2005, 23:07

I recently bought a 2001 Dodge Dakota Quad 3.9 auto. The only problem I'm having is a whistling noise, I first though it was a vacuum leak, but I can't find any holes. The noise comes and goes only lasts a few seconds. Maybe it's a belt not sure if anybody had this problem please give me the answer thanks. Paul H. Milton On..

8th Feb 2005, 09:03

I own an 02 quad cab, 4.7 Liter with 39k. Just had recall on ball joints done. Have had front end issues three months after buying new. Sway bar setup is terrible. The bar actually has to be lubricated at bushings to stop squeaking noises, therefore allowing the bar to slide back & forth. So much for sway prevention. Dealer replaced bushings, but problem reoccurs frequently and must be kept lubed. Had rotors tuned at 32K, pads only half worn, and just replaced at 38K. Three weeks now after recall repair, I am getting a loud squeak in front end and do not think it is the sway bar. What fun! Never again!!!



Beacon Falls, CT USA.