2001 Dodge Dakota Reviews

2001 Dodge Dakota SLT 5.9 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

It meets my needs for a truck

Faults:

Front brakes locked up, leaving me stranded.

Ball joints replaced under warranty.

Transmission is leaking fluid slowly.

Fan speed resister box replaced.

General Comments:

Overall, generally I am pleased with this vehicle and would consider purchasing another Dodge product.

The 5.9 V8 360 cubic inch motor is thirsty, but has plenty of power for pulling a trailer up hills.

The tranny leaks, but works just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2011

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Tainted, but tough!

Faults:

I sold it to my friend, and when he reached 108,000km, some fluid froze up and the engine piston blew, causing around 7K in damage.

Unfortunate for him, but that's what happens when you drive the engine 5 hours at 180km/h in 4 Hi in -35 weather.

General Comments:

Pros:

Great styling, inside and out.

Great availability of aftermarket stuff.

Good performance.

Great off-road range.

Good stereo.

Cons:

Gas mileage.

Back seat only good for 1 person on long drives, otherwise get a four door.

At 54,000km, I crashed it head on into some heavy brush causing 8K damage to the undercarriage. It sat for 3 months in a impound lot because of DUI, and another month getting fixed.

At 70,000km, it sat another 6 months for DUI.

At 108,000km, a head gasket blew, causing 7K damage to the engine, and sat another 9 months due to not enough funds.

Someone bought it and fixed it. I still see it driving around my home town. Tough truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2011

4th May 2011, 16:47

Oh dangit! Those pesky DUIs sure do mess up a man's car ownership experience.

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport Quad Cab 4x2 4.7 H.O. Magnum from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.7 H.O. Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Faithful and usefull!!!

Faults:

Nothing but power steering pump leaks, but she's got 200,000 + miles!!! LET HER LEAK, SHE'S EARNED IT!!

General Comments:

200.000+ miles and she will still burn the tires off, and pull herself in half!!!

Plenty of room!! I'm 300lbs.

SHE DOES NOT BURN ANY OIL, OR LEAK OR USE IT!!!

Only thing is 10MPG. OUCH!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2011

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport 3.9 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance208000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Won't buy another

Faults:

Front driver's side wheel fell off due to bearings at 150,000.

New transmission put in at 198,000, and currently in the shop having ANOTHER transmission put in at 208,000.

Air conditioning/heater fan quit due to wires rusting and rotting, at 180,000.

Handle on tailgate rotted at 180,000.

We take very good care of our vehicle. It drives us to work and back, groceries and appointments, but it never fails that something goes wrong.

General Comments:

This truck has done pretty well, being a 2001, but don't think we will buy another Dodge, due to the cheap quality!

It is a V6, and has no guts to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2010

8th Dec 2010, 17:40

Geez, who would have thought you'd encounter problems after 180,000 miles.. The 2nd tranny was a problem with the installer..

22nd May 2012, 20:37

I have the same truck, and it's at 230,000, and I have only needed to replace a few small things here and there. I think you just got a bad egg. I have had my Dakota up to 110 MPH. This truck has a lot balls for being a small pick up, plus I carried a 2 ton pellet stove home on it, and it worked perfect.

23rd May 2012, 17:24

I bought a brand new 2001 Dakota Sport in October of 2000. It was an awesome truck. I drove it five years with never a single problem. Unfortunately a guy in a Toyota Tundra ran a stop sign in front of me, and although my truck was still drivable (the Toyota nearly broke in half and the engine fell out!!), the insurance company wrote my truck off as a total. Due to the great resale value of Dodge trucks, I was paid just $800 less for my truck than I had paid for it brand new five years earlier.

2001 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab Sport 4X4 4.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance351000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Very reliable vehicle!

Faults:

In the last year my motor or tranny roars like I am in bull gear for the first mile. It then continues to downshift like I am pulling a load.

General Comments:

I have 351,000 km on this truck and have had only one repair over $500 (front drive shaft for 4X4). All other repairs have been general wear parts (tires, brakes, shocks, front end parts). Oil changed every 5,000 km. This truck owes me nothing and is still running great other than the problem mentioned above.

I believe you really need to have a V8 in this vehicle, the V6 just is not powerful enough. I test drove a couple of Dakota's with the 3.9 6 cyl and they were harder on gas and not enough power.

The engine light has been on for 290,000 km, dealer told me it was the gas cap and charged me $100.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2010

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 32 reviews