2001 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport Quad Cab 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The best bang for your buck in the mid sized truck category

Faults:

The clear coat on paint was way too thin. At 12000km, the paints was dulling and peeling.

At 15000km, tailgate needed minor adjustments.

Same time, the rear window slider creaked.

General Comments:

This truck was probably my most favorite vehicle I have ever owned.

If I didn't have to get rid of it, I wouldn't have.

It had plenty of power for its size and had plenty of pulling power.

This truck always turned heads, was stylish, yet still maintained its manhood.

The only problem I really had with this truck was the resale value was terrible. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone not planning to keep it longer than 5 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2003

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport 3.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

The Dodge Dakota sport has been nothing short of garbage.

Check engine light at 1000 miles.

Blown motor at 1700 miles.

Blown motor at 6500 miles.

Motor knock at 9000 miles to the present.

General Comments:

This truck is not dependable and is not worth any kind of monthly payment.

Although it looks good, it is not worth the money spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

27th Jan 2005, 14:30

Hey man,

I think you got a lemon I would contact some legal advice and get a full refund or replacement.

2001 Dodge Dakota SLT Quad Cab 3.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18346 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Fortunately it had the 36K warranty, but I'd buy the extended warranty!

Faults:

At 20K the differential had to be rebuilt due to "whining" from the rear end. Parts must be made in Bali as it took 6 days to repair.

At 30K the valve body assembly on the transmission had to be rebuilt.

Seems to require a thorough cleaning of the intake and injectors of carbon build-up regularily. Otherwise you'd think the tranny is acting up, but the computer is trying to compensate for for the carbon build-up.

General Comments:

Overall the truck is great! The four full-size doors and back-seat are terrific. The truck rides nicely and the cab is solidly isolated from the frame.

The 3.9 is adequate at best, but you'd think the mileage would be better. Tempe Dodge in Arizona did the rebuild on the differential and whined because my truck was taking up space in one of their bays!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2002

18th Jan 2003, 23:55

The dealer is NOT the manufacturer, please make that distinction. The dealer is there to make MONEY for the OWNER. Not Chrysler. I would say that all things have a few bad seeds in the bunch. Mine is

GREAT!

Mike.

1st Apr 2006, 21:26

Great truck. Had to sell it, but I really miss it. Had a 2001 Quad Cab/4x4 SLT+. Had to sell it because I got a company car and didn't need the extra loan payment. Had to have the front rotors turned and ball joints replaced under recall and that's it. Handling was adequate, but not as good as the 2005 model. Seemed to ride better with about 300lbs in the bed. -didn't bounce as much. Rear doors opened 90 degrees, which was great for putting my 1yr old in the back. Wish my car doors opened that wide. Mileage was good for a V8/4x4---16/17 mpg under 60/40-highway/city driving. My buddies Ford and Chevy full-size half-tons are lucky to get 12-13 mpg. Major complaint was that air (hot and cold) blew thru the dash vents when the selector switch was on floor only. Dealer adjusted the blend door twice, but still never worked right. Said there was nothing else they could do. Overall, I rate it a good buy. Held resale value pretty well too. I did have the 5 yr/60K btb ext wty, so I did have that extra piece of mind. I'd buy another quad cab if I was in the market. Perfect sized truck as far as I'm concerned.

2001 Dodge Dakota Sport from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Should have stayed on the drawing board

Faults:

- Poor gas mileage

- Sub-standard brake rotors

- Poor idle.

General Comments:

I purchased a 2001 Dodge Dakota Sport. I went with almost all of the bells and whistles so the final price was considerably higher than a base model. I expected a quality vehicle for the price. Yes, it looks good and it has power to spare, but the short comings far exceed the positive.

The first problem was very low gas mileage. In Canada the highway mpg were suppose to be 26. Granted it would be unrealistic to expect this, but I felt it should have been better than 21 mpg. With the price of gas these days and with new technology it should be better. My brother gets only slightly worse mileage with his '92 Dakota!

The second problem is the brake rotors. The front rotors became warped and needed replacing after 30K kilometers. At 60K I can feel them starting to go again. Chrysler claims it's my driving style. I claim they don't know what they are talking about. I do 90% highway driving so I'm not riding the brake. Further, the brake pads, after two years, are only 25% worn. Rotors should never wear out before the pads. Searching the Internet revealed numerous complaints in this area and in all cases Chrysler would do nothing.

Lastly is the idle problem. When the engine is cold it is impossible to get a good idle. The engine will surge and sputter then suddenly jump to full power. This is none too convenient when backing out of a parking spot and suddenly lurching towards the vehicle behind.

These are the "highlights". There are about 20 less major problems with the entire vehicle. Everything from headrests that do nothing to seats that don't move back enough for the proper distance between the driver and the air bag.

I will NEVER buy another Chrysler product after this one. For over 20 years I have stuck to Chrysler/Dodge and now decent service is impossible. I regret the day I even looked at the brochure in the show room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

25th Feb 2003, 19:45

I agree totally with this artical. I have a 2000 Dakota Sport which has the same problems. My rotors had to be replaced only after 12000 miles. I now have 37000 and need them replaced again. The dealer just shakes his head like I did something wrong.

16th Apr 2003, 18:40

I bought a 95 Dodge Dakota and the front brakes warped after about 20K miles. Dodge's response was that it was my driving style. Obviously if they would pay a little attention they wouldn't allow themselves to lie like that. That said I had the truck for 6 years and that was the only problem I had. I bought another new one in 2001 and guess what? The rotors are warped at 20K again. I can live with replacing rotors if that's the only problem, but I will not buy another truck from Dodge because of the ridiculously misleading gas mileage sticker. Under the best of circumstances I average 15 miles per gallon.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 32 reviews