2013 Dodge Dart Reviews

2013 Dodge Dart SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles

Summary:

Terrible car

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is terrible. Routinely get 19 MPG or less on a 4 cylinder 2.0 liter engine.

Transmission shifting is rough, the handling is awful, and the power is non-existent.

The interior is neither great nor terrible. The gauges are a bit difficult to read at times, given the styling and color arrangement.

I would personally gladly take a Neon, PT Cruiser or K-Car over this car any day of the week. Dodge should be ashamed of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2013

17th Nov 2013, 11:43

Is this car a rental? As I doubt you would have bought it if it is as bad as you say, since much of this would have been apparent in the test drive.

Also, it seems the other reviewers have had the opposite experience to yours.

2013 Dodge Dart SE Aero 1.4 turbo from North America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Best mileage for any vehicle I've owned

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

This is the high-mileage version of the Dart. I got it with a manual because the optional dry-clutch automatic was in its first year of production, and I didn't want any problems.

Best thing is the mileage; I'm getting 40 MPG on a consistent basis. This is double the mileage my other vehicles are getting.

A couple of years ago, I looked at the Ford Fiesta, which also gets 40 MPG, but it is a much smaller vehicle. The Dart is roomier and quieter.

The engine takes 5W40 synthetic, and has a cartridge-style filter. The only work I've had to do on the vehicle is change the oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2013

30th Nov 2013, 22:12

Good move dodging (heh-heh) the dual-dry-clutch transmission :)

2013 Dodge Dart SE 2.0 L from North America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance160 miles

Summary:

The best small car on the market today

Faults:

Nothing, as it is brand new.

General Comments:

I'm surprised that nobody has reviewed this car yet.

It's a thoroughly modern, very well built, quiet, efficient, comfortable car with great handling and loads of interior room (especially for a compact sedan).

Styling is eye-turning, acceleration is above average for a 2-liter-class engine, and the vehicle has very responsive steering with nicely linear feedback (with resistance in the wheel increasing nicely as you turn it).

It comes with a load of standard equipment, even in the base model. I bought the base model with the "comfort" option that added AC, power windows/locks, and an automatic 6-speed transmission. It also came with Chrysler's Uconnect Base system, which does a great job of connecting to my smartphone and letting me accept (or decline) calls safely while at the wheel.

The interior is one of the best I've seen on any small car, and a HUGE step above the average in the class. It has a very premium feel, with soft-touch surfaces and a sophisticated, sculpted feel. The contoured bucket seats are among the most comfortable I've ever sat in, and have a great combination of grip and "give". Excellent lower-back/lumbar support as well.

Many people have commented on the styling and attractiveness of the car (which is in a deep "True Blue"). I have to agree with them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2013

5th Dec 2013, 15:13

I've always been a big fan of all of the Big Three. We've owned cars from all of them, as well as a few very poorly built imports. Chrysler, like Ford and GM, are the best in quality and reliability. My last Dodge was sold just shy of 250,000 miles. It was like new and had required less than $600 in total repairs.

22nd Feb 2014, 19:57

I just took a road trip in a rental Dart about 2 hours each way. I found the bolstering in the lower cushion too high on the sides, and had to fold a large towel to level out the seat. I'm a large guy and have large legs. I found the driving position difficult to adjust properly as well. After using the towel trick, the car was OK but not comfortable.

The power was OK and it does look good on the outside.

I found the dash speedometer very hard to read, and had to use the digital meter in the scrolling menu. The fuel economy was fair as well. The cruise failed at the beginning of the return trip.

Overall I wouldn't buy this car, if nothing else because of a failed/intermittent cruise system after 45000km.

24th Feb 2014, 22:03

I agree, it is one of the best looking small economy cars on the market. I absolutely love the distinctive rear tail lights; it's about time manufacturers started making cars that don't all look the same!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews