1988 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Dodge Daytona from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100164 miles
Most recent distance100279 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Good for experienced stick drivers

Faults:

Bought it with entire bottom of cab rusted out. Impossible to get through inspection.

Stalled out quite often, eventually to the point of no longer starting.

General Comments:

This was my very first manual transmission car. It was lots of fun to scoot around town in.

The inside of the car was definitely not good - things broke inside of it, the color of it was even terrible looking.

Stereo was awful.

Definitely not made for a first time manual driver. If you're learning stick for the first time, use a newer car - this one just can't handle it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Sum it up in one word, FAST!!!

Faults:

Really nothing has gone wrong for the 3 years I've owned it. I will have to replace the head gasket soon, but well maintained, these cars will run forever.

I replaced the fuel pump at 85,000 miles

I replaced the timing belt at 98,000.

General Comments:

FAST!!! The Turbo engine is so FAST!! A great, fantastic car! The style still turns heads and will for a long, long time. Bright red paint looks great! Interior is roomy, neat electronics, the manual transmission makes it fun to drive. Buy one of these and you will never get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

25th Mar 2005, 17:25

Hell yea its fast as hell I have a 88 Daytona Shelby z running 18psi of boost. I'm 18 years old and I have to much fun with import.

1988 Dodge Daytona Base 2.5L EFI (non-turbo) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L EFI (non-turbo) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Very reliable and a good bargain!

Faults:

A leaky rack and pinion had to be replaced when first purchased. A few minor repairs and some maint. and I was "on the road"!! During the years of driving it daily, it never left me stranded. The ONLY problem (other than a brake job and tires, which any car needs as they wear) was a "check engine" light. A cracked vacuum hose corrected that. I am sure that the car would have made it to 200,000 if my son hadn't totaled it on a rainy August night in 2001. Thank God he was not hurt. We were both sad to see the car go. But I stripped it and the parts ended up on 4 different Mopar vehicles in my family.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this car when first purchased. It was comfortable on a long trip, and was nicely equipped. Tilt, cruise, elec outside mirrors, and AC of course. A daily driver for many years without ever being towed, or leaving me stranded. My only complaint was the lack of enough power to "get into traffic" with the non-turbo 4 cylinder.

This is even more noticeable now that we have 2 LeBarons (92 3.0L V6 & 88 2.2L turbo). A BIG improvement!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

23rd Oct 2008, 20:51

I have one of these cars, and I think it will run forever! I have more than 300k miles on it & would head out on a cross country drive with it without a worry.

1988 Dodge Daytona Base 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance141236 miles
Previous carDodge Lancer

Summary:

Sporty car with lots of potential!

Faults:

Car had a bad clutch on delivery. Dealer replaced at 10k miles, no problems with it after that.

Needed new fuel injector at 55k miles.

General Comments:

I enjoyed this car for the 6 years I had it.

It was a great highway cruiser as well as around town.

Good on gas and great on repairs!

Interior was very comfortable in the front. Back seats were better left for storage than people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1988 Dodge Daytona Pacifica 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

This car really IS a high performance, good gas mileage bargain

Faults:

Rear brake caliper leaking, was darned near impossible to find.

Engine momentarily cuts out while driving -- I've never figured this one out, and shotgunning with coil and other ignition parts has not solved the problem (the engine otherwise runs like a charm).

Not a bad track record for 40K of driving, eh?

General Comments:

This is a car that gets 37 mpg on the highway if you are careful to watch the vacuum gauge, yet it will scream when you hit the gas (the Pacifica is a turbo model).

It is THE most comfortable trip car I have ever owned - the driver's seat is just amazing in its adjustments. It is not a good car, however, for passengers - no headroom in the back, and it is very difficult to get in and out of the car, even for the driver. If you consider it a two seater sports car, however, it is a real pleasure to drive.

Oh -- and LOTS of cargo space with the back seats folded down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

21st May 2006, 15:08

I'm about to buy an 88 dodge daytona pacifica with a new stage 5 computer and larger injectors. Now the car is running rich and the owner tried to put the old computer back and the smaller injectors. It is still running rich. How do I fix this?

1988 Dodge Daytona 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good car for its age

Faults:

Replaced the map sensor 1 year after buying car.

Replaced the timing belt soon after the map sensor.

Radiator leak at 90000.

Rack and pinion steering needed to be replaced.

Radiator replaced at 100000 miles.

Rear wheel bearing needed replaced at 100000 miles.

Right side hub needed to be replaced at 100000 miles.

Both side ball joints needed to be replaced at 90000.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable in the front, but leaves much to be desired if you are sitting in the back.

Good car, but a lot of work needed to be done to it because it was so old.

Shocks need to be replaced, but that is to be expected with an older car. The car has a lot of body roll.

Good looking car for the year it was made. It looks very sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

1988 Dodge Daytona Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres

Summary:

An extremely reliable 2.2

Faults:

Nothing.. just normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car blows the doors of other cars in it's class (racing), is very comfortable, good looking, and extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 4.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

It is a sporty reliable bargain

Faults:

Not anything major.... a window tape broke, got that fixed for $90.

General Comments:

It is a great car. It only cost me $1500, but I found out it is worth more since it is a Shelby.

It has turbo, T-tops, leather, power everything (including inflatable seats).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 04:57

The car has a 2.2 liter engine, not a 4.0.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews