1988 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 2.2 Intercooled turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52568 kilometres
Most recent distance111649 kilometres
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

The 1988 Shelby Z is among the best 4 cylinder cars on the road

Faults:

This car has the usual Chrysler paint peel.

My waste-gate rod rusted off from the turbo's heat at about 84,000kms.

General Comments:

This car handles extremely well.

This car was meant to compete with the 88 Mustang GT 5.0 and does so very well.

The car is super cheap to modify and maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

1988 Dodge Daytona Pacifica 2.2 turbo II from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo II Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired197300 miles
Most recent distance197900 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A very well built fast car

Faults:

Speed distance sensor does not appear to work.

Clock/gas mileage computer does not work.

Air Charge Temp Sensor is not reading correctly.

General Comments:

I have only owned this car for a month, but I already am very impressed with it. A sportscar of its time, the Daytona handles very well, and has a lot of power. Motor and turbo were very recently rebuilt, and there are only a few things needing repair. This is obviously expected of 16 year old car. It has even started in -20 degree weather and I am very satisfied with the purchase. I paid $1100 for it, and it was worth every penny. By spring, I will see how well I have done with it when I take it to the track.

I would like to speak with other Daytona owners, so drop me a line:

Astralisdustin (at) gmail (dot) com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2004

28th Dec 2004, 16:26

The Dodge Daytona was a sporty car, but definitely not a sports car. Not even in 1988.

24th Feb 2005, 06:53

I also agree that the Daytona is not a sports car, but I've owned a 1989 Daytona Shelby since new, and love the car. Parts for the car are very cheap compared to imports, and there are a lot of things you can do to these cars to improve their performance. A company called Forward Motion makes tons of parts for 2.2 and V6 Dodge cars that can really turn your not so sporty car into a real performer. Check out that site!

9th Aug 2012, 12:41

Thank you for your hint of going to forwardmotioninc.com for parts for my 1988 Shelby Turbo... I totally love this car. I got it at an estate sale (one owner) in Colona, Illinois, last year. It is black, and I think she is beautiful and still looks like brand new. No rust, original exhaust and all... runs like a champion.

Helena L.

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 2.2 intercooled turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 kilometres
Most recent distance115263 kilometres

Summary:

FWD hot rod!

Faults:

Power windows are slow in the cold.

T-tops have a channel that leaks water into the seat when the window is down.

All the "wear" items have been replaced, brakes etc, still have original paint and exhaust!

Paint is getting thin in spots, after all, it is 16 years old!

General Comments:

Fast car. Turbo 11 intercooled!

Good looking car.

The Shelby Z is a collector car.

Handles great.

Body is mint.

Turns heads every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 2.2 Intercooled turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 kilometres
Most recent distance277680 kilometres
Previous carDodge D100

Summary:

I love this car and will never sell it.

Faults:

I replaced the clutch at 263,000 kms. The next was the steering rack at 275,000 kms.

General Comments:

This car is very fast for a four cylinder weighing in at 2800 lbs. It has four wheel disk brakes and larger anti-roll bar up front. This car doe's handle like it's on rails. This is a fully loaded car with leather and t-tops and is very comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

1988 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z 2.2L turbo II from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo II Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

Very fast and fun

Faults:

Power steering pressure hose leaked, but was replaced quickly.

The oxygen sensor wiring harness wasn't snapped in its place and got melted on the exhaust manifold, and caused the fuel pump relay fusible link to blow.

General Comments:

This car recently kept up with a 270hp Ford Mustang GT with only exhaust work done to it, and a Holley Avenger fuel pump installed on it.

I have this car torn apart for the Super 60 upgrade and other modifications. The parts that I am going to get for it is a Comp cam, high flow injectors, Super 60 turbo, map sensor, huge inter-cooler, strut rod bushings, Super 60 computer,

Hooker header, and sent my head and intake manifold to a machine shop for performance grinding. This will give me around 400 to 450 horses.

This car is so fun to drive, and its steering is very responsive. Though other people tell me that it's a K car, and for this it is bad in curves. This isn't true, I haven't yet found a curve this car couldn't handle easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 20:35

I was just wondering about the work you are doing on your car. You said a Super 60 turbo, I havn't heard of this, but I guess it could be out there. And also, a turbo charged car does not have any header, so why do you say that your getting a header setup? As for the 270 Horse GT, this must have been on the highway, because I have an 87 Shelby with 3 inch exhaust from turbo back, and all the same type of mods you are getting plus more mods, and I push 250 horse, just hardly beating a 260 horse mustang that my friend has. Off the line he will get so far ahead and then stay there. There is NO WAY you can stay with that 270 GT.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews