1991 Dodge Grand Caravan from North America


Decent, but costs an arm and leg for replacement parts


Back of passenger seat broke (I had the same problem in my 1986 Dodge Caravan), have to prop it up with a bucket wedged behind it.

Replaced muffler ($55) 3 times in 2 years, entire exhaust once ($200).

The paint is peeling off.

The rocker arm shaft ($20) broke, which I heard is very rare. A REAL JOY to fix, too.

Replaced the starter ($150), on which one of the bolts is nearly impossible to reach.

Replaced fuel pump ($300).

Rear differential cover on transmission leaked, had to reseal it twice (relatively cheap).

Rear wiper quit working.

Dome lights don't work unless back door is open.

General Comments:

Overall, this isn't a bad vehicle to drive. It doesn't handle too well in the snow, but it is roomy and allows me to haul lumber and so on.

One thing I wonder, though, is how come parts for these Caravans cost so much?I had a friend with a '91 Chevy S-10 who paid $55 for a fuel pump when his died. Mine was 3 times as much! Seems like they ream you a new one every time you have to buy a replacement part.

The 3.3 V6 is a decent engine, gives me enough guts to tick off folks I pass on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

3rd May 2005, 05:57

The comments made by this individual are similar to ones I can make about my 91 Grand Caravan. The back wiper stopped working on mine not long after the warranty expired. The parts are more expensive than a Chevy, but that is to be expected for a Dodge. The paint started peeling not long after I got it I thought it was just a chip where a rock may have hit it and didn't pay it much mind, my mistake. I went to my local dealer where I purchased it and they said they would report it to the district manager I never hear from them. The transmission went out on it just before the warranty expired so I got a new one, but it went out after a couple of years (2004). The head liner and the plastic molding keep falling off (breaking). The passenger seat is nonadjustable and is cramped for a long legged person long trips are miserable. We had a lot of fun in this vehicle it was our first van, but for all the little problems and one big problem (transmission),I was disappointed in it. It is parked behind my garage if I ever find a transmission cheap enough I may install it and use it for a work van. We will see.

1991 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3 gas from North America


A very solid family performer


Lost the display at 150,000km.

Lost the radiator at 200,000 km.

Lost the transmission at 350,000 km.

General Comments:

Has been great performer. Looks hardly used on the outside or inside. The engine is very solid with no oil leakage after 350,000 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

6th Jul 2004, 23:20

Hey, did your original transmission last 350k??? wow that's amazing! your lucky!

1991 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L Gasoline from North America


Not even a bargain for Free


Rear Gas Spring:

First the Right Gas Strut/Spring failed. The lower pivot broke that holds it to the door. You can't buy the pivot itself; you must buy the whole Gas Spring Assembly. I bought a new replacement gas spring from Dodge and it cost about $68US. Then the Left Side Broke and I was able to cannibalize the one remaining pivot from the first failed unit. Then the Right Spring failed again; I bought an aftermarket Gas Spring Assembly that had a better warranty. Then the Left upper pivot failed and punched a hole in the headliner. The failure this time was the body metal had fatigued and the whole nut-plate doubler broke out of the sheet metal. I beat it back into place and welded a doubler over the top.

Transmission (Automatic) :

It drove well for the first 65,000 miles and then needed a total overhaul with a new torque converter. Thank goodness the car was under a 7-year/70,000 mile warranty. Then the rebuild transmission started acting up just as before at 72,000. It would not up-shift past second. I changed the fluid and it started shifting somewhat normal again. It still wasn't working correctly and I sold the car before the vehicle left me stranded. I am of the feeling the transmission should last as long or longer that the engine.

Door Warning:

When I filled all of the seats with people, and hit a nominal bump, the warning chime would come on. Sometimes the "door ajar light" would come on. Other times the condition would rectify itself before I could look down at the annunciator panel. I would rarely drive with the vehicle full of people and after many years in this condition, I finely figured out what was happening. The sliding door switch was opening and there was no adjustment for the switch. What a poor design.

Tires: This thing went through tires like my kids eat cereal. I never got more than 20,000 miles on a good set of tires.

Brakes: the only thing worse that the tires were the brakes. I went through 5 sets of brake pads on the front axle in 50,000 miles. I also replaced the rotors or had them resurfaced every time I changed the pads. These brakes are way undersized for the vehicle. They fade on the second brake application.

General Comments:

The car needed a real transmission, real brakes and better execution of quality throughout the whole vehicle. This thing was an Engineering Failure from the start. I resent the Federal Government Loans that kept the firm going!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

10th Dec 2002, 13:48


I have the oil and filter changed every 15,000 miles and 140,000 miles of use out of the trans.


The tire dealers won't tell you, but the weight rating of the van puts it in the 6 ply tire group. find a set and you will get 60,000 out of a set of tires.


Made in China brake parts only last 10,000 miles if you are lucky. Made in Canada brake parts will last 45,000+.


16th Aug 2004, 17:11

I'd like to see the roads you drive on that beat up a car that badly. My G. Caravan has 160,000 miles on it and NOTHING like that has ever happened. Sounds like you should be driving a Hummer (or a tank)

4th Oct 2009, 17:31

I think not, this author has something against Caravans, I have 300,000 and still on the first set of shocks, brakes often, but if you put in garbage parts, they don't last.

This vehicle has been an absolute dream aside from the transmission; a small price to pay for a great van.