1996 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3 L from North America


My Grand Caravan is one example of a flawed vehicle that Chrysler continues to cheat people with


Within a year after owning the vehicle I had to have the fan relay replaced twice.

In the second year the oil seal on the engine fell apart which meant the engine had to be halfway torn down to replace it.

Since then, the air conditioning had to be completely rebuilt (the mechanic told me it's a leakage flaw associated with Caravan designs).

I have had the fan relay replaced twice more.

This spring the main shaft in the transmission totally snapped in two, thereby causing me to have the automatic transmission completely overhauled.

General Comments:

The van is very comfortable and luxurious on the inside, but it's just a pretty wrapper on a piece of junk.

I have contacted Chrysler to tell them of my experiences with this vehicle and their response was very uncaring, as if they knew every problem I was talking about and weren't concerned about fixing it. I'll NEVER EVER buy anything that is associated with Chrysler again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

12th Jun 2002, 09:47

I need to talk to this guy, because I've replaced the fan relay three times already.


27th Jan 2003, 17:34

Seems like I may be starting to experience the same problems. My engine recently started overheating, and the fans are not turning on. I replaced the relay last year about the same time. I also have an oil leak at my rear main seal, which will require a partial tear down of the engine to replace. My wife is complaining that it is shifting rough. Might be considering a trade in at this point...

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3L from North America


Costs too much to maintain this vehicle


The transmission was rebuilt by the used car dealer at his expense two days after we bought it.

The brake rotors and pads were replaced at about 125,000 miles and the pads and shoes again at about 136,000 miles.

The air conditioner was repaired due to a freon leak at about 130,000 miles as was the serpentine belt and idler.

Yesterday I spent $1,130.94US to repair the transmission again after the "torque converter came apart".

We have experienced the "magic windshield wiper" problem and intermittent problems with the mileage computer display and dome lights.

The rear hatch leaks in heavy rain.

General Comments:

Engine performance has been very good.

The van has excellent brakes.

Very comfortable vehicle for traveling.

Infinity sound system is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

17th Jan 2002, 15:16

What do you expect from a vehicle with 130,000 + miles on it? That is extremely high miles for a 96. We just traded ours in after 73,000 miles and the only problem with it was the transmission at 55,000 which was covered under the warranty.

21st May 2002, 19:30

No matter what the mileage, every review I have read basically has the same problems at much lower mileages.. I just bought a 96 and paid $6,000 with high miles and the problems that we are having, we were told of, but they have existed for many miles, just never fixed! I would not buy from a car lot just because you will pay LOTS MORE! I do love my van although we had to put a new starter in it 2 days after buying it. That's the chance you take when buying from private sellers... And you probably have the same problems with dealers, because a lot of them will not pay for anything either! Other than the high miles, my van is like new. I am still crossing my fingers that I got a good deal!

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan Caravan SE 3.3 V6 from North America


A versatile and comfortable classy van!!


The transmission is noisy, but it still functions just fine with 2 year fluid and filter changes.

Intermittent electrical problems.

Warped front brakes.

Difficult to get roll out seats back in place. Comfortable but bulky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3 from North America


Excellent high value cruiser


Air conditioner compressor and condensor.

Normal brake replacements.

Still has the original exhaust system.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle.... superb performance on ice and snow when equipped with Blizzaks.

We are about to buy a 2001.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3 liter from North America


What hasn't gone wrong with this van? I've been through two oxygen sensors, a set of front brakes (warped rotors at 30K?), a water pump, a failed door locking mechanism, numerous sqeaks and rattles, a broken emergency brake release and probably several other things I've forgotten to mention.

General Comments:

It's a shame these Chrysler Vans are built so poorly, because it's a very comfortable, great riding family hauler when it's not in the shop. The execution is not up to the nice engineering. Buy the new Honda if you are in the market for a minivan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

27th Sep 2001, 20:21

You are so right! I have a '96 LE and it rattles and has numerous noises from who knows where. The rear remote window vent works when it wants to. The A/C sounds like it's about to die every time it kicks in. Other than that it is a great design. I am going to buy a Honda van as soon as I can afford it.