1996 Dodge Grand Caravan 2.4L 16v DOHC from North America


The best van I've ever owned


My water pump went out at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable van. I have been satisfied with this vehicle and have driven from Seattle, Washington to Winston-Salem, North Carolina 3 times with no problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3 from North America


Waste of money


Air Conditioning never worked.

Rear vent windows have always had problems opening and closing.

Transmission fluid leaks.

Engine oil leaks.

Coolant leaks.

Heater fan makes noises.

Environmental controls for where the air is directed no longer works.

Passenger side sliding door doesn't unlock using power lock controls.

Wears the outside of the passenger side tire after numerous front end alignments.

As of November 26, 2003, there is grinding and clunking noises coming from under the vehicle when put in gear. Car engine sounds fine when in park and the transmission shifts fine, but when stopped and in gear the car will try to stall.

General Comments:

We thought that the car was a good deal when we first bought it, but as time went by more things started going wrong with it.

It has always had nice pick up and until recently ran nice, but the compounded problems make us regret ever buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 20:42

The economic service life of a Dodge Caravan is no more than 90,000 miles. You got it after it was shot and still managed to put some miles on it!

The second 100,000 miles is where all the money is!

2nd May 2009, 10:45

I have a Dodge Caravan with 200,000 km on it. That is 124000 miles. I had to put a new transmission in about a year ago and the AC is shot, but it still work fine and is certainly cheaper to maintain then new car payment plus maintenance. Where do you get this 90,000 mile economic life figure from?

I hope to run it for three more years. My mortgage will be paid in two and that will give me a year to save what I use to put in my mortgage for another car.

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan from North America


A very reliable people mover!


The water pump went out at 220,000 miles.

We've had to replace the brakes at normal intervals (75,000 to 100,000 miles) and just recently the front end suspension needed parts, but overall it has been an exceptionally clean and reliable car.

General Comments:

Very happy with the car.

Have driven it all over the United States and never had a break-down.

Extremely comfortable seats.

We have 4 children; have driven them all over and they are not careful on the seats. Spills clean up easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L V6 from North America


This thing will run forever


- There have been a ton of recalls, I haven't had ANY of them done.

- The Van ran fine with intermediate oil changes all the way till 180,000 km. Then I had the crankshaft position sensor replaced, and here I am, 191,800 km!

- as of now it's really hard on gas, about 120 km per full tank, in city. (premium)

General Comments:

This van is nice to drive in the city and on the highway. It's my daily driver, I think once any of these vans go past 150,000 km, the whole Vehicle becomes high maintenance. I myself, drive the thing pretty hard, but most of the repairs I had done are pretty much regular maintenance (shocks, tires,belt, oils). As for performance, this one is a highway runner. It' pulls the hardest at 100 km/h and up. it can get to 180km/h with passengers easily.

I'd say this is a good purchase. Today you can buy one cheap. It has lots of room, parts are cheap, and it's easy to drive. I am about to do it's first major tune up at 191,800 km, so far nothing has broke, but the power steering pump. But that was my fault, let's just say I was showing off.. My advice, get the extended version, (grand caravan) It's a smoother ride. And one of the two V6's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003