1999 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.3 V6 from North America

Summary:

Unusually reliable for a Dodge Grand Caravan

Faults:

1. The belt completely came off the car a few months after I bought it.

2. The previous owner broke the parking brake cable lever, so I got stranded in the mountains for a few hours, as I reached down and had no lever to release the brake. So I had to have a tow truck driver cut the parking brake cable, and I have been driving that way ever since.

3. The previous owner broke the cup holder tray and was rough on some of the interior.

4. It stalled only once in New Mexico, but not again since.

5. It has a very slow water pump leak I have ignored since I bought the van.

6. The brakes are 50% worn already. It eats brakes.

7. The transmission gets quirky and clunky with too much stop and go driving.

8. The passenger side window regulator is going out.

9. The lock sometimes hangs up, preventing me from opening the driver's door unless I jiggle it or turn the key back and forth.

General Comments:

Overall, this van has not left me stranded yet, at all. It survived a 2,200 mile roadtrip from California to New Mexico in January 2022 at 23 years old. It starts each time, it never overheats, and I LOVE the digital fuel economy computer and weather station. The seats are comfortable. It loses almost no oil.

I have already taken this minivan on several long trips, but right now the GREEN NEW DEAL has reduced my budget in being able to afford to drive this van at extortion gas prices. I will never get rid of this van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2022

17th Apr 2022, 01:58

Nice review

3.3's are solid engines. The 3.8 is noticeably faster, but tends towards oil usage.

Keep an eye on the transmission. If the Input & Output sensors go bad, they can lead to destruction of the transmission. Yearly fluid and filter changes will not be a waste of money ;)

21st Apr 2022, 08:20

Thanks very much for that. I presume the check engine light would come on at that point. Update, survived my first sideswipe car accident with an idiot driving a 2015 Kia Optima. The van won.

1999 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3 litre from North America

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

Nothing abnormal - just the transmission has started to slip. It happened around the 300,000 km mark the first time, but I can't remember what sensor was in need of cleaning. Once the sensor is cleaned up - the transmission is good for another 150,000 km. I love my van, and considering it will soon have 500,000 km, I think it has served me well.

General Comments:

- Dependable.

- Comfortable.

- Fast and very quiet.

- Aromatics are great.

- Roomy.

- As good as a truck for hauling large loads or towing.

- Handles awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2010

1999 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

Decent car for families

Faults:

A/C gone at 100K.

Engine thermometer goes up and down at 110K.

VERY ROUGH IDLING 115K, fixed with spark plug changes.

CD player never worked right (volume control didn't work, didn't read custom CDs)

General Comments:

Generally an OK van, good power, overall reliability is OK.

Major AC issue though. Changed the compressor and still the A/C doesn't work sometimes.

CD needed to be better.

Don't trust the car anymore. Was an OK car though when we needed to go up on long distance trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2009

1999 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.3 from North America

Summary:

Dependable

Faults:

Water pump went at 165000+ miles, and the cooling fan needed replaced last year.

General Comments:

I am very fortunate, my Caravan has 165,000+ miles on it and it is the most dependable safest car I've ever owned. I've only had a few repairs, and everything still works (A/C, power locks etc) I wouldn't trade it for the world... (keeping fingers crossed) good luck everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2008

1999 Dodge Grand Caravan ES 3.8 from North America

Summary:

It was good when it was new

Faults:

Very loud noise came from front wheel passenger side.

General Comments:

It is a very comfortable car, but it got lots problems after 65000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2008