1995 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 10 of 16

1995 Dodge Intrepid Standard 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Unreliable, Unsafe, Expensive to Maintain

Faults:

Dip stick broke.

Passenger-side power window stopped working.

Alternator literally fell off at 90,000 miles.

Transmission began malfunctioning at 105,000.

Engine would suddenly die while driving and would not start for up to several hours (replaced part, cannot remember what it was)...problem started at about 80,000 miles.

Had to replace full set of brakes at around 95,000 miles, and CV joint started going bad right afterward.

Trunk and engine hoods would not stay up without manual support.

Ashtray would fall out if opened more than a 1/2 inch (problem detected upon purchase at 75,000 miles)

General Comments:

In three years of ownership, the car became unreliable or unsafe to drive because of four major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

23rd May 2003, 13:27

My oil dipstick snapped off inside the tube too, because the top 4 inches of it is PLASTIC, not metal. Couldn't take the heat. Easiest thing to redesign, yet they let it go for the full length of LH body production. Now Chrysler has revived the 3.5L V6 for 2004 vehicles. Open the hood of the new Chrysler Pacifica and look for this plastic dipstick. Is it still there?

1995 Dodge Intrepid ES from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

Too many to list. The major one was the tie rods snapped in the steering box.

General Comments:

This car has been a problem ever since I bought it. The repairs have exceeded the value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

1995 Dodge Intrepid ES from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

I would love to keep it forever

Faults:

I have had to replace the rear right wheel bearing twice, besides that it has only been regular wear and tear.

General Comments:

I have driven many cars and this one is the best all around car I have driven yet. It has great get up and go, lots of room for passengers front and back, the infinity stereo sounds great and it has never left me stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

26th Dec 2003, 19:30

What was the symptoms of the front bearing going out?

I'm curious because my '96 Intrepid makes a noise while going over bumps and turning back and forth (while moving). I'm pretty sure that it is something on the right side because when I go over a bump with the left tire nothing is heard, seems normal - solid. I noticed that the bushings that secure the rack are gone. Could this be the problem, even though I notice it on the right side? Or could it be a wheel bearing?

20th Jun 2005, 00:17

It is definitly the bushing. I had the same problem.

1995 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A true bargain of a vehicle, with exceptional handling and performance!

Faults:

Purchased with suspension and transmission issues that I knew about.

I repaired all issues immediately on purchase at 55,000 miles for less than $1000.00 (I did all the work myself). Issues included Full Tune-up, Tie Rods, Bushings, Alignment, Radiator flush, and pounded out a minor dent in the hood.

Minor repair of window washer bottle pump at 56,000 miles.

Replaced Head Light assemblies and Fog Lamp assemblies due to plastic turning a milky color in the desert sun (the same thing happened with my Cougar too) at around 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

It's amazing how people always want to hear the bad news first. First let me say that I purchased this vehicle for less than 3000.00 and it required less than 1000.00 dollars in repairs to get it to tip top condition. This has been the most wonderful vehicle that I have owned (and I've had my share, believe me). It is a first class piece of American workmanship, I would buy another Dodge in no time. (actually I have, my wife drives a Dodge Dakota Pickup Truck, which she loves. No real issues there either).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1995 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

It's not a Mercedes, but the ES is the nicest car I'll ever be able to afford

Faults:

I got the car at 65,000 miles, so I contribute most of these problems to the previous owner not keeping up with maintenance, as well as old age.

Oxygen Sensors replaced twice.

Check Engine light always comes on.

CD player wouldn't work if it was cold outside.

High Beams STILL don't work. Nobody can seem to figure out why.

Doesn't start properly. I've got to turn the key several times real fast in order for it to start. Always starts for the mechanic, so haven't been able to fix it.

The dealership repair shop has ripped me off on two separate occasions, trying to fix problems that don't exist.

Rough idle, currently either having another problem with the oxygen sensors or with the ECM.

General Comments:

Despite my headaches with this car, I love everything else about it, and that becomes my problem. It is very comfortable, leather seats, extremely roomy, electric sunroof, power seats, etc.

The engine is also very powerful. Intrepid's are on the Nascar circuit, so I guess that explains the excellent acceleration and overall good handling.

If I would have been the original owner and would have gotten it "brand new," instead of after it already had 65,000 miles, I probably wouldn't have had any complaints. But I was just the recipient of a car that wasn't maintained, so therefore I am paying the price for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

28th Jul 2003, 21:31

Your hard start is probably due to a weak starter. A test might show a good starter, but when the battery load comes, it fails. So if you haven't changed the starter motor then its time.

Rough idle is probably due to the Idle air control motor. Check the Engine code (by turning the car on and off and on and off and finally on, don't start. Keep looking at the check engine light and write down the numbers by counting the flashes. Every two numbers forms a code. There is no single digit code). If it reads 25 then its Air Idle control motor. Also check for vacuum leak at the EGR or intake plenum.

Shah.

3rd Apr 2006, 22:42

I had the same problem with having to turn the key various times to get the car to start, its the ignition switch, I found out it goes bad on most intrepids, it's a cheap part, around $35 and took me about 30 minutes to install. I would definatly try that 1st.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 58 reviews