1995 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 6 of 16

1995 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Very good drive!

Faults:

The water pump, and the ac system have been repaired, or replaced several times each. Other than that just routine maintenance. The exterior paint almost looks new, as does the interior.

General Comments:

This a large car, that is quicker stops better and handles better than our audi.

The car holds five people, and gets 19 to 20 mpg in New York City driving conditions every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

1995 Dodge Intrepid 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Spectrum

Summary:

Three transmissions in 104,000 miles, terrible

Faults:

My mom had this car before me. She had the transmission rebuilt at 60,000 miles. I got it at 64,000 miles, rebuilt the transmission at 90,000 miles. I just sold it for $350 to a transmission mechanic, as the transmission went out, again, at 104,000 miles. No reliability. Stranded out of town both times.

The master power window controls became testy around 80,000 miles.

The power door locks on the back doors quit working around 70,000 miles.

Driver seat worn badly by 90,000 miles.

Paint chipping off by 90,000 miles.

Really a low mileage car.

General Comments:

This car is fast, and roomy. On road trips my miles per gallon averaged 28-30, which is great for a full-sized Dodge sedan.

But, I will never again own a Dodge. Being stranded, and then paying $1500 - $2000 for a new transmission, isn't my idea of reliability and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 07:31

I'm sorry you had so many problems with the transmission. I loved my Intrepid and they really are a good car. Mine had over 200,000 miles on it before the transmission went. I would own one again!

14th Jan 2005, 12:04

You have to change the transmission fluid every 15K miles and NOT use DEXRON fluid because it will kill the transmission fast. This fluid change is a pro job at a dealer or lube shop that has the right machine to do it. That is the only way that these cheap Chrysler transaxles will function beyond 50K.

14th Jan 2006, 21:36

I just bought one to day, stole it for 1,500 100,000 miles, but other than that looks like grandma owned it. Anyway, some of my friend told me about there trans. o well cheap car get what you pay for!!!

13th Feb 2006, 18:59

I love my Intrepid. I am still on the original engine and transmission. It is a 95 and has over 219,000 miles on it. I just wish the paint was of better quality. Oh well, can't complain not one bit. Awesome vehicle!!!

11th May 2007, 19:52

My man owned and loved his 1995 Intrepid. It had only 40,000 kilometers when I received it after his death to cancer. I too love this car - it is huge comfortable and allows me to transport merchandise and people like it was a truck. Do I want it to last forever - you bet. I don't have problems with the paint - proper treatments have helped. I have problems with transmission??? Or so I'm told! But, since Joe's death, 5 years ago, I have been driving this car with a supposedly transmission problem. Would it still be going???

I have to treat her with kid gloves. Gentile, gentile or something will pop and the transmission will not go into 2nd gear. Yes - I have been doing this for 5 years. It does not seem possible that the problem would be the transmission. For some freaky reason the problem is more apparent when the temperature outside is over 70 degrees. Living in Canada, our cold winters seem to give my favorite car a break.

If anyone knows what is going on or what I need to fix, please let me know.

Thanking you.

Violaine.

1995 Dodge Intrepid 3.3 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired76390 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Fairly dependable except for typical Dodge faults

Faults:

Had to replace both cooler lines around 90,000 miles.

Replaced both inner tie rods and rotors around 102,000 miles.

The first head on the passenger side broke completely off on 10/30/04. My mechanic had never seen anything like it.

Condensation inside headlight covers and headlights are dim - a real problem if you're night blind!

Power door lock on rear driver's side door going out.

Hood has to be propped open.

Paint is dull and faded.

Have had 3 new batteries in the less than 30,000 miles I've had the car.

General Comments:

Up until the tie rods, it had been a very dependable car.

I like the way it drives, handles, and accelerates.

Interior is roomy and is comfortable to ride in.

I never thought I'd have a 4 door car, but it's sporty looking for a sedan.

Obviously a non-smoker decided where to put the ashtray as it's in a most inconvenient place!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 58 reviews