2005 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance16756 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Middle of the Road with this Car

Faults:

Two car accidents resulting in nearly $8,000 in total repairs.

Factory tires do not keep air, not since the first day I bought the car.

Door hinges are already wearing out, have made sure that every passenger in my car opens them easily and shuts them easily.

Rings inside the throttle body collapsed on eachother causing the car to choke, until it was fixed.

Overall within the 16,000+ miles this car has been driven it has survived.

General Comments:

Wish I had kept the '04 Focus SE, Had more power, better handling, and overall it offered a more fun driving experience.

Car was on promo for $10,998 when I bought tacked on $7,000 of Neg. equity from the focus making it $18,000, bad decision, this car is barely worth the $11000 brand new.

I am really disappointed in this car, I had always wanted one and then when I did get it, I had too high of expectations... It wasn't worth the trade. Two years later it feels like it it is falling apart.

Love the manual shift, smooth easy for new stick shift drivers to learn on. Clutch is tight, stock stereo works like a charm, speakers bump.

Love the overall shape of the car and the sporty look.

Magnesium wheels are a nice addition to the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2007

17th Jan 2008, 22:23

I don't consider anything on your list terribly egregious, it just sounds to me like you have a case of buyer's remorse because you got rid of your Focus.

And why do you have two accidents listed under problems with the car? That has more to do with driver error, be it you or the driver of the other car...

23rd Mar 2008, 12:59

As far as price, you make it sound like the Neon cost you a fortune when it's more like you got a bad deal on the purchase, trade in or financing on your Focus. You can't count neg equity as part of the price of the Neon.

4th Dec 2009, 09:06

A bad choice is one thing, a bad car is another. The car seems like it's fine.

2005 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 N/A from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 N/A Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carDodge Stealth

Summary:

Great Basic Transportation, Terrible Performance

Faults:

The alignment was messed up, and wore down my front left tire really badly. I got that fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

First, the good. I got the car for about $13,000 out the door, brand new, with nothing more than transfer mileage on it. It was one of the best new vehicles out there for the money. It's reasonably comfortable, cheap to maintain, has a lot of accessories for the price tag, and doesn't look too terribly bad painted in Orange Blast. It was also the best handling car in it's price range.

Now for the bad. The reverse gear is unsynchronized, so sometimes it will pop out when you let the clutch go. If you try to put it back in gear before the engine rev lowers totally to an idle, then you grind the gears.

The transmission and clutch is very sloppy, which is probably to be expected of any econo-box. A friend of mine drives an '88 Nova, and she thinks the transmission in my car is great. I previously drove a Stealth R/T, and the transmission in the Neon can't begin to compare.

The engine is rated at 132HP... but I personally believe it should be rated in pony power. When I'm the only one in the car... it's livable. But when I'm on the highway with 2 or 3 friends, and I tell the car to go, it just doesn't!

All in all, the Neon is a good car. It does exactly what it was designed to do, and it does it pretty well. Problem is, I am an enthusiast, and the Neon is nothing more than basic transportation, and with my aggressive driving style it just doesn't work. It is not a car any enthusiast would be happy with, at least not without a bunch of serious upgrades. Which would then turn it into a big bowl of American Rice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

30th Jun 2006, 16:25

You were expecting roaring performance from a 2.0 litre 4-cylinder.

2nd Jul 2006, 13:15

Check out www.2gn.org. It's a forum for 2gn Neon owners, and with a few mods, our little Neons can be much more enjoyable.

2nd Jul 2006, 13:36

As I stated in my review, the car does exactly what it was designed to do. I test drove the car before I bought it, so I knew exactly what to expect, doesn't mean I liked it. I just didn't have many options for a new car that I could afford... and I couldn't get a used car financed at the time.

And as for a 2.0L engine... Dodge could have done a lot more with it. I'm driving a 2006 Toyota Corolla rental right now, with a 1.8L N/A engine that has less horsepower than the Neon, but it is much quicker, even with an auto transmission. It also sounds a lot nicer, and gets better gas mileage. The car doesn't handle as well... but it's proof that a small engine is no excuse for poor performance.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews