2005 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0L I4 Non-Magnum from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L I4 Non-Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance20430 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very good car for a college student

Faults:

Just the tire tread wearing out quicker than I thought.

General Comments:

So far I'm in love with this car. I've owned a '96 Dodge Neon before this car and it's like a whole new world. Much more comfortable and luxurious (for an economy car). I just wish it were quicker sometimes, but that's just because I got the Automatic transmission.

Also, the mileage on this car was a great surprise. While it's rated for 36 highway miles per gallon, I'm getting 40 mpg at 70 miles per hour with a K&N replacement air filter.

And on another note, this car responds very well to being lowered on some stiffer springs. I had mine lowered for a while and I swear it felt like it was on tracks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2006

2005 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Terrific small mid-sized car; outstanding value, in its final year

Faults:

Heaven help you if you go to a Drive-In and start the engine. There is no way to turn the daytime running lights off .. though the manual says they do turn off (it wrong, and the dealer has no fix for it).

General Comments:

This is my third Neon (SX 2.0 in Canada). The mileage is outstanding (32MPG in city). Body tight, and value high.

Very good handling, 4 speed automatic makes it a much quicker car.

Outstanding radio-CD player; 6 speakers.

I really enjoy the Dodge styling since 2003. Fog lamps are super cool.. standard in Canada as they function as the daytime running lights as well.

Designed to economy. Manual says engine tuned for 87 or lower octane, spark plugs are intentionally the inexpensive kind, etc.

Last year of a legend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

6th Oct 2005, 05:08

Yes, it was (is) a legend head gasket- wise.

21st Nov 2005, 22:10

Uh, the Neon is a compact, not a midsize.

8th Jan 2006, 11:54

I know that in the California, when the engine is running the running lights must be on, and all new cars must have their running lights turn on automatically. My guess is that is why your running lights are always on when the car is.

BN.

2005 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Good Economy car, but nothing special!

Faults:

Before I drove it off the lot, I had to make an appointment to get the driver side rear window seal replaced.

Occasionally I will kill it (as it is manual) and I can't get it to restart, usually in busy intersections.

The Single Disk player shuts off occasionally.

Other than that nothing major has gone wrong, I will keep you posted, though!

General Comments:

I enjoy the sporty feel as my car is the Electric blue with the spoiler.

The seats are very comfortable in the front, a little stiff in the back.

Honestly, it's a slight downgrade from the 2004 Ford Focus.

Love the 4 doors.

It doesn't have as much get-up as I expected. But with the SOHC it could use an upgrade to the DOHC which would add some horsepower.

It would be nice if I could drive like a maniac and still get good gas mileage.

Love the fact that they highly suggest 87 octane gas, instead of the expensive stuff. As gas prices are increasing steadily.

Tight and smooth steering is a plus. Gearing is still a little rough.

Already feel like there are some problems that are about to happen. Good thing I have a good warranty.

Can't wait to get the windows tinted and add a little sport to the Neon.

Maybe down the road get it ready for stock racing. Just kidding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

13th Jul 2005, 23:38

The writer of the original post:

Falling madly deeply in love with this car. Just when I get all the bugs worked out and just when I know how to drive it. I got in an accident (only 2 months old). Messed it up pretty good, makes me sad. Have good insurance though, in shop now! Estimated $4,000 in damage, unless needs new transmission then about $6500.

Well that's the update.

28th Jul 2005, 18:13

They will probably total the car out if it needs a new tranny or if they find the frame is bent.

15th Aug 2005, 20:27

UPDATE as of August 15th 2005.

Yes! I got my car back... said it is like Brand New. I have been driving the car it drives like Brand New. I am enjoying it. The work cost $4200, said transmission in perfect condition. I have not had any problems whatsoever with it. Am amazed at how it looks and feels... I expected a rough ride and weird noise... nothing has happened... knock on (big) wood...

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews