19th Sep 2007, 16:33

Since May 2000:

Rear Brakes - could not make noise

Front Brakes

Speed Sensor in transmission

Transmission Pump (2 years later)


Spark Plug wires

*3* fuel injectors

3 sets of tires (Current are almost new)

Both front control arm bushings


And it currently will not start.

Then: add 4 synthetic oil changes a year, yearly coolant change, yearly air filter, yearly spark plugs, brake bleed every 2nd year, thermostat every second year, PVC every second year, transmission flush every 3rd year...

Not bad for 85,000km (roughly 50-55K miles)

I'll pass on the Dodge name next time!

23rd Oct 2007, 11:11

I have a question. My 2000 Dodge Neon has a radiator leak. I have just ordered a radiator. Also, there is water running out of the water reservoir judge so does that mean the head gasket is also blown?

12th Jun 2008, 19:14

I need some advice. I'm thinking about getting a 2000 Dodge Neon for my third car. I never owned a Dodge before. I'm really nervous what do you guys think...? If not the Neon what is a good starter car?

12th Jul 2008, 18:56

I am considering purchasing a 2000 Neon & came to this site to get an idea of what to look out for.

I've come across some GOOD HELPFUL info, but at the same time, there are also quite a few people that obviously don't know much of anything about cars (regular maintenance to be specific).

I was hoping to find recurring problems that could actually be manufacturer related. Instead, a lot of what I AM seeing, are people who complain about problems such as their front end alignment for example - that's something that needs occasional inspection & adjustment - on ALL cars! Road conditions & personal driving habits are more likely the culprits than the car itself.

I see comments about changing fuel filters, spark plugs/wires, tires, even stereo speakers that need replacing! Uh... people, most of this falls under ROUTINE MAINTENANCE!!! With the exception of the speakers, all of these things are parts that need to be replaced from time to time on EVERY car, made by EVERY manufacturer! As far as the speakers go, for not a whole lot of money, you can have them replaced with quality name brand aftermarket speakers that WILL last longer & sound WAY better than the stock ones anyway!

If you look in your vehicles owners manual, you will find a maintenance chart that will tell you what parts & how frequently they need to be replaced. By doing so, you will add to the life of your vehicle, & save YOUR time & the time of EVERYONE reading this.

31st Aug 2008, 18:49

I have owned a 2000 Chrysler Neon LE, from brand new. I can tell you it' the best car for reliability I have ever owned.

It gets a oil change every 5000km, and apart from that the odd air filter.

It's had about 4 sets of spark plugs, two steering rod ends, one CAT, two sets of brake pads only and is now just on its third set of tires.

I changed the time belt and the other aux belts at 172000km and that's about it.

It has just clocked 272000km and is still just as nippy and great on gas.

I am giving it to my son now as a starter car. I hope it works for him.

Congratulations to Chrysler, a job well done. If the car died today, I would still be happy with the service. "It did the job".

12th Sep 2008, 11:26

My 5 speed 2000 Neon is a monster. Runs in New York winters no problem with some abused snow tires I picked up for $40.

Aside from routine maintenance items like:

Spark plugs

Oil changes


Brakes and the usual

It's only needed 1 front control arm in its 111,000 miles.

23rd Jan 2009, 13:42

Hey, I have a 2000 Chrysler Neon LE and I just got it two months ago. I'm 16 and wanted to sell it because it's kinda ugly and not very sporty lookin. And I also thought Dodge was junk, but from these comments I got a lot of advice, and I think Im gonna keep er.

2nd Nov 2009, 16:47

I just bought a 2000 Chrysler Neon LE for $4000 with 58000 km on it, and I was wondering what to look for as far as things that will go wrong with it, and I was also wondering if I got a good deal or a bad deal?

2nd Nov 2009, 18:28

To 16:47. You probably got a pretty decent deal considering the VERY low mileage (assuming the body and interior are good). As a mechanic who has recommended the very peppy and economical Neon to friends, here are my recommendations:

1) Change to full synthetic oil immediately. It runs cooler, causes less friction and does not form sludge in the engine.

2) Install a K&N air filter. This will increase your fuel mileage and they never require replacing (just clean it every 5,000-10,000 miles).

3) Flush out the old anti-freeze, check all hoses and belts and add new anti-freeze (even with low miles the anti-freeze is 9 years old if it has not been changed).

4) Run a can or two of high-quality fuel injector cleaner through the gas tank now and every 6,000 miles or so. Also add both a can of water remover and octane booster now. This will help remove any condensation in your fuel system and also help clean everything out.

5) Check the owner's manual for required maintenance and if you aren't sure if it has been performed, do it. If it says not to change the transmission fluid, DON'T. My GM never requires fluid changes and doing so prematurely can actually HARM it. GO BY THE OWNER'S MANUAL.

I recommended a Neon to a handicapped friend in late 2001. A reliable car is very important to them because of their disability. Last week it turned 124,000 miles and has never had anything besides recommended maintenance. My last Dodge was sold in perfect running condition at 240,000 miles. It had had virtually zero problems. I hope you have equally good luck with yours. Don't be discouraged by import owners who hate domestics. The Neon is a far better car than any Japanese compact (and I've driven a Civic myself, so I know what I'm talking about).

3rd Nov 2009, 16:44

HA HA! So the YEARS of failing head gaskets and transmission replacements count as nothing? The Neon is a terrible car. Just look at the reviews on here. I've personally owned a Neon myself, and it was one of the most poorly built vehicles I've ever had. I replaced the head gasket AND the transmission twice in 83,000 miles. I've also owned three (count them) THREE Civics, and after all of them made 200,000+ miles with BASIC MAINTENANCE only, I think I'm more than qualified to say that a Civic beats out a Neon in the quality department everyday of the week.

4th Nov 2009, 18:24

Head gasket failure is virtually ALWAYS a result of allowing an engine to overheat. No Dodge (or Ford or GM) I've ever owned has EVER required a head gasket (or anything else) in over 200,000 miles of very aggressive driving. Most of the reviews on here are written by people who can't even tell you what a head gasket IS, let alone know when to stop a car from over heating. I've never had to replace a head gasket on my imports either... just every OTHER part they have. Domestics (even Neons) are far more reliable than anything from Japan now.