2003 Dodge Neon from North America - Comments

5th Mar 2006, 18:11

It doesn't sound like you know a heck of a lot about cars. I really didn't see any problem with the car in your review. The dashboard was always shaking? Oh brother, that isn't even worth whining about! You were mad because you thought it was ugly, yet for some reason you decided to buy it in the first place... Perhaps when everybody was gaping at you with mixed expressions of disgust and amusement, they were looking at you and not the car.

1st May 2006, 09:07

I've got a 2003 Dodge Neon, never had a problem with it. I don't know what or how bad you must be driving your car.. but those certainly don't sound like common problems. Btw My family all drives dodge, we have not had any issues with them. The only issue we did run into was one in which any car would recieve over an extended period of time and wear and tear on an automobile. That was covered under warranty. BTW why in the world would anyone want a GM?

1st May 2006, 15:04

To the last poster: Dodge Neons have never been reliable. Maybe a little better as time wore on... but never truly reliable.

1st May 2006, 17:00

Yeah, right, like all the bad Neon reviews here are due to lack of maintenance.

Please. The Neon is a perennial used car to avoid in Consumer Reports.

2nd Jun 2006, 19:38

"Please. The Neon is a perennial used car to avoid in Consumer Reports."

And you actually believe what CR says? Please, CR has little crediblity, go look around and you'll see what I mean.

27th Sep 2006, 16:07

I agree. Neons suck. I have a 2003 Neon and it gives me nothing but problems. It shakes and sounds like it is gonna fall apart. It overheats all the time and nobody can find the problem. Now the engine light keeps going off and on.

I have nothing good to say about Neons. It's a cheap made car, sold at a high price without thinking about human safety. I just wish I knew what they were like before I bought one.

28th Nov 2006, 22:48

I have had a 2003 Dodge Neon for almost 2 years now. It had 33,000 miles on it when I bought it. It now has about 72,000 miles on it.

About 4 months after I owned it, the engine light kept turning on and off, but no one can tell me why. It idles terribly.

About a year ago it decided to just not start at times. I got a new battery and a new starter. Not even 9 months later, the stupid thing is doing it again and every car shop tells me to tow it so they can find out what's wrong with it, but after it is towed it starts again.

I hate this car. I would not recommend to anyone to buy a Dodge Neon.

4th Jan 2007, 23:27

I've heard nothing, but bad things about Neons. And by bad things, it's not like I just hear them from everyone...it's from people who own or have owned them. My manager once owned a late 90's model, and it was so bad that she just gave it away for free. I was so close into buying a brand new one since it fell perfectly into my budget, but I've been warned about them, and I wasn't crazy about them anyway.

And about GM cars, they DO NOT suck. They have the best warranties and I'm a very proud owner of a brand new Chevy Cobalt. I've heard nothing, but compliments about them, which helped made my decision into buying one.

17th Jan 2008, 23:17

As the above poster said, the buzzzz-tick is a solenoid and it's normal. If transmission gears were grinding, the noise would be a LOT louder than that. And how in the heck is the windshield peeling off the car?! The windshield is a piece of glass, not a sticker!

GM is a joke. I had a Grand Am that spent more time in the shop chasing electrical gremlins than it did in my garage. We've had several others that were mediocre cars at best. On the other hand, my '92 Voyager is still running strong with 219,000 miles on it.

22nd Jan 2008, 22:03

I have a 2003 dodge neon se. When I bought the car it had about 35,000 miles on it, and it now has about 90,000 miles, I have owned it for 3 years (THE MILES ARE HIGHWAY MILES). The only complaint I have had with this car is the transmission. It went out about 5 months ago and cost me 2,100 to get fixed, about 2 months later the shift cable went out and cost me another 200 dollars. So needless to say I was very upset about this. I could not figure out for the life of me why the transmission would go out, and the car was only 4 years old. But other than the 2 major repairs, it's a decent car, it has even survived 2 minor car accidents... I make my regular maintence appointments with a dodge dealship some ways from my house, but they have the best prices, are very friendly, and knowledgeable about the car. I would not buy another dodge neon only because of the transmission issues I have had with the car.

3rd Apr 2009, 20:34

I had a 2003 neon RT, I'm sort of tall at around 5'11", and the bottom seat cushion felt like it was 2 or 3 inches too short... my legs would always get tired on any trip over an hour long. I thought it was just me, but I was discussing my car with a coworker who is very slim, and only 5' 6" and about 140lbs, and he had the same problem

The door panels would drum in and out when the windows went up and down, and the engine was harsh, and rough, and didn't feel peppy or powerful. The car felt heavy.

It wasn't a bad looking car, and it was fairly roomy... I got mine to use for free during a long term business assignment, but it was overall not a good experience.

I got an "RT" (not SRT) with a manual hoping it would be fun to drive, but it wasn't.

The competition makes better cars...that's why they will survive the carpocalypse, and that's why we should have let Chrysler die back in 1980.

16th Jun 2009, 18:59

I bought a 96 Dodge Neon in February of this year. I only paid $150.00 and the body looked quite nice for $150.00. Since I didn't have much money, I thought this car would be good for me since I would be doing most of the repairs.

Since then, I fixed the brake lines, changed the 4 struts. I had to change the electrical gages in the dashboard. I changed both front calipers and axles. The car leaks inside the trunk, in the back seat floor and front driver floor. I recently had to change the gas tank.

Now the gas leaks around the fuel pump. I changed the seal and it still leaks. I changed the starter and the alternator. I know these parts are just parts that needs to be changed once in a while with older vehicles, but I find that I can hardly keep up with this one.

I've driven a 1988 Pontiac Tempest for over 4 yrs. The car was given to me for free. It needed repairs now and then but not every week. I would fix something, then it would go for months before I would have to fix something else. I've had 2 Chryslers before that and I could never get them to run right. Anybody that wants to learn how to fix a car and wants a crash course and also wants to learn the hands on way, buy yourself a Dodge and in one year, you will know everything about cars. The only good thing about Dodge is that if you need parts, there are lots of them at the JUNK YARD.