Dodge Power Wagon Reviews

1975 Dodge Power Wagon Adventurer 440 CI 7.2L Gas from North America

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 440 CI 7.2L Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

An absolute beast!!

Faults:

Sediment built up in the fuel tank, surged through the fuel filter, and seized up the fuel pump.

The drag-link became loose and wore out the steering components.

Wore out the wheel bearings, which I had to special order.

These trucks in 1975-79 came with a full-time built Dana 44, which goes through bearings like a b*****d, and the 1975 does not have any grease nipples, therefore making it a bad idea to drive it through water and mud. I wouldn't recommend lifting these or running nubby tires, because it will wear out the ball joints faster than you'll burn a tank of gas.

General Comments:

This truck is an absolute tank and has never stopped surprising me. Now over 33 years old, it still out performs any new truck! I have been places in this thing that most people couldn't hike to! Mountain tops beware, the Dodge is coming!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th May, 2008

27th Jun 2008, 10:25

I purchased my W200 Power Wagon new in 1976. It has proven to be almost bullet proof. There are grease zerks for the front bearings but they must be accessed thru a hole in the front rotor. I have gone thru 2 sets in over 300,000 miles and I have traversed a lot of water and mud. The full time 4wd can easily be changed over to part time. I won't comment on fuel mileage because I don't get any with a 360 4bbl and 4sp trans. This truck has been overloaded, thrashed, over extended and sometimes abused and has never let me down. I am still running the OEM transmission and transfer case and only the second clutch. Both axles have been rebuilt/replaced once but considering where this truck has been, that ain't bad. The ride is very rough, the cab is cramped and noisy, but I would never consider getting rid of this truck.

1967 Dodge Power Wagon w200 318 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 318 V8 Manual
Most recent distance101021 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

I just don't like it

Faults:

It makes popping sounds when I drive after about 2 months of owning it.

It barely makes it up a hill.

The door handles on the inside don't work.

The windows don't roll down all the way.

General Comments:

It's fuel economic and it's fairly comfortable to drive, but I prefer Dodge over Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2007

1978 Dodge Power Wagon W150 360 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 360 Automatic
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carDodge Power Wagon

Summary:

One of the best pickups I have ever had

Faults:

I drove my 78 for 13 years and put nothing other than lube's. It was the one you see in the brochure, burgundy with black side and white spoke wheels. It had air tilt wheel and black bucket seats. I had lots of power and was not bad on gas 15-18. I liked the full time transfer case because if you get into a slick spot for example, you will not have your pickup trying to swap ends with you.

I have a 2002 2500 Ram diesel quad 4x4 5 speed now, but really miss my 78.

General Comments:

See above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2007

1974 Dodge Power Wagon 318 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1974
Engine and transmission 318 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67789 miles
Most recent distance100600 miles
Previous carChrysler 76 power wagon

Summary:

This truck does not mess around

Faults:

Well, the transmission leaks wear the shifter stickes out.

General Comments:

This truck is very reliable and does not mess around the 318 V8 engine is so powerful and you cannot kill it. I do not regret buying this truck and I will stick to my power wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2006

1967 Dodge Power Wagon W200 225 Slantsix from Italy

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 225 Slantsix Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15800 miles
Most recent distance275000 miles
Previous carDodge Dodge D100

Summary:

The only vehicle I can't kill

Faults:

Not much wrong with it. The usual repairs for an old dog.

General Comments:

Dodge boys got it right when they built this baby. I have had it 23 years now and it still purrs like new. Walks away with anything I hitch it to. This truck has pulled Stumps, Trailers, Stuck Dozers, a House, even a large barn we moved to make way for a new road. It Climbs trees, over rocks as big as a freezer, fords rivers up to the door handles, and has pushed a snow plow with snow up to the headlights like it was cruising down sleepy hollow road in summer. It has been around the World with me where ever I get stationed. Right now it is in the garage below my Villa here in Sicily half way up Mt Etna. The beaches of Guam were no challenge for its 12ft wheel base either. One day they may bury me in it, but with Gods help that may not be for some time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th October, 2005

27th Nov 2005, 21:25

What amazes me is that Dodge can/did build trucks like these - as reliable and tough as anything ever built - but the rest of their products fall apart like cotton candy. What happened?

An ex-Omni owner.

20th Dec 2005, 11:24

I also have a 1978 Dodge W200 power wagon. It will go anywhere I want to put it. And of course it will because it is not a chevy or a ford. I think dodge builds the toughest trucks in the world.

1974 Dodge Charger owner Too!

1978 Dodge Power Wagon 1/2 ton four 318 c.i. 2bbl carter from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 318 c.i. 2bbl carter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance334765 miles
Previous carDodge Power Ram

Summary:

One ugly, tuff, old goat

Faults:

I have done nothing except routine maintenance, unless I went stump jumping and accidentally tore up something.

General Comments:

My old Dodge Power Wagon just won't die!

I am extremely hard on it and have used it all its life as a farm truck.

Still running the factory engine, transmission, transfer case, and both axles.

Rusted out from the headlight to tailight, floor to ceiling, fun to drive.

Everyday driver, weekend warrior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews