1997 Dodge Ram Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Dodge Ram sport 4x4 5.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

Awesome truck

Faults:

Upper ball joints have gone a few times, but I drive on gravel all the time.

Bumpers have both rusted badly.

General Comments:

Great truck, very reliable.

Very nice looking truck. I always get comments on how nice my truck is.

Awesome to ride in, comfortable, lots of room.

Tons of power.

Still hard on fuel, but better than my last Dodge Ram.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

1997 Dodge Ram 1500 Club Cab 4x4 5.9 Magnum from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It's a decent, all around good truck

Faults:

The wheel bearing hub goes out around every 5 to 8 months.

General Comments:

The only problem I have with the truck is the wheel bearing hub assembly keeps going out about every 5 to 8 months. I have larger tires on it (31/10.5/15).I was just wondering if anyone else might be having the same problem and if so how they fixed it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. My email is kdd1234@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

16th Jan 2013, 20:22

You need to clean out the hub better to remove all the metal particles to keep them from contaminating the new bearings. Also make sure to change the races with the bearings. Old races will wear out new bearings in about that amount of time.

1997 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 5.8 lt. 360 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.8 lt. 360 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63 kilometres
Most recent distance47680 kilometres
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Very poor overall vehicle

Faults:

Brakes: The have been a constant problem since the truck was new. The calipers seized once, the rear drums warp constantly, and have been replaced three times. Brakes seize and lock if the truck has sat for a period of time (4 days plus) and when we make the first few applications the truck skids.

Steering column: The steering hub scraped when turning, had the bearings replace twice in the column.

Transmission: Had to rebuild the transmission at 34,000 KM, ($1600 CAD) torque converter locked up, and fried a solenoid in the tranny.

Transfer case: The transfer case whines, and the seals leak at least once a year, requiring new seals.

Paint: The black paint has chipped and faded severely through the years. This truck is waxed twice yearly without fail, and we are in the north west (not a lot of sun here).

Performance: Whopping 145 Horsepower from a 360 cubic inch motor is laughable (what were they thinking when they built this one?), scooters have more power. I agree the torque is impressive, but the overall performance is bad. Truck gets absoultely pathetic gas mileage (12 city, 15 highway) and the cost of gas being 1.02 /litre, you do the math!

General Comments:

This truck has been reliable, but it is not a pleasure in the least. Its plastic unrefined interior, to its faiding paint does not impress anyone anymore. I think when it was new and up to two years old it turned a lot of heads, but it quickly lost its luster. I too was impressed with the torque for off roading, but after a few transmission problems it was not nearly worth the cost ($33,000 CAD)

My friends drive chevys, and I used to own one too. I think Dodge is chevys best advertisement, I wouldn't own another Dodge if it was given to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

4th Mar 2008, 22:14

I also own a 1996 2500 4x4 ram diesel and have 280,000 miles on it, and it runs better than some new trucks.

My dad also owns a 1996 2500 2x4 ram diesel and he has 360,000 miles on it, and it still runs fine as long as you let it warm up for 2-3 minutes. But what diesel do you not have to let warm up for a little while?

Overall I give the truck a great rating. I couldn't get a more reliable truck for the same price.

1997 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance65700 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Well worth what I paid for it!

Faults:

I have had to replace the battery 3-4 times.

Stereo not worth what was paid for it.

Spark knocks with bad gas.

Paint began to peel on roof after owning it for 7 years, caught it early and repaired it before it worsened.

General Comments:

Overall the truck has been a very good buy.

Strikingly beautiful vehicle, commands attention.

Powerful truck, performs well.

I, by all means, have gotten my money's worth out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

4th Apr 2010, 00:11

Glad to hear ya have gotten your money's worth out of your truck. The Dodge Ram 1500 I bought for $2600.00 was my first truck, and haven't had any problems out of it in the three months of owning it.

5th Apr 2010, 14:29

Your both quite new to Chrysler vehicles I guess. Just give it some time, they will fail you.

27th Apr 2010, 21:09

To the one that said that Dodge will fail you. The only way the trucks will fail, is if you abuse them.

18th Feb 2013, 22:52

No way, if you can't Dodge it, Ram it. I have had so many problem with Dodge Ram 5.9s and 4.7s. They are only good for 100k, then all hell breaks loose. We should get paid to get a Dodge.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews