1998 Dodge Ram SS/T 5.9 from North America

Summary:

I'm in love with my truck

Faults:

The transmission required an overhaul (not rebuild!) at 91,000 miles. This included: speed sensor, governor, overdrive solenoid, front pump bearings and input shaft & seals; I also put in a mild performance torque converter and shift kit.

Replaced speed sensor in left rear wheel hub at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Easily the best truck (and probably best auto, period) I've ever owned!

With mild performance modifications it accelerates fast and has a top end around 150 mph.

Stock suspension, wheels and tires are beyond adequate and handling is more like a sports car that a 1/2 ton truck.

The interior is very comfortable and the stock Infinity Premium sound system approaches audiophile quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

20th Jun 2004, 17:43

Steven - Liked your comment on the Ram SS/T - I also have one a '98 white w/blue stripes. It has 65,000 on it now - bought it with 11,000 and have had no problems except battery replacement and new Goodyear II's at 60,000. I agree it is a fun and good looking truck for the money and the stereo is excellent. I get lots of comments on it and my girlfriend liked it so much she sold her 2001 Toyota RAV 4 and now drives the truck most of the time. She loves the sound and power. My best mileage so far has been about 20 per gallon - which isn't bad for a full sized truck with some power!

Take care. Jesse.

1998 Dodge Ram SLT 1500 4x4 5.9L V8 from North America

Summary:

Nice looking truck, comfortable cab but a mechanical nightmare.

Faults:

3 weeks after purchase needed right wheel bearing, 2 tie-rod ends and the power steering box replaced.

I had to replace the transmission AND transfer case 3 times and it was seemingly due for a 4th replacement when I traded it in.

Had fuel pump replaced.

Front end was also in severe disrepair when I traded it in, needed all new tie-rod ends, u-joints and traction bar.

Both front axle seals failed.

General Comments:

It's really a shame the troubles I had with this truck.

Truck was very comfortable inside and a gorgeous truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

8th Jul 2004, 12:19

I own a 1999 Dodge RAM 1500 4x4 pickup and agree that it is beautiful, a smooth ride, but a a mechanical nightmare. The vehicle has just 39,400 miles, but within the past 9 months:

..AC Condenser replaced

..AC valve replaces

..Evaporator System replaced

..Dash cracked in 4 places

..Left front tire split (original tire)

1998 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport 5.2 Liter from North America

Summary:

One of the best trucks out there

Faults:

Top of steering wheel has started to wear.

Cat converter went out at 154,000 miles.

Very slight stumble (hardly noticeable) when accelerating from a complete stop.

The track bar wore out at 152,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very comfortable truck. There's more interior space than other trucks of the same era.

Great styling.

Gets good mileage. About 17 highway, 15 in town.

One of the best trucks I've ever had.

My only complaint is that I was just in a minor front end collision, and trying to find a Sport front bumper and the 4" fog lights is tough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

2nd May 2004, 15:48

Do you know what causes the "slight stumble"? Where is it coming from? My 1998 Dodge 1500 has what sounds like the same "slight stumble".

10th Dec 2009, 12:06

Did you ever find the bumpers? Restoring mine and the bumpers are rusted beyond repair. Can't find them anywhere?

17th Jul 2010, 21:34

Same. I am also looking for a replacement front bumper due to rust. Can't seem to find them anywhere.

1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.2 from North America

Summary:

Nice truck, but expensive

Faults:

Glutton for punishment as I own a 1998 5.2L and a 1999 5.9L Dodge Ram 1500.

To date these are the problems I have experienced with the 1998 Ram Sport, extended cab.

55,000 - AC evaporator replaced Self Repaired $300, Dealer wanted $890+

57,000 - Back-up switch defective $28+ Self Repaired.

69,000 - Output speed sensor replaced, Dealer Repaired $200+

69,900 - Surge Problem, Occurs at any speed 40, 50, 60. Cruise Control On or Off. Occurs when engine is cold or hot, idle is good. Tachometer varies or surges 250 to 300 RPM, no detectable acceleration. Diagnostics indicate no faults found. Problem still exists and not corrected.

70,000 - Steering Column clicking when turning. Dealer says no problem, leave as it.

75,000 - Engine would not start. The Dodge dealer could not isolate problem. However, they did find that; (1) the thermostat had a leak and (2) the "Intake manifold gasket leaks oil into valley into the engine." I was aware that Technical Service Bullitin 18-48-98, 09-05-00 had been issued. Dealer repaired $583+

94,000 - Differential replace. Dealer repaired $980+

General Comments:

Truck has a lot of response and better than my 5.9L Ram. If anyone has experienced the surge problem and solved the problem I would like to know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

28th Nov 2003, 11:45

I own a 5.9 L 98 Ram and also have a surge problem at higher speeds. It started for me only in cruise control, but now occurs in or out of cruise and at varying speeds... I find it incredible irksome and fear it may be a sign that the tranny is failing. I have read about ram's speed sensors failing and figure it may also be the throttle position sensor. That said, I am going to start by switching the fluid and see if that helps. I too wish someone knew what was causing this!