2001 Dodge Ram Reviews

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Base Model Club Cab 4x2 5.2 litre 318CI from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.2 litre 318CI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance91062 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Best truck I have ever owned

Faults:

Water pump at 79k miles.

Extremely mild oxidization beginning on passenger side bed rail (Notorious for this generation).

General Comments:

This vehicle is excellent. It has plenty of power around town, and cruises well on the freeway.

Uphill the transmission sometime won't take a hint and down shift, but this can be alleviated by a quick blip of the overdrive switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2001 Dodge Ram 1.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Poorly made, poor service, poor dealership

Faults:

Engine blown at 50,000+ miles after above recommended maintenance.

General Comments:

5-star techs repeatedly found sludge to tar type oil.

I questioned them over and over as to the cause. first they said oil wasn't changed enough. I proved differently. then it was the low grade oil I used. valvoline? they continued patch work. this took place over 2 years. finally after the last repair oil pressure dropped. and engine blew.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2006

12th Nov 2006, 20:42

This was obviously a dealer problem. The tar type gook in the engine generally indicates a leak of coolant in very minute quantities into the engine. Your dealership was too lazy to fully check for small leakages in gaskets or coolant passages. As for oil, ANY oil easily forms gook and sludge unless it is synthetic. I wouldn't drive any of my vehicles 5 miles with non-synthetic in it regardless of the oil brand. Non-synthetic Valvoline will form sludge too. In your next vehicle immediately change to synthetic oil as soon as the vehicle has 5000 miles on it. My 1990 Dodge Omni went 240,000 miles with ZERO engine problems. Chrysler generally builds great stuff. I'm sorry you got a one-in-a-million bad one.

13th Nov 2006, 02:54

That's why you go exactly by what the owners manual says.

2001 Dodge Ram SLT Larime 1500 Quad Cab 5.2L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Decent value for the money so far

Faults:

Transmission failed at 36,600 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is used ver lightly and has never towed a thing. only 38,000 miles in over 5 years of ownership. At 36,600 miles the transmission failed and had to be rebuilt. Conveniently only 600 miles after the warranty expired. A transmission should NEVER fail at 36,600 miles. The dealer was able to work with me though and do a $2000 repair for only $225. Dealer has always been great, but not sure about the build quality. We'll see how it hold up for the next 36,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

2001 Dodge Ram 4 x 2 Sport Quad Cab 5.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Built Ram Tough

Faults:

Computer controller for transmission was replaced under warranty. Oxygen sensor was replaced, cost $300.

General Comments:

This is my first pick-up. Transmission controller took 2 visits to properly diagnose. The dealer took care of me and actually replaced controller after warranty had expired. When Oxygen sensor went bad the truck would still run so I could get it in for service. I am very pleased with the quality of this truck. I have had no other problems. One $300 repair in 90k miles is acceptable to me. I got 60,000 miles out of the Michelin tires and put the same back on. I have not done anything other than routine fluid changes. I'm still on original brakes even. No pulsation from brake pedal. I have pulled 8,500lbs of boat on flat terrain with no problems. Filled the bed with oak and dirt, it just doesn't care. This truck has been great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Chrysler is on the right track, get the bugs worked out and this car is a good one

Faults:

Won't run on unleaded fuel, must use mid grade.

Struts have been replaced twice, although the vehicle has 103,000 miles on it.

General Comments:

This car has never left me stranded.

The drive train could use some work, but nothing that causes danger while driveing.

The interior on the car is comfortable.

Have had some air conditioning problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 4X2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Bad transmission at 7500 miles!!!

Faults:

The transmission went at 7500 miles. It actually started to slip at around 5000 miles, but wasn't diagnosed until it went in for service. Dodge is known for their poor transmissions.

Frequent electrical problems. Interior lights keep burning out.

Front-end suspension replaced at 19000 miles. Vehicle was never in any accidents or taken off road.

Air condition compressor occasionally fails to turn on. This problem is intermediate and difficult to prove. But when it's 90 degrees outside and the A/C doesn't work you'll know it!

General Comments:

This is actually a work vehicle I'm reporting on thankfully. The vehicle isn't run that hard and is maintained to factory specifications.

The truck has decent power for a V6 powered full-sized pickup. However 2 wheel drive trucks always seem to have a little more pep than their 4X4 counterparts.

The bench seat is actually relatively comfortable. However the interior seems to be made out of cheap material.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

11th Jun 2006, 00:30

I have had my 2001 dodge ram truck for about a year now I bought it used and it is in perfect condition at 52000 miles still runs strong. no transmission prob at all. I totally disagree.

2001 Dodge Ram Sport 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carDodge Power Wagon

Summary:

Good looks and plenty of power

Faults:

The truck sustained major body damage during recreational four wheel driving.

General Comments:

Despite undergoing many modifications, I am assured of the truck's overall quality as a stock vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

2001 Dodge Ram 4x4 Quad Cab Off-Road SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.9 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7300 miles
Previous carBMW 325i

Summary:

The Dodge Ram has excellent styling, a comfortable interior, agile steering, and a dependable engine

Faults:

Nothing.

A minor squeak in the rear of the bed at 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

My first truck ever, I didn't know what to expect from a truck.

The new Dodge Ram has excellent body styling, pulling power, and interior comfort.

Except for a minor squeak from the rear of the bed when the body torques - I have no complaints and wouldn't hesitate to buy this same vehicle if I had the option to do it all over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

5th Jan 2001, 17:02

If your truck has a towing package then it has two sets of leaf springs in the rear end. The squeaking noise is when the upper set of springs hit the stabilizers and begin holding weight. A bit annoying but completly normal. You can try greasing the rubber pieces on the stabilizer.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews