2006 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2006 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram Hemi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

The 10 worst cars and trucks of 2007 came out today and Dodge and Chrysler were the FIRST 5

Faults:

Brake trouble, Computer trouble, Dealer has trouble with front end and tires are wearing on inside. Seats springs are making popping noises.

General Comments:

I made a mistake and purchased my first Dodge truck in 2006 because the price was CHEAP little did I know the whole truck was CHEAP. I can't trade it because I would never get in trade for what I now owe! The resale value of this truck stinks, I paid 20,000 in 2006 and in 2007 the Ford dealer would only offer me 13,000 in trade and all car lots say 13,000 is the NORM for this Dodge. So today I'm reading the paper and notice the 10 worst cars and trucks of 2007 were published, Dodge vehicles made the "FIRST 5"! Lessons learned the hard way!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

23rd Nov 2007, 10:49

Yeah I see where you are coming from, Dodge trucks have the lowest resale value of all trucks and it has been that way for about 60 years. The Kelley Blue Book trade in value of a Dodge 2006, SL, truck with the 4.7 V8 and 20,000 miles today is only $10,115; a huge loss from what most people paid at the dealer. If you take a look on ebay, people are getting triple for Chevys and Fords compared to the Dodge trucks. You could take a 2003 Chevy S-10 to a dealer and get more for your trade than a 2006 Dodge... it stinks, but that is reality.

The Chrysler Sebring has the lowest resale value of all vehicles, I read an article in Car & Driver magazine about it, and it said if you paid like 28,000 in 2005 for a new Sebring today, it would be worth about 7,000 in trade in value... that's why you can go to a dealer and buy a 2005 or 2006 Sebring for around 10,000 to 12,000 easy.

2006 Dodge Ram Pickup Rumble Bee Hemi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet K2500

Summary:

I will never own another Dodge truck again! PERIOD!

Faults:

This is my first Dodge truck and my last! Brakes have been replaced on the rear TWICE! The third time they replaced the whole rear axle. Transmission slips when it shifts from 2nd to 3rd. The interior is cheap and plastic. The truck only has 15000 miles on it and it uses a 1/2 quart of oil about every 1000 miles. I have had Chevys and GMC's in the past and plan to trade this dodge for one in late 2007 to get this piece of junk off my hands.

General Comments:

Nothing good to say, It looks sporty, but its nothing, but junk! The 5.3 GM motor is a heck of a lot better than the overrated HEMI!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2007

12th Sep 2007, 21:11

Your Chevy dealer will only allow you about $2,500 for it on trade-in. I'll give you that for it, and do you the favor of taking it off your hands. Want to give it to me?

14th Sep 2007, 16:57

This is a good truck. I haven't had to replace anything. I would much rather take a 5.7 HEMI down the strip than a 5.3 Chevy. No contest there.

2006 Dodge Ram Pickup TRX 4x4 QCab 5.7 Hemi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Excellent, fun, well performing truck that looks great and drives better

Faults:

Had 3 Service Recalls - Passenger seat belt and airbag, and Wheel Bearings.

Had latch on center console (I have bucket seats) stick and they replaced the entire console. Pwr steering pump rusted on outside very quickly.

General Comments:

Truck is very roomy inside and engine very, very responsive and quick. 4WD works great. Definitely need better tires than those that come on the truck when new if you plan on doing any type of offroading. The original tires gum up very, very quickly. Truck handles very easily and love it compared to a friends brand new Chevy Z71 (which has little power and steering response is like a tank). Truck is very smooth riding and pulls my Ranger boat like a dream. Excellent power and ease when in 4Low pulling boat up a steep ramp. Gas mileage sucks at todays prices, but is in line with this size of truck. If I stay out of it, I can get 13.7MPG city and 16 hwy. Forced them to give me no additional charge a spray in Line X bed liner before I bought it and love it. Would like to have had bump rails on doors as they already have dings from parking lots. Wish serious factory installed radio came with CD Changer or MP3 playing capability. Would like to have had rear air like Chevy, but front vent cools rear down well over little time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2007

2006 Dodge Ram Pickup 3500 Larime Regular Cab 5.9 Cummins from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.9 Cummins Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Will buy many more

Faults:

The clutch slave went at about 10,000 miles, but still got me home and through two more days of work before part came in.

General Comments:

This truck cannot be beat, the power is incredible the only vehicle that will truely pull ANYTHING (25,000+ pounds up a boat ramp (I am a boat hauler) ). Just do not go far with that kind of weight. The interior is... well great, heated leather seats. Satalite radio, 6 disc CD it is like a Mercedes. This truck has gotten many many positive comments and it convinced a diehard Ford man to go Dodge and a GMC fan.

The only down side is Chrysler can be a little difficult. And they discontinued the Laramie package in the regular cabs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2007

2006 Dodge Ram Pickup 3500 6 cylinder. turbo diesel from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder. turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carChevrolet TrailBlazer

Summary:

A Great Performer for an affordable price

Faults:

Front Axle developed a small leak causing loss of lubricant during hard turns (Repaired under Warranty)

Drivers power window stopped working (Switch replaced under warranty)

Hook Latch DISAPPEARED while at the Dealer for it's first service (Replaced by the dealer free of charge)

General Comments:

The engine and transmission perform seamlessly and it has more power than I ever had expected.

The redesigned interior (2006) is very nice and a big improvement over previous years.

The gas mileage is very good for a 4 door dually. I get 10-12 on the city and 12-14 on the highway.

It has a decent ride at speeds lower than 55 but it is very bouncy at highway speeds (65-90) and it doesn't take large bumps or holes in the road very well.

It has a HUGE blind-spot on both sides of the truck, even with the trailer mirrors extended.

The interior has lots of room in the front, but the back is very small for the size of the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2006

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews