1984 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE 150 318 V8 from North America


Worthy of the name Dodge


Replaced entire wiring harness and engine electrical systems.


Rust on both quarter panels, driver side door and rear fenders.

Windshield leaked.

Power windows and locks were bad.

General Comments:

There was not a mud hole this Ramcharger could not tame. The power it had was unreal.

Ran very well despite all the problems I had when I first acquired it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

1984 Dodge Ramcharger Prospector 318 from North America


A real beast of burden, but would not have it any other way


The rear main oil seal leaks

Drivers side seat frame broke

Steering gear blew up

Transmission will not shift when cold due to a torque converter drain back problem.

General Comments:

When the truck was bought there were some major issues that needed to be corrected such as the steering gear and the windshield wipers.

The truck was bought for a really good deal and although some money needs to be put in to make it what I want, the Ramcharger is by far the best that I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

5th Feb 2011, 20:25

I just bought a 1984 Dodge Ramcharger. It now has a weird sound coming from motor. I love the body style, it's a little rough, but looks nice. My sons already want my truck. It's a keep sake.

New Dodge owner.

1984 Dodge Ramcharger 360 CI from North America


Have owned every model...Chevy. Ford. even Mazda... Nothing but a Goat for me!!!


The only things that have gone wrong since I replace the Motor is merely and Oil Pump and Oil Pump Shaft.

General Comments:

This Truck has been awesome. I picked it up for next to nothing.

Put a motor in after purchase, replaced the 360 with another 360.

All of the drive train was more than perfect when I purchased the Truck from the lot.

I have put nearly 25,000 miles on it and it has only needed an oil pump replacement and the Oil Pump Shaft.

Don't ever Try to take this truck away from me...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

1984 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE Prospecter 360 V8 from North America


Ram this charger...if you want a new car


Other than normal service such as, oil changes, brakes, and new tires. Nothing has gone wrong!

General Comments:

I have had this wonderful truck for a year now.

I am the second owner.

The truck was well cared for before I took ownership of it.

This truck drives like new and acts like new without any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

12th Sep 2011, 00:59

I also have the same Ram.. She has 239,000 miles on her, and I would drive it to the east coast from Oregon and never have a second thought.

Got it out of a field from an elderly farmer for 100.00, and threw a tune up, battery and tires on it.

In the past 12 years I have had it, hardly anything more than tune up, fuel pump, alternator.. small stuff.

I will have my Ramcharger till I die! And it will probably out last me!!

I have a 2006 GMC Sierra diesel, I drive my Ram... people think something's wrong with me, because I love my Ram and prefer to drive it.. Oh well. Maybe I do have some screws loose, but not in my Ram!!!

1984 Dodge Ramcharger Royal 150 5.9 (360 ci) from North America


This is the best hunk of sheet metal and grease I have ever laid my eyes on!


I replaced the carburetor when I first acquired my Ram.

The power windows and door locks were completely shot.

The factory stereo and speakers had to be replaced for maximum enjoyment.

General Comments:

This is the meanest vehicle I've driven. I get tons of respect in traffic.

Plenty of room for extracurricular activities or groceries.

Great shift-on-the-fly 4-wheel drive and offroading capabilities.

Chicks dig this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

1984 Dodge Ramcharger Custom 318 5.2 from North America


Desert storm tank without the big gun


I have replaced most of all the engine compartment.





Intake gasket

All sensors

All electronic components

Seats (got to heavy for them)



General Comments:

This is a great truck for the wife.

Having the safety of a tank without the ammo.

Drives like it owns the road, and the road treats the truck the same.

Plenty of cargo space with the comfort of a car.

One of a kind truck without anything else on the road like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

1984 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE Prospector 318 5.2L from North America


Dedicated Ford and Chevy guys don't know what they're missing


Air check valves.

Water pump.

2 broken hubs.

1 leaf spring.

3 ball joints, and it's all due to the extreme 4x4'ing I do with my completely stock truck.

General Comments:

I keep up with Hummers, on a course designed for the Hummers on the local army base.

I love my Ramcharger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2000