1985 Dodge Ramcharger 4x4 5.2 V8 from North America


Anvil Tough


Rear Brake Line went out

Flat Tire.

General Comments:

I traded a computer and $100 for this truck. I got it for off-road use. It runs excellent. It starts almost instantaneously. The transmission is buttery smooth. The steering has some play, but it is tolerable. It uses some oil and a lot of gas. Trail mileage has been about 6 mpg. Nothing has broke yet except the brake line. It is awesome on the trails. The truck is a tight fit on some trails, but it will go through just about anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

20th Jan 2004, 04:37

The truck is extremely tough and yes if you point it, it will go. Oh I have hung mine more than once, but only when all 4 tires are off the ground. Currently I have 230,000 miles on "Rambuctious" and the body looks like it's been to Iraq and back, but when I turn the key and put it in drive it always goes.

1985 Dodge Ramcharger Sport Edition 5.9L. Small-block from North America


An unstoppable, thirsty, off-road beast


The fan has fallen apart twice, also taking out the radiator and fan shroud.

The carburetor needs a rebuild.

The insides of the muffler are broken, causing a nasty rattling noise.

The transfer case shifting fork wore out, causing the transfer case to slip out of gear and grind. (I abused it in 4-Lo.)

U-joints, starter, alternator, basic maintenance.

General Comments:

People are always surprised at the size of the inside when they climb in.

This truck is mammoth and slow, but once it gets moving (like in mud or snow) it is unstoppable. (Watch out Geo Metros who dare to cut me off.)

With a 4" lift and 35" tires, this truck sits high than any other at my school. Even higher than the rich boys whose mommies and daddies buy them brand new trucks and get them lifted ten inches.

I love camping in this truck. I removed the back seat and it leaves plenty of room for a mattress and all of the luxuries.

Last year, during hunting season, I pulled a Suburban with chains on all four tires from being stuck, and I hadn't even engaged my 4wd yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1985 Dodge Ramcharger 5.2L V8 318cid from Iceland


Reliable, comfortable and affordable


The only thing that has broken In my car is the fuel pump. Everything else is original and in perfect working order.

General Comments:

Although I find the car slow it's serious fun to drive, it's rugged, big and bad. It has lots of space and is very comfortable and easy to drive. The vehicle gets me where I want to go and can take serious mistreating. The fuel mileage is good for a car of that caliber

I love this car and I'm going to keep it forever:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

10th May 2004, 01:04

I own an '88 Ramcharger and I love it. The Ramcharger is Rugged, beefy and comfortable and that just the suspension. I love this Great truck.

1985 Dodge Ramcharger Royal SE Prospector 318 V8 from North America


Big, ugly and tough, like me


The battery has been replaced three times.

The alternator was replaced once.

The power door locks and windows failed shortly after acquisition.

The air conditioning has never worked.

The driver's seat was not securely bolted to the floor.

The radiator has a pin-hole leak.

The front U-joint was replaced.

The tires have been replaced twice.

The door weather-stripping is worn and leaks.

General Comments:

Actually, I really love this truck. It's old and beat-up, but it's a tank. The Ford Explorer that rammed me in the right side totaled it's front-end. I've got a dent in my right door! It's the most comfortable vehicle I've owned (I'm 6'4", 300 lbs), and has been relatively reliable. It's easy to fix when it does break down. Parts are very cheap and plentiful. I can do most repairs myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

5th Apr 2003, 23:53

Nice review on the Ramcharger, I would have to agree with durability of the truck. I would also like to add that it is one of the more comfortable vehicles I have been in(a 6'5" 300lbs. man myself). I am intrested to see the popularity of these trucks.

10th Jan 2004, 08:43

I have a Ramcharger that I bought 4 years ago in Tucson. The dealer told me it was a FBI vehicle previously, and then sold to a Air force jet mechanic, before sitting in his lot for about 2 years. It started right up. I love this truck, it now has over 300,000 miles and I run my wood flooring business out of it. Things I've had replaced: both axels, you joints, front and rear shocks, a water pump, and the radiator. I am in new england and the current cold snap has given this car fits. I'm pretty sure that my water pump just went.