1988 Dodge Ramcharger LE 318 ci 5.2L from North America


Best truck ever produced


Driver's side door leaks on new stereo system speaker.

Gets very low gas mileage everywhere.

Not very quick on acceleration, but can pull anything.

Nobody pulls out in front of you.

Head liner is gone.

General Comments:

All and all, the Ram Charger is the best SUV out there.

It is my first car; it is fun to work on, and see what kind of awesome classic truck I can turn it into.

I've always wanted one, and I finally got one and all the guys at school laugh at it, but I just challenge them to off road contest, and every time my truck pulls me through, and sometimes pulls them through too.

I look forward to turning this piece of art into the cowboy Cadillac I've always wanted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2007

1988 Dodge Ramcharger LX 318 cu.in. from North America


Reliable if it would stop shutting itself off


1988 Dodge 4x4 engine stops running ever so often, without notice. Then it will not re-start for awhile (periods vary).

Have replaced fuel filter several times and problem continues.

Any thoughts of why this occurs?

General Comments:

I also tend to replace steering parts and u- joints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2007

1st Mar 2009, 18:39

My 87 was doing the same thing 6 days ago. It was one of 2 things that fixed it. First thing was the solenoid on the fire wall near the battery; the plugs were rusty and corroded. I cleaned them and put them back on and the truck wouldn't start or do anything until I pushed the plugs in real tight. And as I was checking all around, I found a fuel hose near the tank had a small hole in it, so it was sucking air. Well I haven't had the problem yet.

9th Oct 2010, 16:18

Probably the pickup coil.

1988 Dodge Ramcharger 150 LE 318 f.i. from North America


Lots of torque, but low top speed


I think the E.G.R. valve has gone.

The valve cover gasket leaks.

Sometimes idles out of control. (4000RPM's!!!).

Rust down low on the quarters and fenders.

The tail gate doesn't close easily.

Front left leaf spring sags.

Sometimes hesitates under acceleration.

General Comments:

This truck is awesome. It goes anywhere. The steering is like a car. Just put in new platinum plugs. This thing is as tough as a tank on steroids. 4x4 shift on the fly is great. The posi in the back is awesome. It has a plow and boy does it plow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

9th May 2005, 13:32

I have almost the same exact problems as you did. My 1988 Ramcharger is 318 3speed w/granny gear. It's great Off-road, I've put a lot of money into the truck, but it worth it all. I'm not worried about the looks, If the engine doesn't work right whats the point of it looking good. I'm saving now for a 8" lift. I'll have enough this summer then I'm going to hit the big trails. Plans for tires are Super Swamper Boggers.

22nd Jun 2005, 10:59

My 1979 dodge ramcharger has a similar acceleration problem. The funny thing is that when in town the truck run at about 40%, but put her in four low and she runs at about 60%. I have yet to get the beast stuck running bad I still can't get it stuck. I LOVE MY TRUCK. If you have a ramcharger, it may suck gas like no tomorrow, but keep it you won't regret it come winter. That truck can make you so much money in the winter time it will practically pay for it's self and repairs.

1988 Dodge Ramcharger Basic 318ci V8 w/TBI from North America


A great truck imported assembled in Mexico by Dodge


Replaced distributor pickup 4 times. Replaced computer 3 times. Repaired the steering column sliding joint 2 times to remove steering free play. Chrysler sells a kit to do this. Replaced fuel pump, throttle position sensor, fuel pressure regulator, EGR valve and the speakers in the doors got wet when the plastic covers cracked from age.

Currently needs an idle speed control motor because the engine will not fire after every 3rd or 4th start without resetting the idle speed stepper motor by disconnecting the electrical connector.

Vinyl driver's seat cushions are cracking.

Headliner is sagging.

General Comments:

God, I love this truck! I have been from North Carolina to Florida, Atlanta, Notre Dame U., usually towing a 24 ft sailboat. I hit an ice patch on the road one winter and wound up across a ditch, 100 yds into a muddy, plowed field. I got out and did a walk-around, then put it in FWD and drove out of the field, across the ditch and on my way.

I like the size of this monster. It weighs 5000 lbs! People don't pull out in front of you very often. There's lots of room for five people and/or baggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

9th Apr 2005, 10:59

Got any pictures???

23rd Jul 2009, 21:06

The 6400 you saw on the sticker is GROSS vehicle weight.

That is the max weight of the truck, fuel, passengers, cargo.

1988 Dodge Ramcharger LE 150 5.2 L, 318 cid from North America


The toughest SUV out there!


I have replaced the water pump.

The radiator has been replaced.

The steering shaft and steering gear have both been replaced.

At 136,000 miles my factory exhaust was just replaced with a dual exhaust, with glass pack mufflers.

Other than that, just wear and tear stuff.

General Comments:

I love the truck, it is the best vehicle I have owned. It is very reliable, it has never let me down or left me hanging somewhere. All and all, it's just a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

21st Jan 2002, 20:38

I have a 1988 AW150 4X4. It is built strong, but I have had a LOT of problems with it.

Had to replace:

Steering gear twice

Front and rear ring axle shafts

Front rotors and hubs 3 times

AC compressor just went

Going to replace the timing chain for the 2nd time in 45,000 miles

And the list goes on.

Not sure if it is just my truck, but I think it might just be a lemon.

On the plus side it is great in the snow when it is working.

10th Mar 2006, 12:54

I also had an 88 with 318 fuel injection, and my father's 40 hp 1929 model A had better acceleration. but, regardless of conditions, it always performed. I sold it for parts (it rusted out) and bought a 1978 with a 4 speed and a 360, and the difference was night and day. the 78 was built in Detroit rather than Mexico, and it seems better put together. it has far fewer problems, and is all-around a better truck. better mileage, better acceleration, WAY more power, better traction, and it a convertible. Dodge makes awesome trucks!