1995 Dodge Spirit 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Most reliable car I've owned

Faults:

Replaced ball joints at 75,000 miles.

Radiator at 85,000.

Fuel pump relay at 120,000 miles.

Driveshafts at 125,000 miles.

Everything else has been normal wear items like brakes, belts, hoses, etc.

Original stainless exhaust still in tact.

General Comments:

Not a real refined car, but has only let me down once when the fuel pump relay quit working. Good mileage for a 6 cyl. (26-32 mpg)

Car is easy on tires and batteries. 84,000 miles from last set of tires, replaced original battery last winter!!

Headlights are not the best, A/C is losing capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2005

12th Jun 2005, 02:41

If that is the most reliable car you have owned then hopefully one day you will have the money for a real car. and with only 135K on it those problems you stated mean the car is actually horribly unreliable.

8th Aug 2005, 10:03

You are actually very lucky I have the same car and had to start making those repairs at around 35,000 miles. This car has been the worst thing that I ever bought. The air conditioner stopped working the first year, and requires being fixed every 3 months if I want to use it.

25th Aug 2005, 13:19

I have a 1992 Dodge Spirit and can't get the fuel system working on it again. It appeared that the fuel pump went out. My first thought was that the fuel pump relay went out, however I couldn't find reference to it in either manual that I purchased. Plus a local auto parts store told me that the relay was most likely part of the fuel pump assembly. After replacing the fuel pump because it appeared to be not working, I was surprised when it still wouldn't work. No one seems to know where the fuel pump relay is located! I've called auto parts stores, dealerships, and local repair shops. The only relays that I can find on the entire car are located by the battery. Does anyone know anything about the fuel pump relay for this car? Please e-mail any advice to x0ml@yahoo.com. Thanks.

Mark.

1995 Dodge Spirit Base 3.0 six cylinder from North America

Summary:

This car is a tank! V6 power!

Faults:

Other than the high miles, nothing has ever gone wrong with this car! Extremely reliable!

General Comments:

Want a tank? Get a Dodge Spirit. I was lucky to get a 1995 with a V6. It has the rock solid 3-speed automatic, not the troublesome 4-speed overdrive transmission.

The car is very comfortable, All the climate control systems work like new, even the air conditioning! The car is a box, but is very roomy.

The engine is the 3.0 V6, and it's a fast one! In fact, I've gotten several speeding tickets due to that peppy engine!

Looking for an economical family sedan? Look no further than the Dodge Spirit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

1995 Dodge Spirit from North America

Summary:

A good running dependable car

Faults:

The Paint started peeling after about 5 years.

General Comments:

This car is roomy not overly expensive and runs very well.

It's a pretty good car for a family just starting out on their own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

1995 Dodge Spirit Sedan 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

This car sucks canal water!

Faults:

Head blew at 89,000 and again at 109,000 and again at 124,000. Poor design no the engine (aluminum head on a steel block).

Never buy Chrysler again...ever!

General Comments:

Dodge is the worst auto manufacturer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

13th Jan 2004, 22:27

Next time you have a head gasket replaced, ask for, and make sure you receive, the Mopar high performance head gasket. These gaskets are of a much higher quality than the cheap OEM's. It should last the life of the car.

1st Jun 2010, 09:54

I like my Dodge Spirit and my Plymouth Acclaim. They are cheap semi-reliable transportation.

The head gaskets go at 90k like clockwork. The cost to repair isn't that bad considering. Chrysler uses crap parts in most of their vehicles, but the prices used are almost too good to pass up?

As for a previous comment about using Mopar gaskets to replace another Mopar gasket, what kind of logic is that?

1st Jun 2010, 14:24

Didn't you realize he was talking about a "high performance" vs. a regular part?

6th Jun 2011, 11:22

I had the head gasket done on my Spirit recently. I compared the 3 top gaskets available. The Fel-pro which is nick-named "fail-pro" was the flimsiest of the three, the Victor Reinz/Dana was much better construction/feel and the Mopar Performance was clearly the best of the three.

In boxing terms the Fel-pro would be a light weight, the Reinz would be a middle weight and the MP would be the heavy weight.

I used the MP, would have been satisfied with the Reinz and not been happy with the Fel-pro. If your mechanic used Fel-pro gaskets, which are highly regarded by most mechanics, I'm not surprised you had multiple failures. Their design is out dated on this family of engines.

1995 Dodge Spirit 2.5 from North America

Summary:

A good car

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong, it is a very reliable car so far.

Comfortable and I find it good looking. Roomy, far from being luxurious but I think is OK for someone without big expectations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

4th Mar 2001, 12:03

I'll be getting my first car in about 2 months. I'm pretty sure my dad is getting me a 1995, white, 4-door Dodge Spirit. Since I'm 16, I'd really rather have something a little more sporty, but I hear that a Spirit is a good car. I guess I should just be happy with what I get.