Dodge SRT-4 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Dodge SRT-4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carAcura RSX

Summary:

Great fun, but won't last past 50K miles

Faults:

Wheel alignment has gone out several times.

Too many squeeks and rattles, typical dodge.

Interior fit and finish below standards in comparison to its competitors, typical dodge.

Fast, but absolute lousy handling, again typical dodge.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick and can blow away most if all V8s you encounter on the roads.

Most people think its just a neon, but it's a sleeper.

Image is lousy, neon. Civic and Corolla have a better image.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

14th Jan 2005, 01:38

This car is definitely on my next buy list...

8th Mar 2005, 10:41

What kind of an image does a Civic have? When I think Civic I see a coffee can tailpipe with an aftermarket wing. Wow, what an image...

8th Mar 2005, 11:51

You better not wait around if you want a new one.

The Neon, and the SRT-4, will end production this summer.

2004 Dodge SRT-4 2.4 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dakota

Faults:

Other than a faint gas smell , nothing.

General Comments:

Great sub compact, quick and nimble.The after market for this rocket is awesome. The need for speed is addicting and Chrysler knows it! 2000.00 will get you into the 12 's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

26th Sep 2005, 14:25

No problems other than a faint smell of gas?!?! That usually means there is a leak somewhere which could lead to a fire or an explosion. That is not a confidence inspiring problem. Good luck to you...

2004 Dodge SRT-4 Base 2.4 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83 miles
Most recent distance903 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

Seriously outperforms its compitetors

Faults:

Shift knob popped off.

General Comments:

This car is awesomely fast and handles great. The power it displays is far beyond what I expected. Forget what everyone says about it being good for the money. It outperforms cars that cost over $15,000 more than it.

The interior is actually quite nice and the fit and finish is great. The stereo is decent, and the gages are very easy to read due to the white-face style.

However, the shifting is a bit rough, as it can be difficult to quickly move through the gears. Dodge says it's a short-throw, and it is, but it is one of the longest short-throws I've ever driven. That being said, the tranny is very precise, and you cannot miss a gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

2003 Dodge SRT-4 2.4 liter 4 cylinder turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired370 miles
Most recent distance900 miles
Previous carDodge SRT-4

Summary:

An affordable, high quality pocket rocket

Faults:

No trouble so far, but I got the car less than a month ago.

General Comments:

A car to be considered for anyone looking into a mid-range performance sedan. Stiff competition for the Subaru WRX to be sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

3rd Aug 2004, 18:13

The SRT-4 is far the best car for the money. I'm sorry to say... well not really, but the SRT-4 blow the Subaru WRX out of the water by a long shot.

30th Sep 2004, 18:47

WRX is stiff competition due to AWD and Handling over the SRT-4. I bought my SRT simply because I couldn't come up with the extra 5000 for a comparably equipped WRX.

2003 Dodge SRT-4 2.4 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Finally an American auto manufacturer turbo's a car

Faults:

CD player made a clicking noise, but was fixed by the dealer, that's about it for now.

General Comments:

On uneven freeways like the 710, the car will "hop" because of the stiff suspension, which isn't that bad.

The car has some body roll on tight turns, which could be remedied with a little lowering.

My biggest disappointment is the turning circle - it sucks!

Other than these small issues, the car is awesome. I should have waited for the 2004 SRT4 since that one will include LSD, the 2003 was a one wheel wonder. The engine was made in Mexico, but is still better than sending my money overseas... although pretty much every electronic I have was made in Japan - I guess I'm a hypocrite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

3rd Sep 2003, 21:08

A little bit of history:

Dodge has made more turbocharged cars than any other manufacturer, let alone brand. Between 1983 and 1992, it was very difficult for someone to order a naturally aspirated Dodge -even the K-cars had a turbo option.

12th Mar 2004, 19:38

Yeah that would be something to see. An Aries-K Turbo...lol.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews