1992 Dodge Stealth Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1992 Dodge Stealth ES 3.0 litre 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

The best bang for your buck under $10k

Faults:

My fuel pump sending unit blew the second day I owned the car. Not discouraged, I shopped for the part. Dealer costs were over $800 Canadian, and after market was still around $400, so I went for a $185 used part.

The power steering motor valve went, and it only cost $21 to fix.

Other than that... I have to get the radiator re-cored this month and the front brake pads replaced. This summer I am going to have the timing belt done.

General Comments:

I am in love with my Blue Dream.

It is the best car I have ever owned plain and simple. She is fast, and due to her low profile and wide tires, handles like she is embracing the road on every curve, no matter what the speed.

More room than I expected in the trunk, but not a lot.

If you like REAL SPORTS cars and love to drive, this is the car for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

23rd Nov 2007, 20:53

I have been the original owner of a 1992 stealth es (metallicic sand color). I have kept it in great condition (its at 240,000 miles on the second engine). I was drawn to the car by its lines. The car is still fun to drive, even though I have bought a second "boring commuter car". The Stealth still turns heads especially after I wax it.

I really enjoyed seeing all the Stealth reviews and especially the Blue Stealth es.

CG.

1992 Dodge Stealth R/T 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Quick, fun and unreliable

Faults:

The ball joints went bad so I took them in to get replaced, but Chrysler doesn't make after market Stealth parts, so the salvage yard wanted $450 for each ball joint.

The clutch went out.

The leather on the steering wheel, seats, and shifter knob wore badly.

The alternator went bad.

The ignition went out.

The suspension went bad.

General Comments:

This was a very nice car from what I saw, but when I took it in to the mechanic I realized I bought a lemon. Very quick and handles awesome. Very fun car to drive, with comfortable seats. Everything was pretty good other than the fact that it is really expensive to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

25th May 2003, 00:49

In the future check with Mitsubishi and other after-market parts dealers before you opt for the salvage yard. I replaced my ball joints for an average of less than $200 a piece on my '93 Stealth R/T.

8th May 2004, 08:13

I sell ball joints for this car online for $45.00 a piece. These are fun cars, but high maintenance.

27th Jan 2008, 18:00

There usually only high maintenance when theres a lot of miles on them, plus there almost considered a classic.

I got both ball joints done on the front end for approx 1/2 that price installed using aftermarket ones. theres plenty of online shops that sell them.

I'm not sure what you meant by "went bad" such as the suspension.

1992 Dodge Stealth Base Standard from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Standard Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A Truly Butt-Kicking yet Good Value Mid-Life Crisis Car!

Faults:

Mass Airflow Sensor failed around 100,000 miles. Expensive part, but found workaround.

Constant Velocity Joint (CV) boot ruptured at unknown mileage, discovered during routine brake job, relatively inexpensive to fix ($125 + labor for entirely new axle).

Engine Controller (master computer) failed at 133,000 miles, VERY expensive part ($1475 parts + labor), no workaround yet, but I'll figure it out.

General Comments:

This is a truly great automobile! It is 10 years old. I have owned it for 3 years and have (so far) only had to spend money on a new set of tires a year ago (normal), a new axle (cheap), new brake pads (normal), and regular oil changes. In return, it has given me loads of fun and good gas mileage (average 25 mpg) for my daily 50-mile commute.

Even though it is the base model, it is well-appointed (Alpine CD player with wraparound stereo in a 1992 model!!). The front seats are very comfortable and adjustable (I'm 6ft, 185lbs).

This car goes like a bat out of hell, even without the turbo. On my way to work in the morning, there's a 4-way stop with a "Speed Limit 40" sign along the way, the sign being about 60 feet beyond where I stop. When I'm bored, I amuse myself by doing at least 50 when I pass the sign, and that isn't even "flooring it"...just a tap on the pedal.

Speaking of acceleration, I was driving up a very steep and winding hill one day when I noticed a 7-series BMW rapidly overtaking me in the next lane. I waited until his front bumper was about even with my rear bumper, then floored it. The Bimmer driver did the same, and never passed me until I finally slacked off at 110 and let him past (I decided that 110 was fast enough on a curvy road with a limit of 45).

Again, this car hauls major butt!

Best of all, I am 45, married, with a family (wife and 2 kids), living in suburban Connecticut, and this is the most Anti-SUV, Anti-Minivan...Anti-whatever you can think of. My wife calls it my "Mid-Life Crisis Car". I always ask her, "So, should I drive this car, or run off with a young Bimbo instead?".

Downside is lack of trunk space... just enough for a discreet weekend rendezvous with one's mistress (minimal baggage), and the rear seats are a joke... just big enough for a 2-year old, and they have to be folded down to carry so much as an actual suitcase. But who really cares? This vehicle was never meant to be practical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

17th Oct 2005, 10:50

I drive a Pontiac Fiero and am planning on getting a Stealth. When you're used to having an engine in your trunk, any space is big.

2nd Nov 2006, 07:01

Why did you pay full price + a labor install on the ECU when you can buy them used from parted cars for $300, and install it yourself in 15 minutes or less? Join www.3si.org/forum and you will learn a bunch and save a ton of money on parts. We have a saying in the 3000GT/Stealth community, "Turning everyday people into mechanics since 1991."

Oh just for reference, I own a 1993 3000GT VR4 (turbo AWD model) and a 1992 Stealth RT (non turbo FWD).

6th Sep 2007, 09:51

I just got a 1992 Dodge Stealth. The car has a slight oil leak and the flex pipe of the exhaust had to be replaced. I did a burn out one day and the flex pipe was so rusted that it snapped off right before the O2 sensor. the exhaust pipe also has a hole below the the O2 sensor.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews