1995 Dodge Stratus ES V6 from North America


Worst car ever


I don't know where to begin. I have had the brakes repaired 4 times in the last 2 weeks. That was over $500.00. The transmissions had to be completely rebuilt. That was $2300.00. The transmission is still not operating properly. I was told that it is an electrical problem that only the dealer could repair. The cost to repair that 3k. There is no way I will pay that for this car. The head gasket needs to be repaired. The AC value needs to be repaired. I had to buy a new battery every year since I've had the car. I've had to replace all 4 tires twice. Then there are things wrong that no one knows what the problem is. I hate this car and will trade it in next week. I would advise anyone looking for a car not to buy a dodge.

General Comments:

The car looks better than it handles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

1st Nov 2004, 10:22

FYI...the 2.5 v6 engine and automatic trans are japanese...Mitsubishi. Most people do not know that.

1995 Dodge Stratus Base 2.0 SOHC from North America


A great bargain, for the base, if you don't want all the extras


The AC compressor has been the only major repair. This was replaced at 40000 miles at a non dealer mechanic. $300, including parts and labor.

With the manual transaxle, the "roll pin" that connects the shift linkage to the transaxle broke around 135000 miles. $2 parts, my labor to insert, 5 minutes.

Effected recalls: PCM and lower steering arms.

General Comments:

I do treat the car well. Oil, Mobil 1 only. Air filter, K&N. Plugs, Bosch platinum 4+ (100000 miles per set). Full detailing twice per year, my labor, Maguires for supplies. We've spent some time on improvements in stereo, base was good (65W X 4 + 200W sub RMS is better) and wheels (16X6.5 Konig Monsoons vs 14X6 steel stock). On cross country highway trips (the car was manufactured Aug 1995, 96 model) it averages 40 mgp. Around town, upper 20's, depending on how heavy the foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

17th May 2005, 10:48

My 95 stratus ES also just up and wouldn't start for me. Lately the engine also just turns off when I am driving and doesn't want to restart. I have had the cam and crank shaft sensors replaced, PCM reprogrammed and no one knows exactly what is wrong. Any ideas?

12th Oct 2005, 09:19

Anyone checked the electronic relays? It's a cheap fix that's easy to overlook.

28th Apr 2006, 17:55

I have a 95 stratus and the only problem I have is the thing burns more oil than gas. I have no idea where the leak is coming from. any one that knows about this please help.

1995 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4 liter from North America


Don't buy a four cylinder Chrysler!!!


Most recently, we have had the head gasket leak. It hasn't quite blown yet. It has been leaking oil down the block for about six months. I now blows water out of the tailpipe when it's hot. The seats put my backside to sleep and the offset steering wheel is quite annoying. I have put front brakes on twice and back brakes on once. The starter went out a few weeks after we brought the car home. The battery died at 78000 miles. Removal of the transmission control computer was required for starter replacement, and the left front tire had to come off to replace the battery. The battery was covered by a flimsy plastic door which leaked copious amounts of water all over the terminals.

General Comments:

There is no reason for a head gasket to fail so quickly! I've searched on the Internet and encountered many with the same head gasket problem. Don't buy a four cylinder Chrysler!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

22nd Oct 2002, 15:34

I have purchased my Dodge in Aug. 2002 and have been experiencing the head gasket problem for the past two months now. My warranty is out so it cannot be covered. Very furious at the make of this car and would never recommend it to anyone.

12th Nov 2004, 19:08

The water coming out of the tail pipe is a bi-product of the catalytic converter, which converts your carbon monoxide to carbon dioxide and water. It is normal for any car. The tell tale sign for a head gasket leaking into the cylinders is a cloud of white smoke coming from the tail pipe. Usually the check engine light will also come on because the antifreeze in the exhaust will quickly destroy your oxygen sensor. I have actually had cooling system stop leak treatment successfully stop a leaky head gasket that was leaking on the outside, down the block. I would suggest trying it, and you might get lucky. I do not know whether it would work on an inside leak (into the cylinders) or not, but I have heard that there are products out there made just for that.