1996 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America


I have fixed the head gasket twice.

I have had the water pump fixed.

General Comments:

This car is very costly to fix. Having the head gaskets fixed on this car twice was $1,600. This car is not worth it's price, there should be a recall on this car. Please be careful when purchasing a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

1996 Dodge Stratus Basic 2.4 from North America


Comfortable and good looking/but a piece of crap nevertheless..


My head gasket blew around 45,000 miles.

Air conditioner went out twice- once prior to the warranty expiring and once after, with a oil leak in cooling system.

Transmission went out around 50,000.

Problems with wheel bearings (replaced).

There was a continuous leak from underneath the floor-boards behind the driver's seat and the front passenger seat. The carpet under the mats would be soaked after a rain or when traveling through a puddle.

Sensor in the engine went out.

Brakes and rotors replaced 3 times.

Interior electrical problems (i.e..radio, power locks, fuse box).

Driver seat jiggles.

Starter problems.

General Comments:

I enjoy the size and style of the vehicle. I am a tall person, and have never felt cramped up.

I have never been left stranded or felt the car was about to quit on me.

However, I don't have any piece of mind that this vehicle is reliable. I have had so many problems with it from almost the time I drove it off the lot. Thankfully, I purchased an extended warranty when I bought the vehicle new, and it paid for itself on numerous occasions, because within the first 5 years I was constantly at the repair shop.

I am now in the 6th year, and am holding my breath, because my warranty has expired, and so far I have not had any serious problems. But I know it's only a matter of time...

I bought this vehicle because my father worked for Chrysler, and therefore I could get an exceptional deal. Next time, I will spend an extra buck and get a better car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

17th Jul 2003, 10:31

I owned my Dodge Stratus for approximately 7 years. It is a 96. Within 6 months of it's purchase, the head gasket went and had to be replaced. Fortunately, the warranty covered it. It has been down hill from that point. Here is a list of what has been done in the past 3 years:

Rotors replaced (twice), air conditioning system (the entire system) the dreaded fly wheel and now the head gasket is gone again. And yes, I just got rid of it.

1996 Dodge Stratus from North America


Roomy and great family car.


First the head gasket started to leak and I got it fixed.

Afterwards I found out that engine seal from the 2nd block was leaking, which is a major job.

Third the car ran out of front brakes pads, rotors and drum brakes in the back.

General Comments:

I would like to gather all the people who are having the same oil leaking problem so we could complain to Chrysler company and get a recall on the 2.4liter engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

24th Nov 2003, 13:07

My name is Sam from Hannibal Mo. and I have to replace the head gasket on my 2.4 stratus. I have been on the net and found a lot of people with the same problem. I have had power steering problems also. I wish Dodge would recall the gasket problem, but as much as I have read it's a lost cause. If anyone out there is putting something together for Dodge I would be happy to join them.

1996 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America


A good car if you don't mind the expensive repair bills


My front brakes and rotors have been replaced three times.

My head gasket blew twice.

The left lower Control arm was replaced once.

Hood was replaced under warranty because of rust.

The air conditioner has quit working.

There is a constant rattle in the front end that several shops have been unable to locate.

The tach and digital speedometer keeps going off and on.

Car makes a loud screeching noise when it is first started in cold weather, goes away after it has been running for a few minutes.

The front wheel bearings have been replaced twice.

General Comments:

This car has never left me stranded and has always started good.

Car handles well.

Lots of leg room in the rear seat and plenty of trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

18th Jun 2003, 09:15

These are the same repairs I needed on my 97 Stratus. Only I'm on my fourth head gasket. The rattle in the front was finally diagnosed as a loose sway bar link, that was after they said I probably needed the struts replaced. Now the air conditioner doesn't work and I've been told today that the H valve is plugged? $371 for that!!

4th Jul 2004, 21:35

My 96 stratus just hit 100,000 miles and the only problems I've had are having to replace the radiator, replacing a rear wheel cylinder ($16) and leakage in the air conditioner lines due to it hitting the alternator belt and rubbing a hole in it. So I guess all in all this has been a pretty good car so far.

11th Aug 2004, 09:38

I would have to say my opinion of the Stratus is split. While there are things I like about the car, I have had multiple problems that may me not want it any longer. It was purchased 10/28/03 (2004 RT) and it has been in the shop 7 times for repairs (Some trips with multiple issues to be repaired). It currently in need of repair on the sway bar, the sunroof and the transmission has a problem. The other complaint I have is the gas mileage is way low. I get 15.9 city and 17.9 highway (20.3 if it's a really long trip) which for a car is terrible.

I think that the interior room is good and it has some nice options available.

I would not at this point refer anyone to purchase the product based on the customer service I have received.