1996 Dodge Stratus sedan 2.4 from North America


A great bargain if you take car of the vehicle


Starter went at 70000 miles, but inexpensive to fix.

General Comments:

Check engine light stated coming on at 80000 miles on and off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1996 Dodge Stratus SE 204 from North America


Don't buy Dodge, cause you'll go broke fixing it!


The head gasket blew out at 123,000 miles.

After replacing the head gasket, problems still occurred days later.

The seal around the transmission went out at 130,000 miles.

After replacing the seal around the transmission, the torque converter went out costing a round figure of 1,700 dollars to rebuild the transmission.

I've had minor interior electrical problem.

Within 10,000 miles, I've had to had the fuel injectors cleaned and re-calibrated.

The fuel gage went crazy and started going to back and forward. The problem being the fuel pump.

General Comments:

This car caught my eye when my parents first bought it for me. I'm only 18 years old and I've learned the cost of having a automobile.

Other than the costly problem, the car has a sleek smooth look to it.

It's very comfortable, roomy in the front and back, and great trunk space.

It's been great for the little driving that I do with my friends and around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

1996 Dodge Stratus ES V6 from North America


Not much!


My engine mount failed at 55,000 miles.

My on board computer failed at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

My Stratus has received regular maintenance.

I feel that the engine mount failure is a safety issue.

According to the manufacturer the computer never fails yet mine did. I feel this is serious safety issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

1996 Dodge Stratus from North America


Singing of the Sirens


The first night it rained I ended up with eight inches of water in the front passenger floor board. This was caused by a bad seal on the windshield.

I've to take it in three times due to the driver side windshield wiper stopped working.

I've taken it in three time due to the heater not working. Each time it's been something else wrong.

There is a weird noise from the engine and the steering wheel that has never been diagnosed.

The head gasket blew at 54,000 miles.

The transmission oil is leaking.

The sunroof quit working at 40,000.

The door locks shift up and down with the "dinging", like a door is open, sound going the whole time. This happens when you drive it. Sometimes it just happens around corners, other days it goes crazy likes it's possessed. Continuously going up and down and ding, ding, ding, etc..

The front seat broke at around 50,000 miles. I have to drive with a pillow behind my back.

General Comments:

In 1998 I went searching for a mid sized, affordable, four door sedan to be used by my wife and small child. I came upon a nice looking 1996 Stratus with only 21,000 miles. I had my wife come look at it and she fell in love with this silver little car that had a sunroof, air conditioning, power windows, power locks, and a very comfortable feel. Just like the Singing of the Sirens would bring Greek sailors to their demise, so did this cute little car to us.

It has been one problem after another. As you can see by the list of problems, this car is an absolute headache. I ask myself, how is this possible for a car that only has 61,000 miles?

If I could afford to do so, I would pay to see this car crushed into a little metal cube like you see at the junkyard. Not only as a personal pleasure, but so no one else would get this car. I almost feel too guilty to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

19th Mar 2004, 21:37

The 96 Stratus rules, maybe you got a lemon. I bought mine with 135,000 miles everything still works, but I do need to fix the struts, anyways they're almost 10 years old. It runs like a champ. The more TLC you give your car, the longer it will last. TLC is Tender Love and Care.

15th Apr 2004, 17:10

Hey I have a *96 dodge stratus for a year now and knock on wood nothing, but a few minor things like breaks had to be fixed I love the car so maybe you bought a lemon.

10th Mar 2005, 13:47

I am currently selling my 96 Stratus.

I have replaced the sway bar ends.

The transmission leaks, and is clunky

The tac and mileage gauge come on and off all the time

Even with replacing the sway bar end there is still noise in the front and it feels like I am driving on the frame.

I replaced the struts, no difference. Mechanics can't determine what it is for under $150.00, so I live with it :-).

It also howls in the morning for a few minutes till warmed up.

Now the EGR Valve has gone out and Dodge wants 100.00 for the part and 5.00 for the gasket.

I love the look of the car, my wife thinks it is zippy. But, I have been very concerned with when it will break down next just as you have.

20th Jan 2008, 18:22

The start-up howling is an indication that the water pump and/or belt is about to go out.