1999 Dodge Stratus Sedan from North America


A fun little car!


I have had the brakes and rotors replaced on a yearly basis. At 75k I had to have the head gasket and manifold replaced because It was leaking oil. Today, at 81k, I had the ignition coil replaced, and throttle body cleaned. The cup holders are awful, the front holders are used for loose change because they will not hold drinks. My seats also tend to collect a lot of lint.

General Comments:

Besides the recent repairs, this car has been a great car. I put a lot of miles on all of my cars, and so far this one has been the best one I have ever owned. This car handles curves very well, and is a good comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

1999 Dodge Stratus SE 2.5 V6 from North America


Valve cover leaking, fuel pump went out during a snow storm. I've had to have it towed 3 times. It died on me on the interstate, pulled the dipstick there was no oil in it. after the wreck came pulled dipstick again and the oil was back, blockage of return line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1999 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4L from North America


Well built, roomy and sporty looking


The power lock for the left rear door stopped working for a month, but has started back working now.

I is not achieving the recommended 22-30 mpg. I have changed both O2, map sensor, plugs, air filter and oil and only slight improvement.

General Comments:

The ride is comfortable, never have to worry about being not in control.

It has all power features and has worked except for that door lock.

The 2.4L engine drives good and is quite responsive.

It achieves 14-18 mpg combined and no matter what I change it has no effect on the mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

8th Jan 2004, 15:54

How fast do you drive? I have a 2000 Stratus and it gets great gas millage-- usually 23-25 mpg. But I always drive the speed limit and I don't use much a/c. The faster you drive and the more you use the cruise, a/c, etc the less millage you'll get.

1999 Dodge Stratus from North America


If you like to spend money buy this car


Everything, Brakes is very hard to stop, steering is bad and had just put close to $1,000 into it because the car would turn off and check engine light came on. Fuel filter and Fuel pump, Ox2 sensor became bad.

General Comments:

Get a Nissan or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

12th Jul 2004, 17:08

Same issues have arisen with my 1999 Stratus.

22nd Dec 2005, 01:57


If only people would start taking care of their cars...

9th Nov 2007, 12:19

I have the same problems with my 1998 Dodge Stratus.


If people could only realize that they will have the same problems with this model car, even if they do take care of it...

1999 Dodge Stratus 2.4L 16v DOHC from North America


Reliable, all-American great car!


The Transmission has gone out, or so I thought, it was only a $60 repair. Something came "unplugged," so said the mechanic.

General Comments:

The car is surprisingly fast for a four-cylinder. If you even tap the gas pedal, it jumps. Can beat most other cars off the line, as long as the air conditioning isn't running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

1999 Dodge Stratus 2.5L 4 cylinder. from North America


Unreliable, poorly made hunk of crap


Speed sensors (both in and out) for transmission computer chip. That was a good $300 plus the $150 transmission flush I had the dealership do b/c while the sensors were out, the car wouldn't shift and I was worried about future transmission problems.

Rear CB (? I may have the wrong initials) bearings replaced right before I purchased for about $300.

CV joints just went bad... estimate at $250.

General Comments:

I want to reiterate that I just bought the car less than a month ago from another person. It was impeccably maintained with routine maintenance performed religiously. Visually, the car looks brand new inside and out. It drove completely fine when I bought it.

Within 10 days the sensors went out overnight rendering the car useless. It looks really nice sitting in my driveway.

The CV joint has progressively gotten worse and worse sounding; it was misdiagnosed as bad control arms (but hey, I have two new control arms so that's one less thing to fix later).

Now, when I accelerate or drive on the highway, it feels as though the transmission is slipping. I don't even want to think how much this car is going to end up costing me. I am a law student with no extra money to spare. I thought I was getting a bargain as I bought the car under retail; but really I just invested thousands of dollars into a non-running unreliable money pit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

2nd Apr 2004, 14:09

I'm having a problem with my Stratus right as we speak. My transmission is stuck in 2nd gear and right now, I was told I need to replace the computer... is this correct or is it just the sensor???

10th Apr 2004, 15:16

I just had the same problem with my 1999 dodge Stratus. Had to replace both sensors and do a transmission flush. What kind of problems can I look forward to in the future I have already spent close to 1,000 dollars and I only have 55,000 miles on it.