2001 Dodge Stratus SE from North America


Worth it


The headlights flicker off sometimes when they are on, especially when I use the turn signal.

General Comments:

I don't know anything about cars, but I bought this because I thought it fit me well. I love it, it hasn't given me any major problems as of yet! My only gripe is it is slow to gain speed up hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

26th Feb 2005, 11:36

Check out www.2gss.org, it is THE place for second generation Dodge Stratus sedans. They can help you solve any problem you'll have with that car, or how to prevent them, as well as give you some pointers to keep your car in tip-top shape. I used to have a second generation Stratus, and it was a great car. Check out the site!

And tell em Queso sent ya!

2001 Dodge Stratus 2.7L engine from North America


Do not buy this car!


Friday, my 2001 Dodge Stratus engine blew. It had 73,000 miles on it. The dealership or the corporation will not stand by them. I am so upset as I still owe on this, and now have to purchase another car. I have found thousands of other people in the same boat. Something has to be done. A corporation should not be allowed to get away with this. The Chrysler corporation does not care about their customers.

General Comments:

Has anyone talked to the lawyer in Ohio that is starting a lawsuit? What does he say? I am going to call him soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

9th Apr 2005, 21:42

My 01 Stratus R/T was the best car I have owned. It has to date over 117,000k. Never had to replace a thing except tires. I take very good care of my cars. Oil changes the whole works when needed. Sorry about your car, but you never know what you get when you buy used. sometimes new cars have problems, but it doesn't happen as often. Good thing for warranty's.

2001 Dodge Stratus R/T 3.0 from North America


Buy the extended warranty if you purchase this car


Transmission replaced at 7000 miles.

Wheel bearing replaced at 7000 miles.

Tires (cost $225/per tire) and brakes replaced twice and now needs again.

Evolve cap replaced.

Starter replaced at 40000 miles.

Alignment bad at 30000 miles.

O2 sensor replaced.

Solenoid in trans needs replacing now!

Many, many trips to the shop!

General Comments:

I bought the extended warranty (100K miles) almost one year after I bought this car. I was not impressed with this car and I thought the warranty would be a good idea. It was the best idea I had. Warranty cost about $1200 and I have already used over $4500 in repairs!

This car has great suspension.

Good looking.

Good gas mileage

Poor turning radius.

Quick car!

There is a lot I like about my car, but for all the problems it has had I don't think it was worth the buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

2001 Dodge Stratus SE 3.0 Litre V6 from North America


Dodge has out done themselves with this one!


The only problem I've encountered were electrical problems within the first couple of days the vehicle was in my possession. I spoke with the dealer I was directed to bring the car in, it was painless and I haven't had a problem with it sense.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and hugs curves like a relative hugs you after not seeing you in a while.

The Stratus coupe is also much more comfortable and spacious than the it's old self the Avenger.

The only complaint I have is that its U-turns are a bit wider than what I would like them to be, but than again no car is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

2001 Dodge Stratus ES 6 cylinder from North America


A sensational vehicle for its class..


Electrical problems. I had to have a switch replaced. Lights in dash and stereo would dim on and off repeatedly.

General Comments:

All in all, it is a very reliable car.

The car was not worth the price I paid for it used, but I still enjoy it.

It has a very powerful engine.

OK on gas mileage.

However, it makes an odd sound, from the engine when driving. The dealer mechanics seem not to notice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

14th Apr 2004, 09:21

The stratus has a nice take off from the line. I like the acceleration in the Stratus a whole lot better then my last car which was a 94 Mustang.

14th Apr 2004, 15:30

I have a 2000 Stratus. It is nice and roomy and has a good-size trunk and I like THAT about it.

However, I have had the car only 3 years and have had to put a lot of money into it. New brakes, new heating system, and also the car idled very high all of the time and I had to spend about $600 to get that fixed as well. As much as I've liked my car, it definitely has not been worth it.

15th Apr 2004, 08:54

I have a 2001 Dodge Stratus ES and it is the best car I have owned yet.