1993 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1993 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

I spun a rod bearing at 104,000 miles, but it was making about 100 HP over stock.

General Comments:

I have taken good care of the car since I've owned it, and the only problem I've had with it is the rod bearing. I can't complain about that though, because it is making about 100 more horse power than it was designed to make.

It is a fast, fun car to begin with, and with a minimal amount of money spent on performance upgrades, it is faster than many cars that cost 5 times as much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

1993 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired262 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A sports car bargain

Faults:

Idler solenoid went out under warranty.

Transfer case gasket was replaced under warranty.

The transmission has vibration problems that the dealership cannot explain.

My car is black so my paint is peeling.

General Comments:

All you need is a boost controller, 3" exhaust, and K&N filter to kick some 5.Slow butt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2001

1993 Eagle Talon TSi FWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Fast

Faults:

Altenator blew.

General Comments:

Very fast car. I wish I got the AWD drive though. I'm putting on new tires and rims soon and that will give more traction then I have right now.

Not a winter car.

The cabin is for only 2 people, no one can fit in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2001

13th Apr 2001, 16:43

From the snow capital of Canada - best car I have ever been in or driven in the snow. This car eats 4ft snow drifts.

1993 Eagle Talon DL 1.8 5 speed manual from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 5 speed manual Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

A fun summer type car for students

Faults:

My battery went out at 99,000.

The passenger side door sensor doesn't shut off the interior lights so that has to be fixed somehow.

General Comments:

Its a fun little car, but the little things in the car drive you nuts. Only get one if you don't plan on having any other debt... because the little things that go wrong can break you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

1st Feb 2001, 04:46

I have a '91 Talon and am looking for an engine for a '93 Talon.

They are fun cars to drive and they are generally reliable. But when they break, they are very expensive. Even for relatively minor repairs.

For you who like to drive them but can't fix 'em, don't ignore the 60,000 mile timing belt change or you will regret it to the tune of about $3000.

24th Feb 2001, 19:28

I bought a '93 Talon DL brand new. I have 198,000 miles now and she's still ticking along.

1 timing belt.

1 set of brakes all around (need em again though).

1 alternator.

Lots of oil changes...

This car owes me nothing. It's never let me down and has never required me to dig deep into my wallet.

All cars should be as dependable.

5th Apr 2003, 11:45

I have a 1993 Talon DL, and it works perfect. But I am starting to feel the transmission jump and all that. I am just wondering if anyone else has ever had transmission problems because I have heard rumors (by the way, it's an automatic.) Email me, Bgjon87@aol.com, thanks.

17th Nov 2003, 19:42

If you know the trans is going on your 93 talon get rid of it know while you still can. they are big dollars and hard to find. trust me I'm going through it!!!

2nd Jan 2004, 14:23

Watch the transmission, if it starts slipping get it fixed right away. The trani in my 94 Talon DL has been rebuilt twice in thirteen months. Otherwise, the only problem I've had the last 5 years was the timing belt breaking. The unexpected repairs are expensive, but overall I am very happy with the little car. For the huge amount of miles I've put on it, and hardly any maintenance, I can't complain. And it has always started!!

1993 Eagle Talon DL 1.8L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

One awesome car, only wish I had a turbo. But who cares, she's awesome

Faults:

Brake pads needed to be replaced and some bolts snapped in the process due to rust.

Replaced thermostat (gone bad at 88,000).

General Comments:

A damn good car, I suggest you buy one. The only ones I have found in a junk yard are ones from accidents. I beat the crap out of it and she doesn't die. I do regular work on it though. Just replaced all the belts and tranny fluid at 89,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

1993 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro Z-28

Summary:

Great performance for the money

Faults:

Water pump and thermostat broke at 52000 miles. Water pump plus install cost $500.

General Comments:

Fantastic car! Excellent handling and acceleration. Wonderful in the rain/snow/loose terrain. Very impressive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 12:19

You could have probably saved yourself about $450 on your water pump repair. If you become a Club DSM Member, you can save 25-30% on all DSM parts by going through Conicelli Parts at www.partznet.com. You can purchase a factory water pump through them for around $52.00, and spend about 3 hours to replace it.

There's a really helpful website for your Talon called VFAQ.com. They have answers and step-by-step instructions on how to do almost everything on your car.

If you spend about $15 and install a custom manual boost controller, you can beat the Z28's and T/A's no problem. Add some exhaust, you can beat the SS and WS6. You can easily get 330hp out of that car, no problem.

I love my 1991 Talon TSI AWD. I think if you do some of these, you'll love your car even more.

Nick

11th Aug 2001, 11:53

I have a 93 Eagle Talon TSi all wheel drive. How did you get the horsepower you are talking about for 15 dollars. I am very interested in that, please contact me at jamiemaggard@hotmail.com

Thank you.

18th Mar 2007, 13:24

I have a 93 eagle talon 2.0 and it will run and sometimes it will cut out and not start back for about 20 minutes. Does any one know what could be causing this? any help is appreciated.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 25 reviews