1993 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Speed, peer speed!

Faults:

The head gaskets blew at about 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a dream, I have bought almost every performance part you can get for it. this car is the fastest car I have ever driven I have baried the speedomiter that goes up to 140mph with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0 liter Non - turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Non - turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres

Summary:

High performance car with a high performance cost

Faults:

The timing belt blew off it at 150,000kms, and that was just the start of the nightmare. The recall came out on all Talons for that problem, but way to late for most owners to do anything about.

3 months after that, the water pump went and took the belts with it. If you know anything about these cars, there is no cheap way to go about fixing them. The timing incident caused me a little over $3800 bucks to fix, due to an engine rebuild.

The water pump was a little over $800 bucks.

Then the main harmonic balance pulley shattered into bits and that cost me $406 dollars to fix.

Now the car is fouling spark plugs at random with a new wire change so who knows how much that that is going to cost me.

The seat belts are absolutely useless, and if you plan on upgrading the stereo to a Cd player, you are looking at a major power loss.

General Comments:

The car has unbelievable speed, I've had it to 209kms/h with not even a slight shimmy.

The handling is also great, and is improved with an aftermarket front stabilization bar.

It also gets fantastic gas mileage, 900kms/tank)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106204 miles
Most recent distance109389 miles

Summary:

A beautiful, high performance delight

Faults:

Timing belts need to be checked often to prevent real costly damage. That's it!

General Comments:

Comfortable interior and ergonomics with a solid secure feel, nice features, and a crisp stereo.

Great handling in the twisty turns with very little understeer.

Quick off the line speed from an engine with the most beautiful engine purrs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94500 miles
Most recent distance94700 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

A nice car to chill in

Faults:

So far nothing is wrong. Shifting in to second gear takes somewhat to get used to on my car. It grinds if you rip the shifter back into second.

General Comments:

Exhaust sounds butter! The handling is very nice. Its comfortable to bake out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A great car for the money

Faults:

The tie-rods and CV joints have both been replaced, but they were both bad when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is a great car so far. It's fairly quick for the size of engine and it handles better than any car I've owned before.

The other great thing about this car is that it can be tuned easily and fairly cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1993 Eagle Talon ES 2.0 liter non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired213000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

If you don't got one, get one, you'll love it!

Faults:

Thermostat broke at 230,000 kilometers.

The switch in driver's side door jam broke so the interior lights were flickering.

The brakes had to be redone.

General Comments:

This car is awesome!

The factory suspension is great, it handles like a race car!

The 2.0L engine is great on gas and has all the power you want.

I wish I had a turbo, but it's awesome the way it is.

Last but not least, the ladies love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2001

1993 Eagle Talon TSI FWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best bang for your buck as far as performance goes!

Faults:

Timing belt - NORMAL for this car.

That's it!

General Comments:

This thing is a monster! From the moment I got it I knew what could be done with it. Since it was bought I have upgraded everything, the turbo, exhaust, intake, added a fuel management system, new rims, all new upgraded suspension, higher compression pistons, high strength rods, removed the factory engine balance shafts (less rotational mass) lightened flywheel, cryogenically treated transmission. And it's now a drag racing car. Turns out 12 second passes at the strip and is STREET LEGAL at that! On a 4 cylinder.

Warning:

This car is not for the light hearted, if you have no desire to learn about it or hate getting under the hood, then don't be a baby and don't buy one. Unless you wanna take some time to learn and modify the car so it will take out Supras, Corvettes, Camaros, Mustangs, all those V8 "muscle" cars, and I use that term lightly... then don't buy this car, because if you don't wanna get your hands dirty then the car is just going to waste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

11th Jul 2003, 03:38

Put the same amount of money into those 'muscle cars' that you put into your Talon and we'll see who's pulling the low numbers.

16th Apr 2004, 01:40

Heh, very true!!! Not to mention, nobody likes riced out cars.

5th May 2004, 10:39

To a comment I read here about putting all the money into a V-8 and get better performance. Well I have a Plymouth Lazer turbo charged. A bought my body almost mint shape for $ 500 Canadian and my engine for $1500 Canadaian. Its not a stock engine, but it is damn close. Its got bigger injectors and a bigger turbo and from what my mechanics have told me the car should run in the 12s. (I am betting 13s, but still) Its not together yet, but for what like 2000 dollars I have a 13s car. Imagine if I put all tis money you guys are talking about into my car. Yeah I think it would be right there with the V-8 no problem.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 25 reviews