2005 Ferrari FXX from Italy - Comments

26th Sep 2005, 02:04

Is your friend a racing car driver? Otherwise, where on this planet can you drive a car that is "too fast"? Ferraris are certainly great cars, but are they really sensible?

31st Oct 2005, 12:06

Hmmm. I thought the FXX is a 1-seater, so how were you both "Strapped in"??

13th Nov 2005, 21:05

This review is obviously only written to elicit comments, so here's another. The author uses a lot of words, but doesn't really tell us much about the car. A lot like most of these exotic reviews, really. I'm going to hop into my Saturn V rocket powered Rinspeed Mono Ego now and go to the shops. By the way, the FXX does have a second seat option.

5th Dec 2005, 16:01

I've done some reading up on the FXX program and just thought I'd help clarify things a little. A factory/client test program like this has never existed before. It has a mystique to it and it's brilliant PR if you ask me.

-Potential buyers needed to meet certain criteria before being able to buy the car. They were looking for absolute Ferrari devotees with real driving ability, and enough technical aptitude to be able grasp the intricacies of the FXX. This car is supposed to be a testbed for future supercars and the factory wants usable input. It wouldn't do them any good to put a bunch of rich idiots out there on a track.

-Once the buyers are chosen they are brought to Maranello for an orientation program than includes some driving courses. For the first year or so the factory keeps the car. Owners get to go to Italy and to about a dozen tracks around the world to test the cars and race each other. Once the factory has all the info they need the cars will be released to the owners. This is what the reviewer was talking about before: they drove it at the Maranello test Track, but the car has not been released yet.

Other info:

29 cars were built, and not just 20.

The cars is a 2-seater, not a single seater.

Michael Schumacher, Rubens Barrichello, and Luca Badoer also test the car periodically.

Rumors say that this car is a test-bed for the future F-60, and more enticingly, Ferrari may be planning a return to Factory Sportscar Racing after many years of only F1. The FXX does seem like an awful lot of time money and effort to put into the development of just another road car.

22nd Dec 2005, 22:52

You Don't have the car.

19th Feb 2006, 00:13

I own a superamerica and this guy is telling the truth, in order to own a FXX you have to go test it out. ONLY 20 were made and that's it. and there is 2 SEATS, I think I would know, I spoke to the boss at ferrari in Australia.

21st Mar 2006, 05:05

When you have been selected to buy an FXX, it is the owners choice to take part in the actual testing project or not. And it is also not true that the car is being kept by the factory.

A friend of mine is the owner of a FXX and it has been delivered to him late 2005 and will not take part in the program. The car is on display at another friend's Ferrari dealership in Enschede, The Netherlands.

21st Apr 2006, 10:22

This is meant to be a few seconds quicker than the F50 around their test track. Would prefer the Bugatti if I ever had enough money to buy one.

7th Sep 2007, 19:49

Has anyone ever heard of a Selected Waiting List???

You put your name on the list stating that you want the car and have enough money to buy it. The "Boss" then goes through and chooses the owners etc... etc...

Further comment posting to this review is disabled because of abuse