1990 Ferrari Mondial t from North America - Comments

21st Dec 2007, 13:02

Hi, we have a 92 Mondial t Cabrio and absolutely love it. If you are thinking about buying one for the rear seats, try the car first. As far as the car not being fast, I would disagree. The problem is that the engine has to rev to hit it's optimum power. Below 3000rpm it is indeed slow. But, once you get over 25 miles per hour this car will pull strong through all of its gears. And the sound...WoW. So if you are looking for 0-60 or 1/4 mile times then this is not your car, however if you love working the gears through the turns and hearing the amazing sound of a high reving Ferrari..."This is definitely a substitute"

Dave.

18th Feb 2008, 21:53

I've owned a 92 Mondial Cab t for 10 years. I've been procrastinating about getting the 30,000 mile service (that's the big one; engine drop, replace all belts etc...) because I want to use someone qualified, recommended and who won't kill me money wise located somewhere in Southern California. I've had guesstimates anywhere from $4,000 to $10,000. Any suggestions?

Pete

San Clemente, CA.

24th Feb 2008, 14:38

The 3.0 can have cam belts replaced without dropping the engine, while the 3.4 has to drop the engine. I don't know about the 3.2!

If the engine drops out, better have a specialist have a good check while out; costs money, but at least in 20 years it will still be running.

Best is to move the car often for a spin, else the speedometer, windows, and air conditioning will be on or off.

12th May 2008, 12:25

I love Mondials and I especially love Mondial t Cabriolets. Every time I hear the negatives, I wonder if they are the one off things that get worked out and never come back. Someone on here said even that's unforgiveable at this level, and that's why they'd opt for a Porsche. But a Porsche does not have the sexiness of a Mondial cabrio. Al Pacino didn't test drive a Porsche as a blind guy in Scent of a Woman.

1st Jul 2008, 07:32

I bought my 1990 Mondial T Cab 6 months ago. I bought an inexpensive one that had a gap in the car fax where the speedo was replaced. I didn't get a pre-purchase inspection - just trusted the previous owner's mechanic who had good reviews on FerrariChat. My best guess is that my car has about 75,000 miles. From the carfax it would seem that my car was regularly driven 5,000 miles per year with no dead zones where the car didn't get driven.

It is the most wonderful perfect piece of machinery I can ever imagine. Everything is well laid out and easily serviceable. Sure you have to read up, and have a head on your shoulders, but I have never worked on another car that even come close to being as easy to work on as my Mondial. The car is perfectly balanced. The steering is dead on. The brakes are entirely adequate. The engine sings the sweetest song you can imagine, and I haven't even replaced the stock exhaust yet.

The mechanic didn't tell me everything that was wrong with the car, but the issues are all relatively simple. Biggest one are the motor mounts that need to be replaced. I found a used set for $400 and very glad to do so, since the new ones are ridiculously overpriced. Replacing them with the engine in the car will be a bear, but it can be done. The big item would be oil consumption, but mine is low, so no worries. Slowly but surely I am bringing my car back to its proper state of glory.

It's the most beautiful color they ever made a Mondial, 901C, Nero Metallizaco, which is gorgeous dark gray metallic. No other car I have seen looks as good as mine. Don't waste your precious time dithering - you know you want one. There are lots of cars that are faster for the same or even less money, but none of them will put a smile on your face like the Mondial. Especially the T! Plus being easy and rewarding to do your own service - it's an unbeatable combination. Just be sure to do a lot of research on parts sources. There a lot of ways to save money, if you take your time and search out the good deals. The guys at Ferrari Chat are very helpful.

One last bit of advice: I learned the hard way that this car is not meant for “tossing”. If you break the rear end loose it will be very hard to control. This is not a complaint – there is no reason to drive the car that way. Just know that it is not an option and drive accordingly. To make it clear what I did when I almost lost it big time: I was coming around a medium tight sweeper, with the engine at about 3200 rpm in 2nd gear. Like a fool I put the throttle all the way to the floor and held it down. Of course the rear end broke loose and it was all I could do to not wreck the car. This was entirely my fault. The car is meant to be driven smoothly saving the throttle for the exit of a corner after you have already straightened out. In a panic situation, like, for example, someone pulls out in front of you, you can slam the brakes and maintain full control of the car. It’s entirely safe as long as you don’t get stupid like I did.

23rd Oct 2008, 15:32

My brake sphere on my 1988 Mondial went flat. Does any one knows where to get a new one for a fair price?

Ben San Diego Ca

Bernd@tns.net.

17th May 2009, 15:28

I chose a far more reliable Vette Convertible LS1, and top is down in under a minute. My son has a Viper; also very reliable and was a daily driver for some time. I have had cars that were barely driven and got over it. In the shop or issues. My time is better spent having fun than parked. Kumhos are expensive, but these cars are strong and less problems. Good luck.

4th Jul 2009, 15:54

I`ve a 1993 Mondial T coupe. At first I found the driver`s seat tight and quite painful, but I`ve had a car-trimmer make up a cushion that sits in the bucket and lifts me up enough to avoid any discomfort. The cushion exactly matches the cream leather colour and the stitching in the original seat squab. It hold in place with a flap to the rear that feeds thru into the gap between the seat back and squab. It cost £100 in the UK and has made all the difference with long distance comfort.

The car has been reliable over the last 4 years since purchase. It`s much superior to the 3 GT4`s I`ve had since 1982 and I wish I`d bought one before. The braking in particular is much much better, and I`ve had no more scary moments like I used to as a GT4 has no ABS.

One thing to check in the engine bay, is to make sure the fuel lines don`t chafe below the big black woven tube that connects the side to the airbox at the back. Ferrari at first fitted a black box below here with squared sharp edges. On the later 348 engines this had profiled sides. So check those lines! Change to the later box too. I`ve no idea what it does, although the fuel lines go into it!

I love it for being so easy to see out of, unlike the latest models, which are like driving blind! The steering is so accurate and the car feels flat on the road with almost no roll. On the bumpy UK roads I use the hard suspension setting with no problems and like the ride. I use the car as a daily driver whenever I can. In town I get 17mpg on UK imperial gallons and up to 22mpg on a run if cruising at up to 85mph. Less with the aircon on and if driving very fast.

I`ve discovered a bit of rust starting under the silver trims on the top of the sills in the door openings, and plan to deal with that over the winter months. So check there. The trims are glued down and water gets under them, especially by the rear. I`ve surface rust, but it will get worse if left.

I keep my car on a trickle-charger when in my garage. I had the alarm system removed, and as with all my cars have a secret switch that cuts off the fuel pump. I figure car alarms are ignored, so a waste of time, and I had initial starting problems traced to it.

I have my car regularly serviced, but I do not think it essential to use a main Ferrari dealer, as a Marque Specialist used to the older cars will do a better job for less money. In these car's price range, it is not so essential to have the service record stamped with an official dealer stamp. But do have it serviced and don`t skimp on it. Every 3 years for a cam-belt change, with an oil-change lesser service on the other years.

If your car feels slow, try fitting a replacement fuel cap. The fuel tank is pressurised and the caps can let air in, reducing the pressure and power! Also, I found the petrol filler cap (gas-cap) a swine for easy removal, so I carry a ratchet, socket extender and one of those things that fit round oil-filters to remove them! If you can`t get your fingers to turn the petrol filler cap, dive into the trunk for this handy gizmo! Fit the device onto the cap carefully and with only slight pressure on the ratchet your cap will unscrew! This saves no end of trouble!

To anyone thinking of buying a Mondial T, don`t hesitate, just get it bought!