Fiat 131 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1984 Fiat 131 CL 1.6 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres

Summary:

Good, Just hope to get it to the Manufacturers Condition

Faults:

-Seats weired very fast also their link to the Chassis

-engine is consuming oil by 45000km

-relatively weak brakes (but never failed to brake

- regular maintenance may need to be closer than listed by the Manufacturer.

General Comments:

-car is stable till 120 Km/h

-tires lasts up to 75000 km

-liter of gasoline = 12 km

-fine tuning really makes difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

19th Oct 2005, 23:28

It really needs periodic maintenance to keep it in a good condition

It some times has a trouble in its cooling system

The brakes is not that good yet it is not that bad

Does not have a stability problem just have to feel it

It is stable till 140 km/h.

1977 Fiat 131 Brava from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1982
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Next to my 69 Volvo, my worst car ever

Faults:

What went right with this car would be the shorter list!

Rear axle came loose while cornering.

Carburetor was constantly in need of tuning and backfired more often than not.

Driver's seat broke.

Entire exhaust system fell off.

2 alternators.

General Comments:

When I first got this beast, it was a fun little screamer, great in the corners and not bad acceleration for a small four banger.

As time went on and things began to fall apart and break, the fun became a nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

1984 Fiat 131 Supermirafiori 1600TC from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1600TC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired867931 kilometres
Most recent distance934128 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Excellent for a crazy conversion!!

Faults:

The original engine, 1600cc twin-cam is really powerful on pick up, but lacks of end performance. Power VS. Weight ratio is something to look into.

It's definitely a heavy duty car and the engine really lasts.

General Comments:

After converting its 1.6TC engine to an RB20DETT, I find that the car can really takes the power pressure. Changed the brake system to Nissan Silvia's discs and restructured the chassis.

The car seemed to lost weight when dragged, but still maintained the stability on sharp corners or drifts.

RB's belonged inside this car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1979 Fiat 131 super mirafiori just fitting a toyota 20 tc terbo diesel engine. from Malta

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission just fitting a toyota 20 tc terbo diesel engine. Manual
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Previous carFiat 131

Summary:

Simply the strongest chassis that survives a truck at 60 km /hour

Faults:

Standard 13 petrol engine too weak for this heavy car, but the 20toyota Tc I think will really do the upmost especially with boosted turbo!

General Comments:

The only thing that went wrong is that I was unlucky and had a serious collision, but the firmness of 131 chassis SAVED MY LIFE and that is not bad after all!

Now it really deserves the restoration expenses! It was an immaculate car after 20 years not a single scratch or dent of rust its amazing!I really LOVE this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

1979 Fiat 131 Supermirafiori 1.6 from Austria

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

After 20 years I still love this car!

Faults:

The generator broke at 150,000km.

The brakes need work every two months.

Of course there's rust after 22 years!!

General Comments:

The reliability of this car is incredible for its age.

It is very sportive to drive (very easy to drift!) and doesn't need much petrol.

Spare-parts are easy to get and very cheap.

The car is still looking good.

The gear-box is perfect. Short ways and easy to shift.

The cabin could offer more space!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

21st Oct 2002, 17:42

I have a FIAT Brava 131 from 1983. I bought it new and I even maintain it original. However I had a small problem with an electric flaw and I want to repair it myself. I want to know if you could help me making me arrive a copy of the electric diagram.

Very grateful

Abraham Rodr

1982 Fiat 131 Super Brava Mark II 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort Mark II

Faults:

Rust!

Electronic ignition started to pack up in hot weather.

General Comments:

A good, reliable car. Twin cam engine was a strong, reliable unit.

Simple car to service yourself.

Loads of fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

31st Mar 2005, 00:34

I bought my 131 mkII Super Brava (1982) in 1992 at 62,000ks for $7000 (Aus). It has no rust, original paint (white) and factory A/C (I fitted it from a wreck).

At 190,000ks, the 2 litre engine has not had any major work done (still on original head gasket). I keep the oil, filters and coolant in fresh condition as much as possible.

Only problem was the original ECU (ignition) in the heat, replaced with GMH copy, sorted.

It still drives very well, and is as keen as ever doing 170kph or more!

I have no intention of parting with it, as it has become a great 2nd car, now that we have a '92 Alfa 164. Could be the start of another long and meaningful relationship... April '05.

31st Jul 2007, 16:01

Yes a great car for its day and a very viable everyday classic. I drove one from Melbourne to Sydney and back with 5 up. A sweet low mileage car, not even a TC, it handled 140kph all the way. I recall very tidy predictable handling. There aren't any left in NZ now due to rust, but grab one if you live in a dry country, They are solidly built and easy to service, and little bit special. Interiors have that cool glovebox, but godawful plastics. An interesting car, but not as good as a 125.

7th Dec 2010, 00:20

A great car. It was my grandmother's typical little old lady story. The car is all original and I mean all. Nothing has been replaced or tinkered with. It's only done 100000 km so no surprise that it's in the condition it's in now. She's had it since 1982 when she bought it brand new in Gosford where VWs and Renaults are now sold. I will inherit this car and love and cherish it for the rest of my life.

7th Jan 2014, 03:28

I have an Alfa 164 2.0 8v t-spark. It has a very reliable timing chain. It has a good original Alfa sound and handles great with a comfortable seating position.

Also have a 1981 Fiat 131 1.6 TC, previously owned by my dad and now maintained by me. Yup, an ever lasting relationship with Italian stallion.

Cheers.

1976 Fiat 131 TC 1.3 petrol from Greece

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1976
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Fabulous!

Faults:

Rust is a problem, but I cope.

General Comments:

Fabulous car. I wonder if the new piece-of-junk cars will last half as the Mirafiori.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2001

1979 Fiat 131 Mirafiori Super 1.6 petrol from Serbia

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 4 TL

Faults:

Rust, rust.

Handbrake.

General Comments:

Good engine, gearbox, interior, no maintenance, I don't change oil 40000km( I forget), no engine damage.

10 litres on 100km is not much for car with 98HP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews