1996 Fiat Brava EL 1.6 16v from Italy

Summary:

Great car, the best I've ever had, indeed

Faults:

The thermostat broke down in summer 1999, at 35000 km; this is the only remarkable fault I have to report.

General Comments:

In spite of its quite stiff suspensions, my Brava is a fully satisfying car; good looking, practical, reliable and absolutely pleasant to drive. Quality of plastic material inside could have been better, but after all they don't make any noise. I keep postponing the purchase of my next car, since my brava still looks good as new and runs like the first day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

1996 Fiat Brava S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Worst car on the road, don't ever buy one

Faults:

New clutch at 45,000.

New rear exhaust box at 60,000.

Two new rear shocks at 60,000.

New catalytic converter at 75,000 miles.

New gaskets and manifold at 75,000 miles.

Plastic seals are starting to come off.

Usual Brava rattle from the rear.

General Comments:

This car is possibly the worse car ever!

Its not very comfortable, with seriously dodgy interior styling.

Good point is as it's a hatch back you can fold the seats down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

11th Mar 2004, 14:16

A brava isn't a hatchback so what an earth are you talking about.

26th Apr 2004, 16:42

A Brava is a 5 door hatchback! You must be getting mixed up with the Marea.

1996 Fiat Brava SX 1.6 16v from Lebanon

Summary:

Good looking, bur poor build quality

Faults:

All four door knobs wore off. Will cost almost $200 to replace (this seems a common problem in Brava's)

Color fades and paint is easily chipped.

Head-unit is poor quality and very difficult to replace.

General Comments:

Overall, the car is a very nice drive, almost like a sports car.

It also looks good, unlike off-the-mill hatches.

The main downfall is the poor build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1996 Fiat Brava EXL 1.8 from F.Y.R.O. Macedonia

Summary:

The best

Faults:

The best car in the universe

I'm proud of that car.

General Comments:

I'ts the most comfortable car in the world and also with high performanse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 15:58

I have the '96 1.6, but this description is very accurate to my car also. This car is the nuts!

1996 Fiat Brava SX 1.6 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A sporty hatchback

Faults:

1) Fuel injection problems at 90,000 km

2) Front electric windows broke at 95,000 kms

General Comments:

The car is a very good handler and is very comfortable around town.

I have added an after market muffler, which has created impressive gains in performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

22nd Oct 2002, 17:59

This is a great review. I found it very relative to my own experiances with my own Brava. I live in Liverpool, but I see that the Brava still has problems down under. I agree because it is a sporty hatchback, that is let down only by its electrics.

1996 Fiat Brava S 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Never buy a second hand one with 70K miles on it. The cam belt will blow the engine

Faults:

Tie rod.

Rubber in suspension.

Cam belt blew at 84000 miles.

Blew engine.

Wiper washer broken.

Back indicator light pops out causing quick flashing of the indicators.

Rust after 2 years old where the boot closes.

General Comments:

The cam belts should come with a health warning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

28th Jul 2003, 03:45

In fairness, Fiat do recommend you change the cam-belt at 72,000 miles.

14th Jul 2004, 06:54

Anyone who has not checked whether the cam-belt has been changed at the recommended mileage, or sooner, deserves the consequences. This applies to all makes and models, not just Fiat. I have always had mine done at 40000 miles regardless of the car involved. Fiat forums say that the Brava SX should be done at even more regular intervals than that.

22nd Jul 2004, 04:13

Yeah I always change cambelt every 30K, its just the known thing to do.

Kris.

16th Oct 2010, 16:16

My car has done 77000 miles. It's a Fiat Brava. Can't afford to get it done yet. Will it be OK for a couple of months???

1996 Fiat Brava SX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A cheap car that can be turned into a high performance automobile

Faults:

Had a small problem with the electric window motor, the cable snapped as I was opening the window when it was frozen.

General Comments:

A very nice, beautiful looking reliable car.

The Fiat mechanics at my garage have always been very helpful, they have helped me to find the required components required to turn the Brava into a 114 brake horsepower beast, which will now do 0-60 miles per hour in about 9 seconds and a top speed of 126 miles per hour.

Top class service, even when my car was scratched during a service, they resprayed the panel and did not charge me for the service I went in for in the first place.

Had no problems with car since I bought it, would recommend it as it would be a great family car to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

29th May 2003, 06:16

126 MPH in a Brava? You must be a very brave person indeed, my 1.6 SX was unpleasant enough at the National speed limit (70 MPH, do you remember?)