2001 Fiat Brava Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Fiat Brava SX 1.2 from Egypt

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance84570 kilometres

Summary:

Fast and Reliable

Faults:

Clutch made a horrible vibrations in the car, changed at 75k km and idle actuator must be changed each 40k km.

General Comments:

The car is just great, I use it 4 days a week on very fast motor way (120 km @ 150 to 180 km/h) and it's fantastic, it had a little problem with the lateral wind, but once you get used to the car it's no big deal.

Lots of room inside, it looks and drives good.

It handles very good on tight corners, but you must take care if you have more than 3 persons in the cars, the rear axle doesn't follow the front one.

It's my second Fiat (4 years exp.) I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 03:30

I agree with you the Barva 1.2 is one hell of a car.

Today I reached the 200 km/h!!!

Can anyone believe it!!! the clock is reading now 96200 km

I love this car.

9th Jul 2005, 14:26

I agree with you guys, I had mine one month ago, it's SX80, I'm having a rough time finding the spare parts though!! but no doubt it's a great ride. does anyone in Egypt have an operating manual for her?? I would like to borrow it or even buy it. please mail me abouzeid@gawab.com.

27th Oct 2005, 04:16

Hi all

I'm the original writer of this review, I would like to say that my brava has reached the 130,000 Km today!! without any problem everything in the car in original like the day I bought it!!!

This is the best car I ever had, but I'm really worried because of the dealer problem!! as you know there is no official Fiat dealer in Egypt right now!!

And by the way I have a user manual and technical manual, but in french!! I will be happy if anyone contacted me for any help.

20th May 2013, 17:12

Hi. I have a Fiat Brava 1600CC 16v. I love this car, but the big problem is: there's still no dealer in Egypt for parts for the Brava.

2001 Fiat Brava SX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Great style and fantastic quality

Faults:

Nothing. Yet.

General Comments:

This is overall an excellent car and I am sorry that Fiat appear to have stopped production. I do find that the Brava is more expensive to run than my previous car, a Punto. However the good qualities of the Brava (the larger boot and nicer style of body etc) more than make up for this. I would not change my car for the world, I love it and would definitely consider buying another if it were still available. Fiat now seems to be concentrating on smaller hatchbacks which are not a great deal of use for storing a wheelchair in the boot, which is one of the main reasons I liked the car. The fantastic boot space!! My friend apparently loves the car also as she has given me the privilege of driving her bridesmaids for her wedding. I own a classy looking car which is also practical and good to drive. I love it! Bring it back Fiat!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2004

2001 Fiat Brava ELX 1.6 16v from Czech Republic

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Reasonable value for money, I'm just too used to Japanese cars' nature

Faults:

Rattling driver's seat at 40,000 kms, idle valve replacement at 50,000 kms, interior fan too noisy from the beginning, door handles wear quite quickly and do not like sunny weather, same for door locks' position that needed to be adjusted every 20k kms,

General Comments:

It handles easily, power steering should be easier, auto transmission is of a sportive nature, both engine and transmission need to warm up before it works properly. able to drive at 170 km/h on highway, reasonable gas mileage, Car is fully equipped so comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

2001 Fiat Brava SX 1.6 16v from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A hostile beauty

Faults:

Front brakes had to be completely replaced at 20,000km.

A/C belt tensioner had to be replaced at 20,000km.

ECU had to be re-programmed 2 times within 21,000km.

Everything has been making noise since the day I got it.

General Comments:

This car has been a good partner so far, although expensive to maintain.

It has several faults, but none of them made me dislike it.

It handles nicely and offers decent acceleration. The automatic transmission works very well in the "sport" mode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

2001 Fiat Brava SX 1.9 JTD from Belgium

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Well worth the money

Faults:

Rear window wiper failed @ 30.000 km (fixed on warranty)

Front fog*light glass broke 3 times allready.

First gear had some issues, fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

The car performs very well for a diesel. 105 pk are very useful on the highway, and the car accelerates pretty fast from let's say 100 km/h to 120 km/h. 0-100 in about 10 seconds.

The suspension is pretty stiff, so the car may feel uncomfortable on rough road surfaces, but overall it gives you a kind of 'sporty' feeling when taking curves. It has a very good grip on the road.

The diesel engine is rather noisy, and the windows let the wind through @ +140 km/h = whistling sound.

Dashboard sometimes squeaks, sometimes it doesn't. I wasn't able to find the cause for that and it's rather annoying.

I drove the car from Belgium to Poland and back twice all-ready, and the car performed very well on this +1000km journey.

Top speed (tested in Germany) was about 198 km/h on the speedometer. 180 km/h @ 4000 rpm.

I'm very satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews